Link Love

We’re pretty light on links this week.  I don’t know why.  Ima blame #2.

Turn your research into click bait!  (The sad thing is that some of my research has already been turned into click bait… Not recently though.)

So, I was totally like, that minimum wage answer is a pretty valid one to me… there’s a reason we have 500 papers on the topic and we still don’t know the answer, but David Sibley has explained why that’s a problem.  Point taken, David Sibley!

Commentary on George Will (obviously caution rape topic)

Why aren’t you writing?

Random writing points for Tuesday.

If only.

Spidermom.

Kummerspeck also translated as “grief bacon”.

also more squees with clarisse and josh!  I am so glad she’s telling him!

6 Responses to “Link Love”

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Yeah, we saw that. It sounded pretty cool until I read one of the comments that was like, “but what if you’re in a situation with a guy who won’t take no and then he forces you to see if the number actually works”… and if you’re not in a situation where the guy won’t take no, then just say you’re not interested!

      • Leah Says:

        yeah, I usually say I’m not interested. These days, I just say that I’m married (but am starting to think that I’m not interested is still a better line). I’d venture that the situation you mention is pretty rare (at least, I hope so).

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        I’ve never been in a situation that a guy has asked for my phone number in my entire life. (I did get a guy give me his phone number once… in the science fiction section of a bookstore… but that’s it.)

      • Leah Says:

        I’ve only been asked for my number a handful of times (less than 5, I’m sure) other than stuff like ‘net dating or trading #s with a friend. But I also don’t frequent the bar scene or anything. There are better ways to meet people.

      • Rosa Says:

        there are a lot of situations where women don’t feel safe just saying they’re not interested. Especially young women. I’ve seen dudes grab a woman’s phone out of her hand and try to call themselves with it, at an outdoor music festival. That’s the kind of situation where you need to be rescued by a friend but in lieu of that cooperating til you can escape is an option.

        I’m pretty confrontational, and with a friend at my back I’d totally say “I am not going to talk to you” or “go see if someone else likes you” but I also used to give my number out as 897-9305 if cornered. Don’t want to be followed home by some creep. Of course that was in ancient pre-cell-phone times.


Leave a Reply

