Link love

Confusing math homework?  Don’t blame the common core.

Patterson and Kehoe and the great lead debate.

White male privilege squandered on job at Best Buy.  Though I dunno, there are probably plenty of non-white males who would prefer to work at Best Buy and can’t because they don’t have white male privilege.  (The Onion.)

argh!
also argh

OMG I need these things (Is that a birthday hint?)

warning: time-suck

crucial conversations storified

meanwhile I’m also reading this because it is interesting, though it’s missing the fact that women are acting RATIONALLY, and men are as well, because of bias

In case you missed it, Cloud quit her job! Woo!

11 Responses to “Link love”

  1. chacha1 Says:

    Thank you for the Atlantic link! I feel better-educated now. :-)

    • Kay Says:

      If you’d like a better and correct assessment(in my opinion) of public education in the US then I recommend Diane Ravitch. The Atlantic article just doesn’t cut it.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        Diane Ravitch changes her mind with every fad. She’s against whatever is in even though she’s part of the reason for the change.

      • Liz Says:

        @n&m: I like Diane Ravitch, but agree that she presents a very biased vision of what’s right and wrong. Some of her speeches do a better job acknowledging the humanity and positions of her current opponents. I think in some ways she’s deliberately taken the extreme approach because the “Race to the Top” (competitive knee-jerk reactions) of many states and districts left a LOT to be desired in terms of reliability and validity of data-collection, including assessments. Additionally, schools were expected to implement CCSS and related assessment and teacher evaluation simultaneously in a serious defunding of public schooling (P-20, higher ed especially affected). Then money began flowing away in the form of privatization, charters, and magnet programs, leaving the schools with the greatest need the fewest resources. The more I research it, the more I fundamentally appreciate the *standards* part of CCSS, and the less I appreciate the terrible data (assessment, evaluation, competitive funding) part. I could go on… so many feels. More questions, few answers.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        We’ve read her since we were in high school. It seems pretty clear that she cares more about staying “relevant” in the public eye than about US education. Her image is maverick, and that’s what drives her views.

      • Liz Says:

        Interesting. Do you have recommendations/selected readings? (An historical look at an historian… haha.)

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        Readings about what specifically? If you’re asking about Diane Ravitch, she writes a book every time her viewpoints change. (Also you can view her interviews places like the Daily Show, though they don’t go back to the 1990s, of course.)

  2. Cloud Says:

    Thanks for the shout out! And that Atlantic link. I’m surprised so many people hate the math, but I haven’t researched it. I suspect it is like most educational things- different approaches work better for different kids. The old way left me feeling like math was boring! From what I’ve seen of my daughter’s 1st grade math, they are roughly alternating a unit of the “fuzzy” stuff (bad name!) and a unit that seems more traditional. So one unit of regular old addition, then a unit on “number stories” or something like that, etc. She really likes her math, but I don’t know how general that is among her classmates.

    My gut instinct is that a mixed approach would be best- some memorization for speed/fluency, interlaced with the more explanatory/theoretical stuff. But that is absolutely not backed by any research. Maybe in my newly expanded free time I’ll do some research and write a post on it.

    @Kay- I don’t think Ravitch’s views are universally accepted as “correct.” I see a lot of education types who think she’s missing some large points.

    In general, all of the Common Core brouhaha seems to focus strongly on the implementation in a few places and on the decision some places made to simultaneously impose high stakes testing. I read articles that sound very alarming… but do not match what I’m seeing happen in my school AT ALL.

    • Kay Says:

      I didn’t say she was universally accepted, many probably do not agree with some or all she shares. I could argue that it is mostly others who are missing the larger points, but I won’t here. Again the Atlantic piece is not a good explanation of common core…..(I say this specifically because there were some commenting that they didn’t even know what it was..)
      I’d be curious about what positives you see in your area directly related to common core.
      As an educator,social worker and parent in massachusetts I’m not impressed with this latest education “reform”
      Thanks!

      • Kay Says:

        Well nicolemaggie last time I checked your kids don’t even attend public school so I’d say you’re against all of it.
        Obviously you are highly educated and very smart but I say you’ve clearly missed the boat here. Keep reading.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        Okay… I think that statement right there shows that what you believe isn’t worth much. You can feel free to read other blogs.

        If you want to have a real discussion about education, we can do that on this blog, but comments like that one are moronic and don’t belong. Feel free to find your reading elsewhere.


Leave a Reply

