Ordering replacement parts from the manufacturer

The handle on our crockpot lid broke.  DH jury-rigged a replacement handle with parts he found at Home Depot, but that, too, broke.

This time he went to the rival website and lo: they had replacement lids and other replacement parts for sale.  $10 plus shipping seemed kind of steep, especially if the lid was just going to break again, but after some thought and looking at replacing the crock-pot with a fancier model, we decided it was worth it.  But alas, there was no button to actually make a purchase on the website (DH saw that the source code has a note:  “put button here”).  So he called the company to make the purchase.

The nice lady on the other end asked how it had broken.  When DH said it had just fallen apart with regular use, she said they’d send him a new lid for free.  Yay.

And the moral of the story is that if part of something has broken, you can often get replacement parts direct from the manufacturer rather than replacing the entire thing.  And sometimes you can get those replacement parts for free!

18 Responses to “Ordering replacement parts from the manufacturer”

  1. The frugal ecologist Says:

    I never thought of calling to ask. In the past I have bought replacement parts for my blender – the part (the screw on base that holds the blade on) plus shipping was ridiculous in my opinion – something like $12 – but saved me from having to buy a new one. A few years later, I bent the blade so i bought a new blade assembly after debating whether I should just spend $50 and get a whole new blender. Two weeks later, the motor burned out & I had to replace the whole thing anyway :/

    But, a small piece on my food processor just broke & I will try calling the manufacturer before I order a new part. Thanks!

  2. First Gen American Says:

    Well, it’s nice to know that some manufacturers still care about customer satisfaction and quality. We live in such a disposable culture that spare parts are often hard to find at a reasonable cost and when you really love a product, it’s often better to fix it than to gamble with a new model.

  3. investfourmore Says:

    My wife does This all the time. Many times the manufacturer will even send you the entire product for free, coupons or other free items.

  4. Linda Says:

    The “stem” used for the shredding blade in my 15 year old Cuisinart broke and I just ordered a new one online. I assumed an appliance that age would not get a free part replacement, but I probably should have checked with them first.

    Another thing to note is that Tupperware has a lifetime guarantee on their products, and that includes replacing them if they get messed up. I called Tupperware about four years ago in regards to the lid of a bowl that was ruined by the careless roommate. They said they would replace it for free despite it being damaged by human error, I just needed to pay the shipping which was $5 at the time. In fact, the operator urged me to let him know if there were other Tupperware items that needed replacing since the shipping price was flat rate.

    I found a couple very nice Tupperware large storage containers at the thrift store and one was missing a lid. One of these days I’m going to call them about getting a replacement for it. :-)

  5. Debbie M Says:

    I’ve gotten a part for my washer and new door-shelf-thingy for my fridge that broke right away. Fortunately, both of those items kept running strong for years afterwards and the new parts have not also broken. I should try to get a new cap for my bathroom sink cold water handle.

    I also need to figure out if I can order the wooden Scrabble letters separately without having to buy a whole game. (I like to stick magnets to the back of each piece so you can stick them on the fridge and then give the set away as a housewarming present. Packed in a macaroni and cheese box, to keep the expectations down!)

    **

    Another advantage of fixing things is that there is a little bit less going into a landfill. Actually, a little bit more (your thing your fixing plus the new piece), but usually it takes longer.

    • Leah Says:

      We get old scrabble boards from garage sales/thrift stores that are missing some tiles and therefore not usable as a game. My dad has a whole large jar of them in his garage.

  6. Rented life Says:

    Mom’s crockpot lid broke recently, and the cost of the new lid prompted her to just buy a new crockpot. (That was overdue anyway.) The lid shattered. We were all standing in the kitchen and she walked by the cupboard it was in and we heard glass shattering. I don’t know how we would have explained that to anyone, because it wasn’t being used or anything, it just shattered. If all of us weren’t standing there we wouldn’t have believed it. (Mom breaks a lot of glass things. It’s a gift. This includes the “unbreakable” Pyrex.)

    But yes, we’ve had problems with our vacuum and calling for replacement parts got us free parts–even extra parts “just in case.” It can pay off.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Pyrex actually shatters with relative frequency… IIRC it has something to do with suddenly changing temperatures. We’ve done it once.

      • darchole Says:

        Apparently the newer Pyrex does this. The old Pyrex doesn’t, there’s a lot of people complaining about this online. I think Pyrex changed the type of “glass” it’s made of.

        I had the exact same thing happen with the handle to the lid of the crock pot breaking off. This also happened while I was having a party, so it rather annoying and stressful at the time. Since it was around Christmas and the in-laws love to give out presents (which are sometimes weird and sometimes just purchased because it was a bargain), I just asked for a new crockpot. Which I like better than the old one because of the way the lid fits – it now has a rubber lining around the edge so it seals better.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        Nah, the “old” Pyrex shatters too. Perhaps the frequency has changed, but unless we’re talking about the new Pyrex being 2+ decades old…

      • darchole Says:

        I had to look it up, and Snopes reports that the “old” stuff doesn’t break any more often than the “new” stuff. Which was when Corning was bought out in 1998 or 1999. I still don’t hear my parents, or my spouse’s parents, or any grandparents telling me their pyrex broke unlike my or my spouse’s friends or crowworkers’ saying the same thing.

        Of course I haven’t heard of anyone eles’e items getting broke because of thermal shoke, and I don’t want to.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        snopes is awesome

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        I’ve had pyrex shatter 2x that I can remember. The first was something like 20 or 30 years ago. The second was when I was in grad school. Both times involved rapid temperature changes and the oven.

  7. gwinne Says:

    Funny…I had this EXACT problem. But handled it over email and wasn’t given any useful info, much less a free lid. Perhaps I will call! Thanks for this post!

    • hush Says:

      There is something powerful about talking to a person on the phone – it really gets things done. Email not so much, but it is effective if you need to keep a record of a conversation.

  8. femmefrugality Says:

    Totally on the same wavelength! That’s so great that they sent you the lid. Our crockpot is only like a quart big. It was fine when it was just the two of us, but we keep having more kids. We need a bigger one. Maybe I could convince Rival to upgrade me for free…

    (Probably not.)

  9. KK @ Student Debt Survivor Says:

    I once bought a nice set of knives and noticed that one of them was damaged (the tip was bent). I hadn’t even used the knife yet, so I was pretty annoyed. I e-mailed the company and they told me to mail them the knife instead of returning the set to the store. They sent me a new knife and a check for the cost of shipping the knife back to them, plus a nice steak knife set for my “trouble”. I was really pleased with the customer service. You don’t get service like that very often these days.


Leave a Reply

»
