First week of school: In which we whine

Mine didn’t start out so well.

Did you know I’m up for tenure this year?  Apparently my packet is due in July.

Hahahaha.

And our school is continuing its trend of embarrassing itself on a national level.  If it keeps it up, it may end up no longer being an R1.  (Note though, that I can say this knowing in full faith that there’s at least one institution that is currently embarrassing itself nationally more than ours is…)  I don’t wannnnnna go on the job market again…. though maybe by the time this all shakes out I won’t mind.  Maybe by then I’ll be fabulously wealthy because some long lost relative I didn’t know I had will have left me all their money.  I only need 10 million dollars….  Anyone?

(Another random whine… if a reporter is going to keep insisting on misspelling my name, despite having seen it in print and as my return email multiple times, how can I trust that he’s going to get anything I tell him correct?)

I hope next week will be better.  Less dramatic.  Less whiny.  With fewer fire alarms and exploded air conditioners.  Also 20 degrees cooler would improve things a lot, especially if the a/c doesn’t get fixed.

It would be so restful if there were 150 fewer undergrads in my life.  And restful is good, because I am incredibly tired.  Students steal my energy and don’t give it back, leaving me zombified with exhaustion through much of the semester.  I have a lot of writing I need to get done, fast, for various reasons I won’t go into here, but teaching and student interruptions stall this process.

And the emails.  Oh god, the emails.  So…. many… emails….

The office “just one quick question”s….

Here’s to a productive rest of the semester!

p.s.  The economist is going to keep her mouth shut about National Buy a Book Day because any excuse to buy a book is a good one. 

When I get a little money, I buy books; and if any is left, I buy food and clothes.
~ Desiderius Erasmus 1466-1536

7 Responses to “First week of school: In which we whine”

  1. Everyday Tips Says:

    Maybe you just need to get back into the swing of things, and everything will look better.

    Here’s hoping for cooler temperatures for you. The heat wave finally broke up here.

  2. Money Reasons Says:

    Sounds like a rough start, esp. with a broken A/C!

    That many emails at once would bite big time! I bet you get a flood of them at first!!!

  3. SonyaAnn Says:

    It’s got to get better, right?
    Take care!

  4. Dame Eleanor Hull Says:

    I hear you about the vampiric students. I thought it was just me.

  5. Rumpus Says:

    My colleagues always recommend avoiding the office (and the internet) for large chunks of time, just to prevent interruptions. It’s never really worked for me though, or maybe it worked but it’s necessary not sufficient. The (Robert) Boice approach seems to work…slow and steady, making progress in small amounts of time. Unfortunately it’s been difficult to keep myself dedicated, as I find it very satisfying (in the short term) to focus on one thing to the exclusion of everything else and thus burnout.

  6. nicoleandmaggie Says:

    Thanks for all the well-wishes. The weather is certainly different this week. Not better, but definitely different. And the emergency alerts this week are about different things. Still with the emails and the random office drop-bys. Dang energy-vampires.

    I hope everything is going well in the rest of the country!

  7. undine Says:

    The first week is exhausting, but here are two sure predictions: the weather will get cooler, and the emails will slow down.


Leave a Reply

