My hobbies are not statements about your values

Again with our long-running multi-part series:  My choices are not judging yours.  (And if they were, why should you care?)

As we have mentioned before, and I quote, “personal finance blog posts about the latte factor are always devolving into arguments in the comments about whether or not we should get rid of tv and whether getting rid of tv means you’re some sort of effete arugula eater who thinks you’re better than anybody else.”

PF blogs focus on the money aspect, as we did in our previous post.  Today’s post focuses on the effete arugula eating portion, as do the academic blogs that tackle this topic.

Folks, there are only 24 hours per day and a lot of things competing for our time.  You can watch tv or do something you like better.  Maybe you like to read trashy novels to decompress.  Or garden.  Or (pfeaugh) exercise.  Or maybe you don’t even have time to decompress because your life is so crazy.  Maybe you live someplace where it’s beautiful outside instead of stifling.  Or your family needs to keep you up on all the local gossip, something that rivals any reality show.  Or you’re addicted to computer games or fora or blogging.  Maybe tv is the best option for you.  Maybe it isn’t.  We can’t make that decision for you, because our utility functions have different weights (and we have different opportunities as well).

The only problem is when you wish you were watching a different amount of tv but for one reason or another you’re not happy with your own amount of tv watching.  Then perhaps you should do a time audit and figure out what needs fixing.  Put in some commitment devices.

If your preference is to watch tv, maybe you think doing other stuff is a waste of your time (and it probably is for you).  If your preference is to do something else, maybe you think that watching tv is a waste of your time (and again, it probably is for you).  That’s fine.  We all have our own preferences and we’ve made our revealed preferences based on our own preferences.  And our preferences are allowed to be different than the mainstream (yes, the majority of people still watch some form of video entertainment in the US) or identical to them.

I find the posts complaining about how people who don’t watch tv being lying effete snobs more annoying than the posts talking about how turning off the tv for a month changed their lives for the better.  I’ve never actually seen a post from someone saying that tv is a complete waste of time and only stupid people watch it, though I have seen many posts complaining about people who say such things.  (Not to say such posts don’t exist, just that I haven’t read any.)

It all reminds me of when I was a kid and my uncle teased me for asking for a bratwurst (like the adults were having) rather than a hot dog like all the other kids were having… but I LIKE bratwurst.  I don’t like hot dogs, never really have.  Am I saying you’re a loser plebeian* for liking hot dogs?  No.  Am I some sort of elitist scum for disdaining the humble processed dog?  Maybe.  But seriously, I promise I don’t get together with my similarly foodie friends and snicker about your hot dog eating habits.  I probably don’t even NOTICE whether you got a hot dog or a burger or a brat.  And I may not understand your choice– since I think hot dogs are gross, but that doesn’t mean I think any less of you as a person.  (And if I did, wouldn’t that say more about me than it does about you?)

I also don’t care if your secret pleasure is that reality show about the people from the Jersey Shore.  Or you just like commercials.  Or you prefer artsy fartsy films.  I honestly could not care less.  I just don’t have the energy to judge you on those choices.  Sorry.  (Though if your preferences do overlap with mine, totes let me know– we should hang out.)

So why spend energy judging me on my unplebeian choices?  I like what I like because I like it, not because I’m trying to be better than anybody else.  I’ve spent a life-time of being made fun of for liking opera and musicals instead of pop** (exception:  alternative and metal), eating brats instead of hot dogs, drinking milk instead of soda… and more!  (#2 prefers soda to milk, and lemonade to both.  #1 is on board with lemonade, but only real lemonade, none of that minute maid or crystal light crap.)  We’re not in middle school anymore, guys.  We’re allowed to have different preferences.  I’m secure with my preferences.

Are you secure with yours?

* I’m so plebeian that spell check informs me I can’t even spell the word

**oddly, people are always surprised to find out I dislike ballet (except the Nutcracker)… not sure why liking opera necessarily means a person likes ballet, when opera is interesting and ballet is boring (though my sister disagrees on that last point).  Obviously if I were really judging your lack of culture I would enjoy ballet too, right?

56 Responses to “My hobbies are not statements about your values”

  1. Z Says:

    Well, I don’t like tv enough to budget for it … buy one, pay for cable, find time to watch … but I wish I did or rather, I think I should, as I would then know things I don’t know now. I seem to put my tv time into blogging and maintaining departmental websites. Why I like that better: I can listen to the radio while I do it, and I don’t have to deal with commercials.

  2. Lane Says:

    I wish I was as secure with my own hobbies, especially TV habits. IlovetowatchSexandtheCityreruns. There I said it! Got it off my chest. I’ll ask you kindly to delete this comment later.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      At least it isn’t harem anime, right?

      Hm, I don’t think we’ve posted our post about our actual hobbies yet… We should do that. Apparently we have, sort of. [Disclaimer: #2 does not watch harem anime]

      Also: You are obviously not alone in your viewing preferences, otherwise they wouldn’t show those reruns, eh?

  3. First Gen American Says:

    Assimilation is just a natural way to try to fit in and it’s good that you have enough self confidence to not feel that you have to. Being Pro or Anti-TV is one of those polarizing subjects in the personal finance world and you almost have to decide which clique you want to be in.

    Generally, I’m anti TV but my family enjoys it too much (especially sports) to be a battle worth fighting over, so we tend to enjoy it together instead. By the way, the remake of thundercats is surprisingly good. I was even considering reviewing it.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      I’m currently listening to badly dubbed Godannar while doing boring data munching work. It is SO BAD. But good for the task at hand.

      After a lifetime of not fitting in, one tends to have to cognitively restructure around it.

  4. Kellen Says:

    Ugh, TV… I’m super busy at work right now, so TV is a hateful creature that tends to be filling my living room with loud, obnoxious noise when I come home (roommates are addicts.) But when I’m not working so much, it is still a hateful creature that sucks up my free time that I really should do something healthier/more productive in… sigh.

    I think I could go without TV without it being a problem, but that’s just because I have other things I’d prefer to do. And as long as it’s around… I’m still going to end up watching some.

    I remember in college a bunch of the friends I had got all shocked that I didn’t know all these cartoons that they liked (the town I grew up in didn’t have cable.) They were almost upset with me about it. So FirstGen’s comment about how TV helps you assimilate into our culture is true too…

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      I introduced a LOT of people to anime in college (and hooked them on it… after another college friend hooked me with Kenshin). Your friends should have sat you down with their favorite cartoons! “The re-education of Kellen.” And maybe you would have found something to like, or maybe not, but sharing experiences is fun.

      • Lane Says:

        I was hooked on Naruto for a long, long time. I can’t believe it made me cry so many times. Then they started doing story arcs that had nothing to do with the original storyline and I stopped watching altogether.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        My problem with Naruto is the same problem I have whenever the anime is going concurrent with the manga… Eventually they run out of manga. That means either: 10 min of summary of the last episode(s), 5 min of new stuff, 5 min preview of the next episode (Naruto was famous for this), or they make up a bunch of episodes and their script writers aren’t as good as the manga writers (this is what killed Kenshin after the Shishio arc)… sounds like that happened to Naruto too.

  5. Dr. Virago Says:

    I’ve never actually seen a post from someone saying that tv is a complete waste of time and only stupid people watch it, though I have seen many posts complaining about people who say such things.

    OMG, the posts you’ve seen — the ones complaining about people (esp. academics) who say TV is a waste of time — are exactly the kind of people I was reacting to when I wrote my “I watch TV” post. Also, where on earth are these effete snobs who don’t watch TV. I think other bloggers are making them up! I think they are “straw academics.”

    For the record, I was complaining about people who complain about people who say they don’t watch TV. Which is what I think you’re doing. So we’re on the same page. I think.

    I, for one, love TV with a love that is pure and good. But I also used to run marathons. Therefore, I am weird. :) YMMV.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      See: https://nicoleandmaggie.wordpress.com/2010/08/10/when-will-it-end/

      Also, there are people who don’t watch tv. They tend to be quiet about it, or write blog posts about how not watching tv has changed their lives for the better.

      • Dr. Virago Says:

        OK, I was exaggerating slightly when I said they didn’t exist at all — you know, for humor — but also I wouldn’t call someone who didn’t watch TV an effete snob. They might just be frugal! Or do other things! As you point out!

        But some academic bloggers (not you guys) seem to think they are *surrounded* by people who a) don’t engage in any consumption of *any* pop culture, and b) judge others for doing so, and I still wonder where those people are. I have never encountered them except in fiction. After all, here you guys are, saying you don’t judge! Perhaps said bloggers are projecting. Or creating a strawman.

        PS — Thanks for adding my link when I was too lazy to do so myself.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        You’ll have to ask Zee (below) about those folks.

        (And we do watch tv these days…. or netflix at least, but have gone through periods in which we haven’t… different points in the lifecycle = different priorities, different opportunities, and different shows)

      • Dr. Virago Says:

        PPS — Just followed *your* link. Hilarious!

  6. Cloud Says:

    I watch very little TV. I had no idea that made me an effete snob. The effete part is pretty funny, since one of the few things I still watch is rugby (my husband got me hooked).

    My husband watches TV. It helps him unwind. Every once and awhile, I cave and watch something with him, because that makes him happy. But for the most part, I’d rather blog to unwind. It works better, and it fits in with my unpredictable night time schedule better. If I watch a bunch of TV, it feels like the mental equivalent of eating too much candy. But that’s just me- I know it works for other people, and as you say, my choice isn’t a judgement on them.

    But there are shows I like and can get hooked on if given the chance. Its just that right now, it is hard to guarantee I’ll have the time to make an addiction to a show anything more than a long series of me jonesing for something I can’t have.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      We (partner and I) didn’t watch tv before Netflix. We didn’t even have a tv to watch, and certainly couldn’t afford cable. With Netflix (and grown-up incomes) we can fit it into our schedule and watch series that have been around for a while (so we’re less likely to end the series on a cliff-hanger, which always irritates me) in order without commercials on our own time-schedule.

      What did we do with that free time? Surfed the internet, boiled chicken leg-thigh combinations to get a cheap source of meat to keep in the freezer… and lots and lots of graduate school homework. Also for some of that time I was still playing computer games which is a huge time-sink (but man I loved Planescape, groundbreaking RPG). Also… Napster, though I would never illegally download anything these days.

      New technology is an amazing thing.

  7. oilandgarlic Says:

    I think the problem isn’t you but that some anti-TV people or people who only watch “good” TV shows (i.e. critically acclaimed) judge those who do watch TV. Although my TV taste isn’t always high-brow, I can’t help judging people who watch a lot of reality TV. In my mind, I think it’s ok to like one or 2 reality shows but if that’s their main source of entertainment, I do judge! I know there are different quality shows even among reality shows but so much of it is just plain trash.

  8. MutantSupermodel Says:

    You know I’m sick when I’m watching TV. My kids like it but they don’t watch much at my house because I don’t have cable, just the locals. We DO watch movies on the TV so I don’t know if that counts. We rent them from the library, or I buy them super cheap and build up the collection. The best thing about kids is they love watching movies over and over again. I’ve gotten into a show here and there but I have a hard time following one an entire season. I have found I also like watching TV shows on DVD and I prefer the kids watch that way too.
    I don’t eat arugula. At least, I don’t think I do.
    One of my favorite things to watch on TV is sports– specifically football and basketball playoffs. So I don’t know how that works with effettenessdom.
    Totally am a snob though. Duh.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      I don’t like arugula either, actually. We had a bad experience with it in grad school. *shudder* (Shh, don’t tell, or I’ll lose my effete cred.) Heck, I don’t even like it when it’s called Rocket and eaten by less lofty folks.

      Do movies count? Answer: Who cares! If you want to watch them, then watch them. If you don’t, then don’t.

  9. Spanish Prof Says:

    I haven’t watched TV on a regular basis in 4 years. I used to be addicted to it. I just replaced it with other things. Though I haven’t read a post, I’ve had plenty of people mocking me for liking either popular TV shows or mainstream Hollywood movies. One of said persons was at the same time very proud of how she loved Mexican soap operas (which I do love too). I find those people annoying snobs, and there are plenty out there (whether they blog or not). I am very confident on my hobbies/watching habits because I could beat any of them in a discussion about European/Asian cinema, and even classical Hollywood movies. I don’t like ballet, though (and opera for me is OK as background music, but no to actually go to the Opera)

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      I wonder if someone who actually does love ballet will come along and post here.

      • Ally Says:

        I like ballet, but in smaller doses than a whole ballet. Much like I love opera arias and art songs on a recital, but don’t really care that much for going to the opera. I’d wonder if my attention span is going, but I still love long books and long movies, so… guess it’s not that… Love Love Love ballet movies though – Center Stage, etc…

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        My sister does… but she’s probably not going to post.

        p.s. There’s an AWESOME anime about ballet you will like. It’s called Princess Tutu. Ignore the description (um… duck turns into a school girl turns into a magic ballerina princess) and note that it gets 5 stars despite the name and description because it is that good.

      • Frugal Forties Says:

        Oh well. :) I love ballet. I would be perfectly happy if I could go see the opera every week. I used to have season tickets to my city’s ballet, but I haven’t been in a while. Hmmm … need to go check and see what’s coming up!

        I also like TV and am hooked on several series (right now I’m watching all of Ally McBeal on Netflix, but there are also current series that I’m hooked on – and thank god for Tivo). I can’t stand most reality TV myself, but don’t judge people who watch it … because my guilty secret TV is what my Ex calls my “redneck addiction”. I will watch anything on Fox called “Worlds [Adjective] [Noun]”: Worlds Deadliest Car Chases, Worlds Stupidest Criminals, Worlds Most Expensive Homes .. you name it, I’ll watch it. And laugh.

        I have been lectured both in real life and online by people who don’t watch TV and who think I’m wasting my life or killing brain cells by doing so. Really annoying, but I just try to ignore it.

      • Frugal Forties Says:

        Ok, somehow two sentences got blended. I would be happy if I could see ballet every week, but oddly enough (at least to some people) I don’t really like opera and really couldn’t care less if I ever saw one again.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        Ah, bummer… Though I suppose there’s not much I would do every week, other than maybe read a Georgette Heyer novel…

  10. hush Says:

    I love you for that post title. And for this gem: “We’re not in middle school anymore, guys. We’re allowed to have different preferences.” Amen. Judging others for their TV watching habits or lack thereof sounds like the ultimate first world issue if ever there was one.

    And you know I love TV like Tiger Woods loves Hooters waitresses.

  11. oilandgarlic Says:

    Here’s a new one for you. I look down on foodie snobs! I can do that because I come from a culture with real food and can look down on all Americans trying to play catch-up. Haha. I’m just kidding because I’m too nice to even rant properly. Sigh…

  12. Zee Says:

    We are not actually talking about TV are we, we are talking about cable, for the most part and whether you have it or not now is meaningless. You could be watching shows on your computer, or have netflix, or get shows through your xbox. There are so many ways to access media now when you want it. To say one “doesn’t watch TV” just seems archaic to me. So you don’t have cable, do you also not have a computer, internet, xbox, and smart phone as well?

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      We’re actually talking about how it doesn’t matter if it’s cable or internet or netflix or high/low brow shows or nothing etc. Because people like what they like and don’t like what they don’t like and that’s ok.

      • Zee Says:

        Let me clarify… in my hippy town people say things like “oh we don’t even *own* a TV” with much snobbery but in reality might watch more TV then a person who does own a TV but they just do it on their computers or phones or portable DVD players. So I find the TV/no TV discussion in my town and parenting interactions to be more about judgement and status then actual habits. Does that make sense?

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        Meh.

        We haven’t owned a tv for a long time either. And we’ve said that phrase before. We’re not judging you for owning one when we say it. And if we were… well, who cares? Doesn’t that say more about us than about you?

        The people who infant potty train probably aren’t judging you either. Also, we don’t judge each other for the fact that one of us likes mushrooms vs. eggnog, disgusting as the other’s choice is. Blech.

      • Zee Says:

        I am trying to get at the difference between judging someone for a behavior (which you are NOT doing) vs pretending to or choosing a behavior for the social superiority you think it grants you. My problem isn’t with the behavior itself (TV vs no TV) but rather the fakery and the chasing of social superiority. Feh. I am not communicating my point well. I am going to give up and maybe try to write a blog post explaining the difference.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        It sounds like you might disagree with this post: https://nicoleandmaggie.wordpress.com/2011/06/24/actually-nobody-cares/

        And one of us has often been accused of social airs and superiority… simply because she does not like hot dogs and she likes opera. She doesn’t like or dislike such things because they convey any sort of social superiority, but because she likes them. But folks who don’t share those tastes think she’s putting on airs. That’s their problem… not hers. Though it did (help) make middle school traumatic.

        One of us breastfed and had a natural childbirth… again, she did not make those choices based on any idea of social superiority, but… many people take them as such. Same with potty training. Same with having an early walker/reader/etc. These things happened but they’re not a judgment on other people, but people take them as such because they’re not secure with their own choices. That’s why this is a series of posts repeated from many different angles. My life is not a judgment of any one else’s. Nobody’s is, really. And if we were stuck in a Miss Mapp kind of universe, then really that just reflects on the Miss Mapps of the world. Thankfully most of us don’t have that much free time.

  13. Linda Says:

    Bratwurst over hot dogs?! Ick! I don’t really eat hotdogs very often, but as much as I love sausages of many different varieties, I don’t care for traditional bratwurst.

    I haven’t really watched much ballet so I won’t be the one to comment about how wonderful it is. And I’ve only been to one opera: The Magic Flute. It was entertaining, but I’m not sure I’d go back to watch more operas. For one thing, I don’t care for sitting in a vast room far away from the stage. I feel that way about anything I need to *see* to enjoy. Symphony is OK from a distance because that’s mostly about listening. (Although I was excited to be so close to the chorus that I could have reached across the aisle and touched a member during a CSO performance of Beethoven’s 9th several years ago.) I’m not big on live musicals, either, for the same reason. (Again, the space makes a huge difference. I very much enjoyed seeing Grey Gardens a few years ago in NY because I as able to get a great seat near the stage.)

    As for TV, I multitask as I watch programming so I don’t usually feel it’s a waste of time. I usually knit while I watch stuff like travel programs or Masterpiece Theatre. I detest “reality” television and *never* watch it, so if there isn’t something interesting on PBS I usually end up watching something on Netflix on my laptop. Except for 30 Rock. And Parks and Recreation. I love those shows and am so glad that Hulu makes them available for free the next day; if my Thursday night is busy I can always catch up before the next week. :-)

  14. Rumpus Says:

    I would watch more tv if they would stop canceling all the shows I like. I’m still upset about Firefly….I try not to think about it too much.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      I know, SRSLY. That’s the great thing about Netflix… I can wait until a series has been out for at least a full season (or more!) before starting on it. Heck, sometimes I wait until it’s been canceled!

  15. Revanche Says:

    Dude, N&M.

    I think TV is a total waste of time. For me. Because I totally wasted time if the d*mn thing was on and I sat around watching it. And it is on, a lot, because PiC likes to have it on whenever he’s home. *shrug* I’ve learned to ignore it like I’ve learned to ignore most noise during any time of day or night when I’m working to the point where people can be shouting my name and I won’t hear them. So why do so many people waste time talking about why it is or isn’t a waste of time? Oh, because they like wasting time. Eh. *pass*

    I don’t think Doggle likes TV either. Completely disinterested, that one.

    Also? I LOVE the pre-judging, the assumptions associated with making the choices we make and the automatic follow-on shaming about hobbies and preferences.

    I will happily chat about my oft-shamed loves without any compunction if people want to bring up any of those topics. I love etiquette, grammar, awesome professionalism, comics, sci fi, fantasy, novels, the occasional video game, most sports are vaguely interesting, people watching, animals, food, cooking and any other variety of Thing that I may or may not LOOK like I should enjoy. (Looking like I belong to the demographic? Whole other thing.)

    Nothing contorts and confuses the look of judgment more than bouncing-cheery copping to whatever it is they’re trying to judge me for because they think I’m going to be all exclusive or defensive about my Thing. Not really. I’m happy with my choices, folks. If you have a need to question them, that’s your issue.

    And if you’re thinking I’m going to sit here judging you for choices? Unless it’s causing someone harm, you’re giving me way more credit for way more brainpower than I can spare. #oddfolk

  16. Funny about Money Says:

    Strange topic. One may be a bit oversensitive about it, but… You’re right: WGAS?

    I used to enjoy watching TV.

    Then we got the digital thing. That did in my little refrigerator-top set that would let me watch the evening news while fixing dinner. And reception over the air with one of those nuisancy “boxes” isn’t very good, so the bigger set in the TV room no longer calls to me.

    I’m a cheapskate: I’m not gonna pay for cable. Never have, never will: the citizens of this country own its airwaves, and we should not have to pay for what we already own. Nor am I going to pay for dozens of channels with nothing showing worth watching: I can get “nothing on” for free.

    But more to the point, who on earth has time and energy to watch the boob tube? By the time I come to light on the rare evenings that I can sit in front of the television, I’m SO DA^^N TIRED I can’t hold my eyes open. I’m normally asleep halfway through House or the PBS mystery show. I wake up in a daze at 11:00 p.m. or midnight, stumble off to bed, and, having had the night’s sleep interrupted by that transition, wake up the next morning in a fog.

    BTW, there’s an easy way to avoid being judged for your taste in entertainment (or method of childbirth or baby feeding or preference for hot dogs): don’t discuss it. People have a hard time looking down their noses at you if they can’t find anything to look at. ;-)

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      1) It is difficult to not answer direct questions 2) One has to actively hide the fact that a young kid can read and do we want to send the implicit message that reading is shameful? 3) When one is in the high/low-brow minority, one spends a LOT of time in silence when these things are discussed (while people talk about *those* women who think they’re better than everybody else or *those* people who are wasting their lives away doing X), and you know, maybe someone should speak up so other people in the minority can feel that they’re not alone 4) In order to hide the fact that I prefer brats to hot-dogs I would have to actually eat a hot-dog, eschewing the brat, and yuck.

      And why should we have to be silent on what our interests are? Maybe someone else out there also likes anime and you can talk about it. Or maybe you’ll find a partner who doesn’t want to go to the ballet alone either. Just because our interests are stereotypically high-brow or low-brow doesn’t mean we should have to be silent on them in order to keep from offending other people. That pretty much leaves the standard midwestern topic of the weather, and there’s only so much one can talk about that.

      Or you know, not spending time around any people. That’s also an option.

  17. becky Says:

    I am in total support of not judging others’ hobbies, tastes or otherwise….

    But I would have to disagree that tastes and preferences are neutral, at least in class terms. Some of my colleagues have actually measured the relationship between “lifestyle preferences” and illustrated how they are empirically linked to health and self-assessed class-based distinctions. This originates from the theory of Pierre Bourdieu who argued that “what we like” and what we determine is “not for the likes of us” is socially reproduced, often at a pre-reflexive level. Now Bourdieu has been heavily critiqued for his limited theory of agency – but it’s not that we are all cultural dupes, if you will, it is that folks of higher class status use their preferences in ways that enact what he terms “symbolic violence” (the imposition or judgment of lifestyle) on those underneath them in the context of social hierarchies. One great illustration of this is cigarette smoking. Tobacco use was once an elite, “upper class” preference (for men at least) in North America and now as a result of social and cultural shifts – not to mention new health information and the “discovery” that smoking causes cancer as lates as 1969 – it is increasingly associated with people who are low SES and otherwise socially marginalized (i.e. persons with mental illness). Such distinctions and life choices are not benign, but are intimately tied to life chances. One of Bourdieu’s concepts that gets a lot of play in educational research is that of cultural and social capital – the intangible sources of advantage that children from more privileged backgrounds have that lead to school and life success.

    That being said, as a former child actor, I have very mixed feelings about TV as an industry, but it is one of the things I miss the most now that I am a parent who is too busy to watch anything other than children’s shows.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Point taken.

      And some people probably do believe that the nitrites in most hot dogs will lead to an early death… yet the majority still eat them. But, unlike smoking, this is one of those things science is still uncertain about, so if folks want to take their chances who am I to begrudge them their disgusting dogs?

  18. becky Says:

    Yeah, I hear you! But if hot dogs go the way of smoking we will soon have legislation (as we do here in most parts of Canada) to protect people from weiners. So we would pass laws that stipulate: no advertising of hot dogs, grotesque warning labels on the packaging, no hot dogs sold to chidlren under 19, none eaten in cars with children under 16, none in the workplace or public venues, and hot dogs would be forbidden in public parks and beaches (this last one just passed in my city recently).

  19. becky Says:

    actually, now that I think about what I just wrote it sounds kinda ideal from the persepctive of a parent of a toddler – hot dog banning, everywere, i say! lol

  20. Various household and other hints | Funny about Money Says:

    […] least got excited about) this post from Nicole and Maggie at Grumpy Rumblings of the Untenured on passing judgment about other people based on their personal pastimes. It’s a great post, and the comments come up to the same standard. Hm. You know, I think this […]

  21. Link love (Powered by falafel and foot power) | Musings of an Abstract Aucklander Says:

    […] says it all: My hobbies are not statements about your values, by Nicole and […]

  22. The Persecuted Majority vs. The Vocal Minority | Grumpy rumblings of the (formerly!) untenured Says:

    […] already talked about how our hobbies are not judging your choices.  I am constantly seeing blog posts wherein a member of the majority group complains about a small […]


Leave a Reply

