Even more google questions

Q: sohcahtoa rhyme

A: Sin Sin Cos Cos Tan Tan… oh gee, I really can’t remember it anymore. But I also think it’s probably a little racist (in the way that camp songs from the 1950s were racist against Native Americans) and best not remembered. It’s not like it was particularly helpful anyway. I always remember that sin is on top and opposite is on top and tan doesn’t use the hypotenuse, so sin is opp/hyp, cos is what’s left which is adj/hyp, and then tan is opp/(what’s left) adj. Then it’s easy to remember that Tan = sin/cos, later when you start hardcore trig. In terms of the sum and difference formulas, nobody remembers those and I hope you get a cheat sheet on your exam. For the 360 degree thing, I like the handy menomic device: All Students Take Calculus. All are positive in the first quadrant, Sin is positive in the second, Tan is positive in the third, and Cos is positive in the fourth. (Thank you to my ex-boyfriend who taught me that, along with a horrible misogynist rhyme for remembering the colors of resistors, which is something I will likely never need to know.)

Q: comparison between investing in tiaa cref adn edward jones

A: STAY AWAY FROM EDWARD JONES!!!! TIAA CREF is actually pretty good in terms of having your best interests at heart. They’re not quite Vanguard, but they’re not particularly evil. Definitely TIAA CREF. They’re relatively low fee. Edward Jones is extremely high fee. TIAA CREF won’t push you into funds just because they line their pockets. Edward Jones will.

Q: do accountants make a good spouse

A: My MIL thinks so.

Q: how to accuse someone of lying without saying the words

A: I’m a fan of the raised eyebrow

Q: do college professors have to stay on campus dueing the summer

A: Usually no. Usually they’re not even on contract or getting paid. (They’re just doing work.)

Q: is 3 b’s in graduate school bad

A: I sure hope not!

Q: 10. what is the purpose of having insurance?

A: Yeah, this is in no way part of a take-home exam or assignment. No possible way.

Q: who do you call cutie patootie

A: My little snuggle bug. My big snuggle bug is too big for that.

Q: how to be a less grumpy mother?

A: Get more sleep?

Q: how to spend your last days of your life blog

A: Sounds like a really depressing idea for a blog. But maybe it could be inspirational.

19 Responses to “Even more google questions”

  1. Leah Says:

    1. I’m always amazed that students don’t realize that cutting and pasting a question is not the best way to search for answers. You’d think kids who grew up on the internet would understand key words.

    2. If you have to google why insurance is important, I’m concerned for your level of intelligence.

    My google question that I’ll ask you:
    How do I find a fee-only financial advisor, and how much should I expect to pay per hour? And do I really need one, or can one figure out financial needs via research? I don’t have a major portfolio or anything to manage.

    Okay, that’s multiple questions. Sorry!

    • chacha1 Says:

      I know you’re not asking *me* but … :-) … if you don’t have a major portfolio, don’t have overseas income, and don’t expect a major inheritance you probably don’t need to pay a financial advisor. There is lots of good information mixed with the chum on the Internet.

      The one thing that I think everyone agrees on is “save a minimum of 10% of your gross income in a tax-advantaged vehicle.” Oh, and don’t finance an automobile for more than three years.

    • Ana Says:

      1. but it honestly works surprisingly well. as the internet gets bigger, the more specific answers you can find. nothing is new, its probably been said (and answered before). (don’t agree with that method of doing take home tests—does nothing for your education, but…it works)

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        I did check the insurance question and most of the answers on the first page of google search are completely wrong. :)

      • Leah Says:

        I’m more talking about optimizing the search. Like N&M says, a lot of answers are wrong. When one googles a specific question, mostly ask.com and wikianswers and that sort of junk come up. I try to show students how to use key word terms to get what they actually want to see in terms of google searches.

  2. Alicia Says:

    Re “3 B’s in grad school”… I’ll admit I’d say “yes” for my field and country’s system (dunno if it’s different in the US). In my program (physical science) the pass was 70+ and we only had 4 – 6 course requirements. 70 – 73 (?) was a B-, 73 – 76 was a B, 76 – 80 was B+, 80 – 85 was A-, 85 – 90 was A, and 90+ was A+. You DID NOT want to get in the B range, because usually it was profs being kind to you rather than flunking you and getting you kicked out of the program. One B+, okay, that’s salvageable, but it was really expected that you’d have something in the 80+ range.

    Re: SOHCAHTOA – I feel like that in itself is pretty much the rhyme/mnemonic :)

    • Leah Says:

      I got a B- in grad school and completely acknowledged that it was a “gentleman’s C” equivalent. We couldn’t receive anything less than a B- to continue on. It worked out well for me — what she was trying to teach eventually did sink in, and passing the class made me less bitter and more willing to work than failing would have done.

  3. Requin Says:

    Getting a B in my graduate program (US, social science discipline) is a bad sign. Maybe one class turns out poorly for some reason, but 3 B grades is a signal that too much of the work is below the required standard. Grading is very compressed in the upper range of the grading scale – I do give out B grades (and lower!) but some of my colleagues rarely if ever go that low.

    • rented life Says:

      This is also my experience. Just one B, even in a class that was an elective and not part of your main focus of study, was enough to make the department question if you should stay or not.

  4. Comradde PhysioProffe Says:

    The husband of a close friend of mine wrote a blogge for several years about his experience with terminal cancer, and he continued to post right to the end. It seemed to be a very good thing for him, his family, and friends.

  5. chacha1 Says:

    The idea of a last-days-of-life blog is actually kind of interesting. (I could see writing about what *I* might choose to do in my last days of life. Wouldn’t put it on somebody else’s blog though.) But it would have to be VERY carefully managed, as surely it would require submissions from outsiders, and those would have to be curated and edited in order to make the result more than a place for people to write down their vindictive revenge fantasies. I don’t think anyone would do the work after more than a week or so of getting inundated with poorly-written, repetitive nonsense.

    • Liz Says:

      I would never think that people would spend their last days writing “vindictive revenge fantasies.” Maybe regrets, maybe entries about all the fabulous things they’re doing with their last precious moments on earth — now THAT would be a really great reason to do travel hacking and world domination like the Northwestern White Males are doing lately. But I also have not experienced many people dying, not the intimate messiness part, at least. And I am a bit naive or innocent when it comes to people.

      • chacha1 Says:

        Obviously I’m a little cynical. :-) But I do think if you invited the Internet to answer the question “what would you do if you knew you had only 3-5 days to live” – which is how I read that search query – an awful lot of people would say “call up that jerk who fired me that time and tell him what I really think of him” or “settle an old score” or “spend all my money and max out all my credit cards.” That kind of question typically assumes that someone is walking and talking until they drop dead, vs dying slowly full of tubes in a hospital, because you probably can’t blog very well in the latter situation.

        That’s the problem with speculating on random search queries … it’s really hard to judge what someone is getting at (I mean, aside from when they have obviously cut-and-pasted an exam question). If the query was more intended as “I’m looking for someone’s end-of-life blog so I can see if someone has found a good way to cope with impending death” then there is a whole different spin.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        it’s also depressing :( But hopefully those resources exist!

  6. MutantSupermodel Says:

    The entire first part of your post made no sense to me.

    I’m also a fan of the raised eyebrow– very passive-aggressive.

    My cutie patooties are just my cuties these days. And my babes.

  7. Practical Parsimony Says:

    I was reading a blog written by a man who was facing a terminal disease. There was no wind down, like “I cannot write for long,” No “my walk was cut short today because of pain.” The blog entries just stopped. That blog really bothers me, still. I want to know what happened. He was never sad, just barely wistful. Then, no more posts.

  8. Steph Says:

    The way I learned the sum and difference formulas was
    “Sine cosine cosine sine, cosine cosine sign sine sine”

    So for sin(a +/- b), use the first one, alternating a and b. Cos is the second one, same alternation, and in the middle you switch signs (so for a sum, it’s -, for a difference, it’s +)

    It made sense to me when my teacher taught us that, anyway, and I still remember it.

  9. Practical Parsimony Says:

    We were informed that Bs in grad school were unacceptable. I got one B in a class where I was the only one who knew answers. I took British Lit survey when I was 17, first year in college. Fortunately, the answers were the same in grad school where I took an in-depth (supposedly) class in British Lit (poetry of one era) where we read the same poems. The secret in the Rhyme of the Ancient Mariner was the same in 1964 and 1997. I always thought the prof was punishing me for knowing the answers. Of course, I did not blurt out the answer. After no one else raised a hand, and the professor had asked the question three times, I raised my hand. Each time I knew the answer, students would murmur their disappointment. He acted like it annoyed him to acknowledge me 20 times in each hour! I got an A on my paper. I was so upset about my final grade that I just did not bother to ask him.


Leave a Reply

