link love

Guess who was grading this week?

Starcrossedcayla read all the parenting books.  Here’s what she found out.

Hyperbole and a half updated.  She’s right.

sweet juniper with anti-suffrage propaganda

tor blogs explain how boob plate armor would kill you

laura vanderkam notes that false dichotomies aren’t helpful

We were in this week’s carnival of personal finance.

6 Responses to “link love”

  1. Comradde PhysioProffe Says:

    That parenting post was f*cken hilarious! I love the concept of “topping the baby off”, like pouring a beer.

  2. bogart Says:

    That is perfect, I will be sure to point all new parents to that post.

    Well, maybe not. But certainly all old parents.

    Also while I am not 100% sure hyperbole and a half is right, not having had her experiences (or similar ones), it seems likely she might be. And I feel I do understand the corn.

  3. nicoleandmaggie Says:

    Yeah, I like how it lays out very clearly how much these parenting books are BS and full of “you’re doing it wrong”. That’s always my main piece of advice to new moms– that there’s a ton of contradicting “advice” out there and the best they can do is do what works for them because you have to try pretty hard to mess up a baby. Who knows if they take it or not!

    In my perfect world, parents are confident and easy-going. :)

    • hush Says:

      I dunno, I’ve read some helpful, non-shamey parenting books, too, that I dare say are a touch more thoughtful and nuanced than the average fare. “Diaper Free Before 3” and “NutureShock” and “How To Talk So Your Kids Will Listen…” all come to mind.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        Diaper Free Before 3 is awesome, and full of actual research. NurtureShock isn’t really a parenting manual, but more Malcolm Gladwell-y (and there was a chapter or two in there that was just bad, but I’m not remembering which). Amazon has mixed reviews on “How to talk” but I haven’t read it.

  4. Jacq Says:

    Glad to see that Brosh is getting help.
    Here’s an academic gif site that’s pretty funny:
    http://officehoursareover.tumblr.com/


Leave a Reply

