Gimme gimme link love

Another frantic week.  Post tenure is just more work than pre tenure.  *sigh*  (#2 doesn’t think so but has not been post-tenure as long as #1 has.)

This graphic from Rachel Maddow is just astonishing.  Even ignoring the political score-keeping, look at the demands they were asking for.  They must hate people!

Mother Jones with a list of 8 inventions that women made but are generally credited with men.  I remember when I read the Double Helix how, even from the unreliable narrator of Watson, I could tell that they had totally ripped Rosalind Franklin off, without shame, because they didn’t thinks she deserved credit, and not only that, they sexually harassed her at every turn.  It’s there in the pages that Watson wrote himself.  What assholes.

Ada Lovelace through the centuries.

Reassigned time explains why the government roll-out of the ACA is similar to university software roll-outs.

Fact checking Fox News on obamacare.

Niels Lohman explains why he and the USA are never, ever, ever getting back together.

Medium discusses the insidious power of harassment.

A summary of standing with DNLee.  Also this.  And this.

Let me fix that for you from the journal of are you f*ing kidding me.  And another.

Why home ec should be mandatory from mother jones.

All about work explains why it’s good to be bad at something.  Also I’m bummed because we can’t trust Malcolm Gladwell– that 10K hour thing is based on not much.  :(

Need a t-shirt?

If you think you don’t need to know about the Dunning-Kruger effect, then you’re exactly the kind of person who does.

Because you need more anxiety cat memes.

This is so interesting, because the author thinks it’s a failure, yet I think it’s so completely fascinating.  I want to read a book of this!

13 Responses to “Gimme gimme link love”

  1. Savvy Working Gal Says:

    I once heard Eli Whitney didn’t invent the cotton gin – a woman did, but he took credit. I was going to write about it in a post, but couldn’t verify it. Thanks for another great link love post.

  2. Steph Says:

    I completely agree with the home ec article (it was cool to see the history in there too). Students would definitely benefit from learning basic repair, cooking, and money skills as early as possible. My parents taught me to sew a button and hang a picture, but they weren’t quite as worried about cooking and money skills, so I’ve been trying to learn those now. But there are plenty of people who don’t even try for any of those, because getting over the initial hump on your own takes a lot of effort and it’s hard to know where to start. Oh, and teaching people how to clean would be a great idea too.

    Also, it’s weird, but I never thought about the “economics” part of home ec. To me, the two words together were synonymous with domesticity and running a household so I never broke them down. But especially these days, the “Ec” part is probably just as, if not more, important than the more “domestic” household skills.

  3. Dr. Koshary Says:

    “When did anyone ever have reason to trust Malcolm Gladwell?” snorts your friendly neighborhood grumpy pseudologist.

  4. Cloud Says:

    If you get the chance to hear James Watson speak now, skip it, unless you enjoy displays of unrecognized privilege. I so wish I could tell you the full story of how I know this.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      I’ve heard that too. Also he refuses to shake hands with unimportant people. He’s pretty well recognized by everyone as a major asshole, something we’ve known since high school. Less well known is that Feynman was also a misogynist. Nobody will argue that Watson was misunderstood or a great guy. Feynman still has fans.

    • Leah Says:

      I’ve heard so many bad things about Watson from fellow scientists who have all personally met him or worked with him. I take joy in focusing on all the other players and groundwork that came before Watson & Crick with DNA (not just Franklin but also her PI, Avery, Hershey, Chase, etc — here’s some of the many scientists involved in the community effort: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DNA#History_of_DNA_research).

  5. Leah Says:

    How does Dunning-Kruger interface with imposter syndrome? Seems to me that the people who know about Dunning-Kruger might be more likely to feel it even if they don’t actually deserve it.

  6. jlp Says:

    Had not heard about the recent mistakes by SciAm. What a disappointment.

    Just was forwarded this a day or two ago:
    http://beatonna.tumblr.com/post/64220029193/these-kids-are-amazing-they-nailed-iiitttt-my

  7. Rented life Says:

    Wtf, Candace Pert died!!!???!! Now I really need to replace her Molecules book…


Leave a Reply

