I LOVE YOU, DH!

I can’t believe it has been 11 years of marriage.  We’re getting old!  And this year marks the year that we’ve spent more than half our lives together. We’ve got a beautiful small child, and two adorable kitties.  And a wonderful future ahead of all of us.

We’ve checked off the standard list of accomplishments and accouterments together:  education, jobs, cars, house, steady retirement savings.  We’ve got dreams for the future. But even without any of those life would still be wonderful because together we can accomplish anything.

We’ve been poor, we’ve been stressed, we’ve been through heart-break and celebration.  You’ve been my rock and help-meet and partner through it all.

We can finish each other’s sentences, but even still surprise each other with new ideas, new thoughts, new ways to grow.  Even terrible new puns.  You calm me when I’m irritated and feed me when I’m hypoglycemic.  You help me find rational solutions to any kind of problem.  I’m never afraid when you’re there to help me.  I trust you with anything and know that you will always take care of me, just like I will always take care of you. You make me a better person.  And more than that, you make me happy.

Every single day I think about how blessed I am to have found you. Happy Anniversary!

Related posts:  The proposalThe wedding. Now please join #2 in wishing #1 and her husband many more happy years together!

20 Responses to “I LOVE YOU, DH!”

  1. First Gen American Says:

    That is a very sweet tribute to your soul mate. It’s amazing how calming and comforting stability is.

  2. Dr. Sneetch Says:

    Happy Anniversary #1 and DH. May there be many many more.

  3. Linda Says:

    Wishing you many more years of happiness together!

  4. frugalscholar Says:

    I guess you were childhood sweethearts. i love the non-grumpy post!

  5. bogart Says:

    Congratulations!

  6. hush Says:

    Brava! Wishing you many more years of marital bliss.

  7. Cloud Says:

    Awww! Happy anniversary!

    Next year, my grandparents will celebrate their 70th wedding anniversary. That blows my mind. Of course, since I didn’t get married until I was 32, my chances of seeing my 70th wedding anniversary are slimmer… but I plan to try. I hope you and your DH get there, too!

  8. ABDMama Says:

    Happy Anniversary! Hope you get to go out and enjoy it this evening. :)

  9. nicoleandmaggie Says:

    Thanks everybody! We went out for lunch. DH made truffles too. Nom.

  10. Grace Says:

    Ahhhh! And in addition to all of his other stellar qualities, he makes truffles. (In my home, he really wouldn’t have to have any other stellar qualities so long as he kept the chocolate coming.)

    I haven’t met anyone that I wanted to spend that long living with (which goes for my kids as well–I adopted them at ages 8 or 11, and they were out the door by age 19. Though in their cases, they do have a habit of coming back!). At age 62, I don’t expect I ever will. But it’s nice to see how the choices others have made are working out.

  11. Foscavista Says:

    Does DH read your blog entries?

  12. undine Says:

    Happy anniversary!

  13. Molly On Money Says:

    Happy Anniversary!

  14. Everyday Tips Says:

    Congratulations on 11 great years! You two sound perfect for each other.

    Happy Anniversary, and wish you 100 more!

  15. Lindy Mint Says:

    Happy Anniversary!

  16. Sandy H Says:

    Awww- Happy Anniversary! This is so sweet!

  17. Quick note to the most amazing person in my world « Grumpy rumblings of the half-tenured Says:

    […] I said last year is still true… except we’ve added another year and another child on the way.  I cannot […]


Leave a Reply

