link love (from Paradise!)

#2 is marooned in a sea of boxes in the new home.  So many errands.

A gai shan life steps towards parenthood.

Kinda wanna try this easy pasta recipe.

Should you buy Alibaba?

trigger (rape) warning:  science has a thomas jefferson problem

rage rage rage rage #chroniclesucks #allaboutthemens #victimblaming #patriarchy #anotherrapetriggerwarning

This owl wants to ask you a question.

wait, WHAT?

Science explains the double rainbow I saw earlier this week.

For my friends in the same situation:  The people brought home a strange creature.   (each panel better than the one before!)

This is what a feminist looks like.

xykademiqz nails it again.

I think I would like to be a book butler, assuming the pay was good.

Much love Hufflepuff fanfic

#YesAllFrankensteins

we learn nothing from ferguson

17 Responses to “link love (from Paradise!)”

  1. monsterzero Says:

    I have serious doubts about that recipe. “The water will have all been absorbed, so there’s no need to drain it”? I’d bet it’s either going to be a little burnt or really soggy at the point that the pasta’s done.

  2. andreamilne Says:

    Thanks for linking to my post! I’m glad you appreciated it enough to share, and am equally enraged by the situation.

    Best wishes,
    Andrea

  3. Comradde PhysioProffe Says:

    Kinda wanna try this easy pasta recipe.

    Jeezus motherf*cke! That is disgusting! Even in the picture they posted, you can see the nasty f*cken puddle of swill water the dish is soggening in. UGH!

    If you want to make some good pasta, there are dozens of recipes on my blogge.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      We’re reserving judgment until we’ve tried it. We don’t think that pasta water is “swill” (unless you’re using really bad pasta, and then what’s the point?) and we also don’t think that it necessarily requires being cooked until less than al dente or burnt. But it is an empirical question.

      • Comradde PhysioProffe Says:

        Way too much of the starch that comes out of the pasta during boiling is remaining in the dish. You only want to put a little bit of pasta water to finish your sauce, not *all* of it. And what are you gonna do if you don’t get the amount of water exactly correct so that just as the sauce thickens appropriately the pasta is properly al dente. Even in the picture, you can see they didn’t get it right, and the bottom of the dish is a soggening puddle of water. This whole thing is an abomination.

      • Comradde PhysioProffe Says:

        And note that even though they didn’t boil off enough water to not leave a gross puddle, you can see by how floppy they are that the fusilli have already turned to mush.

        I am seriously begging you not to do this.

      • Comradde PhysioProffe Says:

        Also notice how the fusilli are not even whole anymore, but are broken up? They are so mushy, they’re disintegrating.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        It’s an empirical question.

      • Comradde PhysioProffe Says:

        That they couldn’t even get it close to correct in the picture illustrating the recipe is empirical data. Properly cooked fusilli doesn’t look like someone boot-stomped it after boiling:

        (Hahahahaha. As you can see, I feel strongly about pasta.)

  4. Comradde PhysioProffe Says:

    Deputies cited Myers with inattentive driving, while the 16-year-old was cited for interfering with the driver’s safety.

    Wait! So some asshole lights you on fire while you’re driving, and you get cited, too???

  5. nicoleandmaggie Says:

    Don’t worry, CPP, I feel very strongly about pasta, too! But we are in a huge drought here and making pasta every day produces a huge amount of wastewater…

  6. MutantSupermodel Says:

    I missed the part where #2 moved. I also never get it right on who is #1 and who is #2 and which has kids and which does not. Can you guys sign your posts as #1 and #2? Is #1 Nicole? Or Maggie? These are the things that I think about…

    I am conflicted about the pasta thing.

    Alibaba infographic = highly amusing

    The science has a problem post was fantastic. Life has a problem. So damn true.

    I got mad reading the post about the Chronicle and had to stop.

    The teenager armpit fire story= reason #1,097 I am getting my kids Smart cars for their first cars. Good luck fitting assholes in there buddy.

    Oooh I love the double rainbow explanation. The whole rainbow thing actually. Fascinating.

    Strange creature post was adorbs

    I would like to have dinner with Scalzi

    Bibliotherapist for me. I don’t like waiting on other people but I do like helping.

    The Hufflepuf fanfic was perfect! Cheeky :)

    SIGH the Ferguson thing. ARGH

    I’m super nostalgic for the 90’s lately. Daria is up there. Buffy too.

    OMG Tiny Hamster is so cute! Kobayashi is nauseating to watch though. Eek.

    My contribution to your this is why we are feminists collection: http://www.themarysue.com/youtube-harassment-backlash/

  7. chacha1 Says:

    Tiny Hamster vs Kobayashi … very funny. :-) I especially liked how not just the “hot dogs” but the score card was scaled down for Hamster. He did have kind of an unfair advantage though. Kobayashi does not have cheek pouches.

  8. Shocking victory of recipe over perceived science | Grumpy Rumblings (of the formerly untenured) Says:

    […] I tried the one-pot pasta dish and it worked!  Although both I and CPP had our doubts, the pasta turned out al dente and not broken (I used the small penne from Trader Joe’s).  I […]


Leave a Reply

