One Link Leads to Another

CPP has an interesting idea about the illusion of control and making real change, building from initial comments on politics and extending them into work life.  Go read and comment.  It’s actually similar to an almost excellent post by Fareed Zakaria earlier this week that we cannot link to because of his egregious misuse of the your/you’re homonym.  He still hasn’t fixed it, and that makes us sad.

Something our Fox News watching readers should see, if we haven’t driven them all off (we suspect we have).  The important part is where he runs the numbers and shows what 50% of the wealth of the poorest 50% of Americans amounts to and makes comparisons.  Powerful stuff.

Center of gravitas noting that we find drunk girls sexy and that’s kind of sick.  And not sick in the good way.

Would Neil Degrasse Tyson please run for president? A plea from pharyngula.

This xkcd made me laugh out loud, but DH doesn’t get it.  I still love him.

Apparently I also have this B of A temporary credit card feature.  Who knew?  Well, In mint condition, obviously.

A trenchant analysis of the tea party and the general population by We are respectable negroes.

Dr. Virago with a fun informal survey on academics and debt.

Aieeeee!  Do you have a kindle?  Amazon is having a $1.99 Georgette Heyer sale until Sunday.  I, um, bought 25.

Our hearts ache that some people are Not Equal Enough. A powerful post from A Practical Wedding.

We were in this week’s carnival of personal finance.  (Rawr, CPP?)

Oh dear: dumb but catchy:

13 Responses to “One Link Leads to Another”

  1. Comradde PhysioProffe Says:

    Oh dear: dumb but catchy:

    Am I understanding correctly that people post videos like that in an attempt to get laid?

  2. Lane Says:

    Sending that music video to my DnD friends as we speak. Oh, and the D6 one, too!

    I just had to read every comment in Dr. Virago’s post. So many numbers and stories all on one page. PF heaven.

  3. Comradde PhysioProffe Says:

    I have now decided you should change the name of this blogge to Funky Crumplings of the Unbending.

  4. Leigh Says:

    That post from A Practical Wedding was indeed heartbreaking. I can’t believe that companies in the US can fire someone for being gay. That’s insane. Then again, the laws in Canada protect employees from being fired for getting pregnant and I’ve still heard stories of it happening, so laws aren’t everything.

  5. MutantSupermodel Says:

    I laughed so hard watching Roll a D6 I had tears in my eyes.

    When I see an amazing piece like that from Jon Stewart, I really want to just hug him and thank him for being a voice of intelligence and calm and everything wonderful in a world that is so utterly not those things.

    I don’t get the comic either and therefore I feel dumbish.

    Not Equal Enough made me sad.

    But the cat video made me smile.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Jon Stewart is awesome. He’s so common sense! And it’s crazy the investigative reporting that Comedy Central does and other networks don’t.

      My DH is super smart, so I don’t think getting or not getting the comic has anything to do with brains.

  6. Rumpus Says:

    I like music parodies about gaming/nerding. And of course Dr Horrible’s Sing along Blog. That Center of Gravitas post is really disturbing…all of those songs that I recognize from random snippets heard around town have really horrible messages.


Leave a Reply

