Ode to coffee

Oh coffee, sweet coffee
You are my wonder drug
You kick me awake
With a gentle slug.

You make headaches go away
You keep aches and pains at bay
You’re a great substitute for a nap
You make me feel better when I’m feeling like crap.

Oh coffee, sweet coffee,
For you, a glorious benediction
If only I didn’t feel so awful
Trying to wean myself from your addiction.

Note:  #2 again denies any responsibility for this.

18 Responses to “Ode to coffee”

  1. Comrade PhysioProf Says:

    I used to drink a f*ckelooade of coffee. Now I just drink one shot of espresso first thing in the morning, and thatte’s itte!

  2. First Gen American Says:

    I miss coffee so much. My stomach won’t tolerate it anymore. Every few months I still try some thinking that maybe I grew out of it, so I can drink it again. So sad.

  3. Molly On Money Says:

    A few years ago I went back to my morning cup of coffee (after 10yrs without!). I start day dreaming about my morning cup the night before. It makes me happy :)

  4. MutantSupermodel Says:

    I think it’s time to start moving to iced coffee for me. It’s been too hot for regular coffee.

  5. Zee Says:

    I like coffee before, but now as a mother of <1 yr old, I love coffee in a way that should probably make my husband jealous.

    *raises mug in toast*

  6. darchole Says:

    For me it’s not coffee, it’s just about any form of caffeine – pop, tea, coffee…but not energy drinks. I just think most of them taste nasty. (this might be the sweet-toothiness kicking in too).

  7. Dr. O Says:

    I refuse to ever give up my morning cup of coffee – I even kept up drinking a slightly weaker cup while pregnant with Monkey. He seems fine, though, except for the excited tick he gets right before he begins nursing…

  8. Will Grocery Stores Get Rid of the Self-Service Checkout Lanes? Plus Links | Everyday Tips and Thoughts... Says:

    […] Grumpy Rumblings of the Untenured share an ‘ode to coffee’.   Thought it needed to be shared since it is full of truths, and it aligns with my new love of coffee. […]


Leave a Reply

