The New Flooring (and bonus toilet)

Before:  005

After:015

The vinyl is exactly as advertised.  It is not slippery and it is softer than tile.  If you can get over the dire warnings about off-gassing, sheet vinyl really is a good choice for a children’s bathroom where you care about safety a little bit more than you care about looks.  (The tile does look nicer in pictures than in reality because it’s just a picture of tile imposed on vinyl, but so long as you don’t look too closely, the illusion holds IRL too.)

Total cost: <$1500

Flooring:  ~$900

Toilet main parts: ~$300.

Toilet seat:  ~$40.  (Did you know these don’t just come with the toilet?  DH wanted a fancy one, so a fancy one he got!)

Broken Mirror:  (DH didn’t take it down, and it shattered when the contractor accidentally bumped it.) $15 if we replace it before they get rid of all the back to school stuff.  More if we have to buy it regular price.

Bathtub sealer floor trim to place between floor and bathtub:  $4

DH says that they sent one guy out to do the entire thing and he really knew what he was doing.  He stripped out the carpet and cut off carpet tacks that were embedded in the cement.  Then he added a thin layer of cement to make everything even.  Then the vinyl went in, and went in almost perfectly.  (There’s a little area behind the toilet in the corner that will need some additional caulk or grout.)

They didn’t cut off the baseboards like we thought they would, and you can see we’re going to have to repaint those.  Whoops.  Quarter round would have looked really bad, so I’m glad we noticed that they were going to put it in standard and we asked them not to do that.  The guy did a really good job getting the flooring up right against the molding so all it needs is a little caulk here and there, particularly at the corners.

They were able to do the full jack and jill as one piece with no seams, which is pretty cool.

All in all, we think it looks really nice and was probably worth the month and a half wait (when they lost the flooring and had to reorder it and it was backordered etc.).  It was definitely worth the expense to have someone who knows what they’re doing doing this.  If we were doing it, we would most likely have done it piece meal with seams and we would have been completely surprised by things like carpet tacks.  I assume we’d know to put in cement because we’d have watched the appropriate youtube videos, but it’s really nice that we didn’t have to.

Do I wish we’d done this earlier?  It’s hard to say.  See, we didn’t have so much income earlier that $1,500 would have not have made us make some kind of sacrifice, most likely to savings and peace of mind.  In addition, it was probably best to get the bulk of the potty training done on that cruddy carpet that is now gone as well as in our ex-toilet. Essentially, we lived with the carpet without major problems in the past and appreciated having that money, but it sure is nice to have it looking respectable now, and $1500 doesn’t seem like much to have it the way it is now given that we didn’t have to do that much to get it that way.

Now we can let guests use this bathroom instead of hiding it from sight and sending them to the guest bathroom instead.  Two guests could even go potty at the same time (in separate bathrooms)!  If we ever had guests…

So, I still don’t understand people who renovate perfectly nice stuff with money they don’t have when they move into a house, but I do appreciate the need and ability to renovate responsibly when stuff is past its prime.  And I do realize we probably put these things off a bit too long, but so far I think that’s ok.

Next up:  Window treatments!

What makes you decide it’s time to renovate?  Do you do it yourself or hire out?

61 Responses to “The New Flooring (and bonus toilet)”

  1. plantingourpennies Says:

    Yay for gross bathroom carpet being gone! (Seriously, what designer EVER thought that was a good idea!?!)

    For us, sometimes renovations get triggered when something big that we’ve been waiting to fail does – like the death of the water heater that we knew would drive renovating the whole garage as part of getting a new one. Other times it’s a combination of knowing we have the time and the money and are getting to the end of our patience with or the usable life of something around the house. That’s more what’s driving the planned kitchen renovations – the timing seems good. And timing makes a big difference because we DIY almost everything, so we need to make sure we have the bandwidth to deal with it outside of work.

  2. Leah Says:

    Yay!

    I also don’t get home shows where people can’t possibly move in because the bathroom has dated counters. Seriously? Those can be replaced in a year or two when you save the money. Argh. I yell at the tv sometimes (often) when watching HGTV. Love it or list it? Just declutter! I want more non-hoarders shows about decluttering and organizing.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Our kitchen counters are a source of sorrow to us, and we probably waited too long (and will continue to wait too long) to do anything about them. :(

      • MutantSupermodel Says:

        “we probably waited too long (and will continue to wait too long) to do anything about them”

        What do you mean by that? You’ll be leaving before it’s worth changing them?

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        We can afford to do something about them right now because we have extra cash, but we’re too lazy to actually do anything about them. Partly because we don’t like the entire set-up of the kitchen, so that’s more difficult than just adding new countertops.

    • chacha1 Says:

      90% of the “love it or list it” dilemmas could be solved with a solid declutter and some basic home maintenance. I almost always yell at those people. :-) I guess it’s my version of watching baseball.

      • Leah Says:

        I also love (hate?) the people who think that $60k will get them an entirely redone floorplan, new kitchen, and new master bath. And you know they always find some issue with the house!

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        It won’t? 60K is a lot of money! You can tell we haven’t looked into hardly any of these things. Heck, we were surprised by how little the bathroom flooring ended up costing us. (The toilet, DH decided to go top of the line, which brought our entire cost up, but the flooring really wasn’t too bad compared to what we would have guessed.)

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        #1, are you kidding me? A kitchen ALONE can cost EASILY $30k, a bathroom $10 – 20k if you want it seriously redone, structural work is like $3k per beam plus like $2k per moved wall…

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        So that adds up to 60K… (or under)

        How do you know how much these things cost?

        And, of course, looking at cost estimates online is why I thought that the bathroom vinyl would cost so much more than it actually did.

      • plantingourpennies Says:

        $60K isn’t much for home renovations down here that contractors do. We have family that spent $250K redoing the interior of a condo on the beach. A 2500 sqft condo that probably has a market value close to $1mm, but still… $250K is an additional $100/sqft in finishing materials and decor! We’ve been told if we hired out what we want to do in our kitchen it would easily be $60-$80K, especially with the structural renovations we’re doing.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        You could get a top of the line brand new house out here for 250K!

        I guess we will continue to live with our awful kitchen. Since we don’t have 60K just lying around.

      • plantingourpennies Says:

        You can get a decent house here for $250K too – even some new construction if that’s what you want. But these folks wanted marble flooring and all sorts of craziness. Hey, it’s their money… well, kindof. It’s the 90-year-old dad’s money that they’re spending on a condo he never goes to… ahh, family drama.

      • Rosa Says:

        we just signed a $25k contract for siding our house. Not the fancy Victorian trim, just siding the solid squarish parts.

        $25k is custom color, so was optional. But still. Just the siding. The insurance company paid for the roof and that was another $25k. Just to keep the place not falling down, not to actually change anything.

  3. Chelsea Says:

    Having been renters up to this point, we’ve never had to make renovations in a place we’ve lived. That said, I’m in the “pay someone to do it quickly and correctly” camp. I don’t trust my DIY skills or my motivation not to wane 1/2 way through the project. At least if it doesn’t get done quickly and correctly by someone else, I can be mad at them rather than myself (or DH).

  4. gwinne Says:

    Great faux tile!!! I did a version of that in our basement after it flooded.

    Mostly I’ve waited to do renovations/home repair until there was a PROBLEM. Never ever would have considered doing anything to our bathroom until it started leaking into our kitchen. But once it became clear major work (tub and floor and tile) needed to happen, well, it was also easy to make a decision to spend an extra $50 or so on a shower head I’d really like, etc.

    Our kitchen is dated (probably redone in the 1990s?) but functional and I like it enough. Maybe time for another coat of paint, and I’ll swap out the appliances when they die. But countertops I’m not crazy about? Eh. Not worth it.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Do you think that stained bathroom carpet counts as a problem? (Just out of curiosity.)

      • gwinne Says:

        Nah. To my mind that’s an aesthetic issue that you live with as long as you can live with. Clearly you’d reached your limit; I would have, too, at some point! Although actually that might be one of those things I dealt with as soon as I moved in because I’m anti-carpet :)

        I guess I mean structural things or things that need to be fixed in order to prevent future problems (like getting gutters so the there’s not another leak).

  5. Cloud Says:

    We’re ridiculously slow doing home improvements unless it is something that is bothering my husband. When it bothers him, he does it himself (mostly- he did get a pro to come put the speaker cables in the ceiling after he bought surround sound). When it only bothers me, it waits until I get around to hiring someone!

  6. Rented life Says:

    When we had a house we fixed the closet right away. It was a door you opened and then the closet ran long the wall but you couldn’t access much of it. Like a long hall to nowhere. So we took out the door, cut off the lathe and plaster (I hate that stuff) and put in some bifold doors. Easy and painless fix and totally worth being able to use the space. The bathroom I saved for a year to do and we did it all ourselves. It had to be done though, it was falling apart and full of mold. Took longer than expected but also worth it for many reasons. We had our neighbor help with plumbing as that was his job before he retired. Husband already knew how to do electrical and I’ve laid down tile etc.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Impressive! When my FIL comes to visit, he and DH often tackle major projects (like replacing broken wood on the deck), but he hasn’t come to visit as much now that there are more grandkids than just ours. (We tend to visit them instead.)

  7. Leigh Says:

    Yay! When I moved in, my master bedroom had two huge closets, but only one of them had a wire rack to hang stuff on and it was halfway down, so only 1/4 of the available closet space was usable! I used the other one to store suitcases and other random stuff… It took me about 18 months to have closet organizers installed. They’ve been pretty awesome though! The kicker I think was that my boyfriend was spending a lot more time over, which was starting to mean I only had 1/8 of the available closet space for myself :P Having two closets has been so much nicer!

    I doubt I’ll do any other projects for a while unless things break. Maybe replacing the windows some day – they’re ~30 years old and leak cold/warm air into the place, which doesn’t create a very good ambient temperature and costs more in heating.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      We installed shelving and stuff ourselves in one of the closets right after we moved in (which is soon to become DC2’s closet, so we’ll have to stop using it as a toolshed and one day we’ll have to move the board game storage, which means undoing the shelving we put in!).

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Do the windows as soon as you can afford it, good windows are sooooo worth it on heating bills, sound insulation, temperature control, etc. Also they add value to the house. Maybe you can do it with a HELOC?

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        #1 notes that at our energy audit the guy said the insulation part wasn’t such a big deal compared to getting black out shades to keep the sun out. That’s on our to-do list. But we already have double-paned windows and stuff.

        Leigh also has a super low interest rate and makes an excrement-tonne of money so she could just pay for it straight out without a HELOC. She’d just have to divert money away from savings or mortgage pre-payment. (I’m guessing even if her ARM resets it will still be lower than a HELOC would.)

      • Leigh Says:

        HELOC would be 3.75% with my credit union (my mortgage is a 5/1 ARM at 2.5%, resetting in January 2018) and windows are only like $5k maybe since it’s just a condo, with one side. I have $20+k in cash, so I’d just use some cash for it or divert cash flow for a few months since I have about $3.5k in extra cash flow each month that I use for savings/investing/mortgage pre-payment.

        I think I might do the windows next summer since it seems like doing them in winter is bad? I’m guessing I don’t have double-paned ones since they’re 30 years old. If it’s 20 degrees outside and sunny, my living room is 80 degrees. I don’t have A/C, so my living room spends all summer in the low to mid eighties (yes, inside). Once it regularly gets down to 40-50 outside, my living room will be 55 inside. Yes, I learned this by not knowing how my thermostats worked and letting it stay off until it got to 55 the first winter. I’m sure it can get colder than that, but I don’t really want to do it!

        Black out shades are also on my to do list. I have plantation shutters in the living room, but they’re not sufficient for the summer sun + heat, so based on that plus the cold draft coming through the windows in the winter, I think the windows might be worth upgrading.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        Get the windows…. do it… there might be a higher cost to doing it in either winter OR summer, who knows? Fall might bring you a good deal if contractors are less busy.

      • Leigh Says:

        My current plan is to investigate windows and a second heater in the master bedroom once I’m done with job hunting since that has been exhausting so much of my energy lately.

  8. Sarabeth Says:

    I’ll just say that this kind of dilemma is another way that people with family money benefit in unnoticed ways. I’m one of those people (on a small-scale level). We just bought a house that really needed a kitchen renovation – like, was not actually functional. My parents lent us some money to do the work, and because we were not liquidity constrained, we were able to go for the counters and floors that we want in the long run rather than a cheaper version (stainless steel and hardwood, in our case, instead of linoleum and vinyl). We’ll pay them back, probably within the year – it depends on my husband’s exact bonus this year. But we definitely benefited from having access to some family money, even if it’s just a loan. We would never have cut 401k contributions or the like to get nicer counters, but it was nice not to have to choose.

    I hope this doesn’t sound like I’m bragging – I’m 100% aware that it’s luck not virtue at work here. I just think it’s useful to point out the ways that families with similar incomes can nonetheless have varying financial constraints.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      It would never have occurred to us to ask for money from my parents for that kind of situation — we, in fact, did our laundry at a laundromat until we had enough saved up to get top of the line w/d instead of cheaper ones. Probably in an unworkable kitchen situation we’d have eaten a lot of sandwiches until we had enough saved up to do the full renovation.

      We did borrow from my parents so we could get an apartment before we got our stipend payments because although we had one months rent (from my work study savings), we didn’t have the three months rent required to pay the last month and the realtor’s fee in an expensive market. I don’t know what we could have done otherwise under the circumstances– we didn’t even have that much room for credit on our credit cards even if we could have converted them to rent.

    • bogart Says:

      But @Sarabeth is exactly right, I think, and it’s not (necessarily) even a question of whether one would or wouldn’t ask. When we did a (significant) remodel to our home, my mom gave us (unasked) both a big section of floor, and getting the house painted (we had planned to do the work ourselves in both cases and she paid to outsource them). Also she gave us a fancy (by our standards, in the $1.5K range) fridge.

      I would never have asked her for those things, and probably even protested briefly against them. But she gave them to us nonetheless.

      As for the larger question — I mean obviously one shouldn’t spend money one doesn’t have, full stop. Right? But OTOH in the smoothing consumption vein — if you plan to be somewhere a long time *and* credit is cheap — well, let’s just say there’s a part of me that wishes we’d gotten the remodel we got done, done a lot sooner. It was big (remove load-bearing wall, reshape front end of house) and has made the house a lot more livable. And certainly there are aspects of it that have improved the cosmetics of the home, but I could have lived with that 1970s shag carpet forever if I’d had to, even the off-white section. It’s having a place that is designed (shaped) to meet our needs that improves our QoL and was worth paying for. Sooner or later.

      • Sarabeth Says:

        Absolutely! We would never ask, but they offered us money as soon as we started house hunting (they actually offered to just give it to us, but that’s more than we’re comfortable with, so they’re getting it back). And I’m not so virtuous that I’ll live with a non-functional kitchen on principle. Without the money, we would just have bought a different house (and so borrowed the money from a bank instead). But that would have meant other compromises, since our house has a pretty rare combination of features for the neighborhood. And perhaps it’s in my parents’ interests long-term, since one of the unusual features is a first-floor bedroom so that they can visit us easily as they age (and perhaps even move in some day).

  9. MutantSupermodel Says:

    I really don’t like doing home things myself. I have tried in the past and it never comes out right. I’d rather hire someone. That being said, this kind of thing is not in my anytime soon future :)

  10. chacha1 Says:

    We’ve never owned a house, so our renovations have been all cosmetic, landlord-acceptable stuff that it would have been ludicrous not to DIY (painting, replacing faucets or light fixtures or cabinet hardware, even putting down parquet floor).

    If we bought a house with carpet, we would instantly rip that stuff out. But we do not have kids so there was never a potty-training consideration. I think hiring-out this job was the intelligent choice. Caulking and painting a baseboard is definitely DIY, fitting a continuous sheet of vinyl not so much.

  11. Debbie M Says:

    I did a lot of stuff right away like weatherizing the house, replacing the roof, and trying to fix the sliding closet doors but then giving up and just removing them. I replaced other things as they broke with better things (stove, fridge, exterior doors). Then I just lived with things and have been saving money taking notes on what I like and don’t like and looking for ideas on cheap ways to get what I want without losing what I have that I like.

    Once I retire (20 more weeks), I’ll hire some people to come in and make some plans. I have ideas–I’m hoping a professional will have even better ideas. I think I’m fairly well defended against ideas I won’t like (marble countertops that would lead us to break more glasses than with our current laminate ones, adding on to the house in ways that mean we no longer have covered entry ways, etc.), but I still fear that.

    I waited too long to re-do the living room flooring. We were going to replace (or more likely cover) the painted cork with fabulously affordable hardwood tiles that are no longer available.

  12. Comradde PhysioProffe Says:

    Did you get one of those toilet seats that you just flick down and it lowers itself gently? Those are f*cken awesome! But the one problem is that once you get used to just flicking it down, you have to be careful not to do that with regular seats, or WHAMMO!

    • chacha1 Says:

      I hate the self-close toilet seats. I’m a close-before-you-flush person because SPRAY ew ew ew. Have to wait forever for the dumb toilet to close at my MIL’s house.

      Hate self-closing cupboards too. Never thought I would, but they are also in my MIL’s house and if they are not perfectly level (which they are not) they don’t work well (i.e. don’t stay closed).

      • becca Says:

        I have one of those. A particularly excellent choice for small boy chicks who can’t be easily trained not to slam everything.

        We bought our little project house for cash and moved in a year ago August. So far in our house we have:
        *Reinforced the basement wall. Carebear insists this was crucial for structural integrity of the house, but I am not so sure.
        *Redone the bathroom. This was all Carebear. We also went with vinyl flooring, one continuous piece. It’s very practical and not bad looking. I still lust after the large grey tiles we saw though. The bathroom was mandatory because I refused to live in a house without a bathtub. It was formerly a showerroom. With an extremely small shower. And two pocket doors from either bedroom, but no locks. Now the door doesn’t fit properly, but if you shove it you can at least lock it. And my deep soaker tub is awesome, and all the little details (cupboards, mirror, light fixtures, ect.) are really great. Our sink is super classy looking, albeit completely impractical for soaking. Overall, I am very pleased and super annoyed when Carebear says “it’ll do for now”. I don’t want to let him change anything. Except maybe the floor.
        *Redone some of the evil electrical (knob and tube). The basement has way too many hanging wires right now, there’s lots to fix.
        *Redone the mud room to look more roomish and less porchish. Drywall, insulation, new windows (inside the old windows), a tile floor, and new paint (still needs touchup). We did most of this one together, but Carebear eventually farmed out some of the drywall and the floor to a professional. It looks great and it was probably the right call.
        *Replaced the stove (much needed- it was leaking gas) and the fridge (well, technically we just got a nice new fridge. We still need to get rid of the old fridge, but that’s another story). Carebear is itching to do the rest of the kitchen, but I actually rather like it and we have super expensive taste in kitcheny stuff, so it can wait.
        *Replaced the extremely old and very unreliable washer/dryer with a shiny higher end front load pair we got from craigslist. They were kind of lemons, but we’ve got them fixed and they did cost less than new even with a couple of repairs.
        *This summer, Carebear needed a “cheap” project. So he put in a retaining wall. After ALL the rocks to fill it in (do you know how painful it is to spend MONEY on ROCKS?!?!?!!?) AND the fencing (part of which got assassinated by a tree in a storm a few weeks back) and everything (he got the wood for a great deal), it did come out at like 4X over Carebear’s estimated cost. But it looks pretty cool, and essentially doubles our backyard space. In the grand scheme of all this, not too pricy.

        We are saving up to do an expansion of the house, upwards (because that’s the only place there’s really room). We have a second story/attic that is super impractical right now, and we’d love to have more space.

        Really, when I write it all out, it’s a lot. So the short answer to your question is- I don’t know what (aside from no bathtub) makes me decide it’s time to renovate. Carebear’s threshold for Fixing All The Things is so low compared to mine I’ve never had enough time to get fed up with non-renovated stuff. Oh, wait. There was a broken window when we moved in. That got on my list to fix pronto. He wanted to think about replacing ALL the windows, but I said “NOT YET”.
        Also, Carebear is amazing.

        Also: no offense, but anyone who thinks 60k isn’t enough to get ALL THE THINGS ON THOSE LISTS has clearly watched too much Hillary and too little Jonathan Scott (Property Brothers) or Scott McGillivray (Income Property). I LOVE me some Hillary, but really? Her taste runs pricey. And her team is pretty expensive- I get the impression they move faster than on some of the other shows, and it shows up in the costs big time.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        That is a lot! We bought a house that was “move-in ready”, partly because the mortgage was less expensive than our rent in grad school, partly because we didn’t figure we’d have time to deal with anything during our new jobs. (We were right on that! Especially since I got pregnant right after buying the house.)

        My DH and I are cursed with neither of us being particularly artistic and neither of us being tremendously bothered by much. (Except during my 2 week nesting phase right around giving birth when everything has to be spotless. But hopefully we’re done with those.)

  13. notofgeneralinterest2 Says:

    What is a “full jack and jill”? I did try Googling it, but no luck. This is helpful!

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      um… it’s the kind of bathroom where there’s a center part that has the bathtub/shower/toilet, and then off to either side there are separate sink/cupboard/vanities. They’re popular as children’s bathrooms so that each kid gets hir own sink but you don’t have to double up on toilets and showers.

      http://www.bobvila.com/articles/the-benefits-of-a-jack-and-jill-bathroom/#.VCC9JGPabAw Though ours jets out at right angles with thinner hallways and only one of the rooms has a closet.

      The “full” part just means that they were able to do the entire jack and jill with just one piece of cut vinyl. As opposed to doing it in three parts.

  14. SP Says:

    Hmm… As a new homeowner, we have almost no cosmetic fixes planned. We didn’t even change the paint colors from what it was staged with. We do need some blinds – why are they so expensive!?!? We are considering UV film on the windows, because we don’t need them in most places for privacy reasons due to the way the house is situated – it really is just sun and protecting the floors / furniture

    We do need windows at some point – ours are original to the 1950s. But, it is hard to argue energy savings because it is so mild here. It isn’t loud either. Our furnace is nearly 20 years old, and we are debating replacing it with an efficient one and new duct work, but we also could just wait for it to break. Again, we’d probably only save $100 a year on heat by replacing! There is some rebates that would make it slightly cheaper than usual, but it seems like there is always some rebates.

    Also on the list… earthquake retrofitting and probably bathroom fans. Eventually the bathrooms could be totally upgraded, but I’m really not in a hurry / it may never happen.

    I like the idea of DIY, but I’m not sure I can actually implement any of my plans. I’m obsessed with building a bench right now – can’t be SO hard, right? My husband is a bit handy, so he was able to do a bunch of little stuff himself.

    How do you decide when the right time is to do this stuff?

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      We’re obviously the wrong people to ask that question as we put stuff off too long, most likely. (Though when one of the 20 year old water heaters broke, we got both of them replaced at the same time.)

      The UV film is pretty cheap– something <$40/window for our super long windows and you can do it yourself, but we decided to go the screen route instead, in theory (not that we've made any arrangements to actually do them yet). We bought and returned UV film unopened.

      • SP Says:

        Any reason screens over UV film?

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        I think the main reason is that our big windows get a TONNE of light and the screens do a better job of blocking that.

        DH says: the brief websearching I did all said that outside screens were way better at reducing the incoming radiation

        But UV film is cheap and can be done yourself and is better than nothing, and since it’s held up by static electricity (IIRC), it’s easy to remove.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        Now DH says: We should do further investigation.

        Which is what happens when one marries (or is) an engineer.

        DH: oh, and the energy audit guy was the one who recommended the solar screens specifically
        because they block the heat before it reaches the window

      • SP Says:

        Interesting. I shall do more research. They claim to block 99% of UV, but that comes from the manufacturer. I also don’t like the look of screens compared to plain glass. I just love all the open window views we have, and energy savings is a very minor concern (due to climate, not ’cause I hate the planet).

        We’ll probably eventually get curtains or blinds, but I still just can’t believe the prices. I didn’t know they were held on by static. Anyway, I’ll let you know if we end up doing it!

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        DH says our concern is heat, not just UV.

    • Rosa Says:

      I’m on team “wait for it to break”. Sock the money away (we have a quite old wooden house, so we should probably be putting away 5% of the value of the house every year – we actually do 3% and if our insurance hadn’t come through this year we would have had to borrow for necessary repairs).

      one reason to wait is that if you’re really there a long time, you’ll just be doing it again. If our endless kitchen remodel had been done in a year, I’d probably be looking at repainting instead of painting. (the functional parts are done. The esthetic parts – which are not at all esthetic, we currently have 50 year old linoleum and exposed drop-ceiling supports with wires & old ceiling decorative paper above them – keep getting bumped back in favor of functional issues in other parts of the house)

  15. Revanche Says:

    I was a renter for so long before this (and poor!) that I’m still in the mindset that it has to be structurally broken or heading into the area of being unhygienic to spend money on it. PiC is not so constrained, however, so we do things like upgrade some furniture that I would have used til it fell apart – literally! – or buy things I consider decorative, like rugs.

    And yet, we still haven’t replaced that bathroom fan that rattles alarmingly. It works, but I think that the annoyance of having it fixed is greater than listening to it roar.

  16. October Mortgage Update and Window Treatments | Grumpy Rumblings (of the formerly untenured) Says:

    […] someone and we’re still waiting for our bathroom flooring to show up. [update: they came, see last Monday's post]  Redoing the indoors doesn’t require talking to anybody or waiting for anything, so […]


Leave a Reply

