RBOC

  • The internet thinks I have one of three things:  1. LPR or silent reflux, 2. a twisted colon, or 3.  an appendix that is planning to burst in a few days.  Fortunately the symptoms are supposed to get a lot worse before my appendix actually bursts.  If we fail to post one of these days it’s probably because #2 is en route to her new home and it hurts for me to sit up.  (See, it’s not GERD because the symptoms go away completely when I lie down instead of getting worse.  My symptoms most match LPR.  LPR is difficult to diagnose and most of the treatments are ineffective, so…)
  • Mint tea seems pretty effective.  Tums not so much.  Baking soda somewhat.  Mylanta, surprisingly not so helpful.  I’m not sure what to make of that.
  • And…. after three days of awful heartburn only soothed by lying down or constantly drinking mint tea… I’m back to normal.  Maybe it’s some kind of virus to go along with the cold.  The body is a mysterious thing.
  • And four days after that, my normally 5+ week cycle (or non-existent cycle, depending) has shortened to 2 weeks.  Peri-menopause?  Thyroid?  Cysts?  Weird reaction to weird illness?  Night weaning?  Who knows.  I guess I’ll wait another 2 weeks to see what happens.  I much prefer non-existent to every 2 weeks.
  • We made the mistake of buying bed-wetting sheets at the grocery store (either for DC2 or for the kitten who pees, or maybe both, we don’t remember), so now every time we’re at the grocery store we get coupons for adult disposable underwear.  Boy have they got our demographic wrong.
  • One of my friends has been trying IVF but the first cycled failed.  It’s very sad.  :(
  • It’s a busy week!  Hopefully we will be more entertaining in the future!

26 Responses to “RBOC”

  1. Holly@ClubThrifty Says:

    I am so not ready for fall/winter and all of the random ailments that seem to come with those seasons. Sorry you’re not feeling well! I wouldn’t like a 2-week cycle either!

  2. gwinne Says:

    What’s LPR? Either way, you sound miserable. I’m sorry.

    Ditto. My cycles have been completed messed up since IVF/giving birth/weaning, sometimes of the every 19 day variety, sometimes the 8+ week variety, sometimes the 3 weeks of straight blood. Either way, methinks I’m not really ovulating. Perimenopause indeed.

  3. Liz Says:

    I tell this to everyone: random illnesses might actually just be allergies. I’ve dealt with them my entire life, and they bring fun symptoms like upset stomach and feels-like-reflux/heartburn, fatigue, headaches, my skin feels weird, my hair changes texture, of course my sinuses get inflamed. Local honey has worked wonders (not perfect, but stalls a lot of things), and drinking warm herbal teas. Good luck!

    But in spite of allergies I still like fall. October is my absolute favorite month. And my eating and sleeping patterns change seasonally. Right now, I eat little bits all day long, switch to higher-fat foods (instead of summer’s cantaloupe and berries for dinner, e.g., I’m eating full-fat milk and lots of bread carbs), and go from high-energy mornings with lazy evenings to lazy mornings with high-energy evenings.

  4. bogart Says:

    I had an atypical presentation of appendicitis, which turns out to be surprisingly common (see e.g. http://www.meddean.luc.edu/lumen/MedEd/Radio/Nuc_med/Appendicitis/clinical.htm). That *still* doesn’t sound like what you have (even atypical), but — just FYI.

    So sorry to hear about your friend’s failed cycle. Every one of those I endured left me feeling like I’d been run over by a truck. It did get better (the flattened truck feeling) but it took time. Please tell her the Internets are thinking of her, if appropriate.

  5. Tragic Sandwich Says:

    Go to the doctor. I’ve had appendicitis, and we just got back from a trip to visit my dad after surgery to remove part of his large intestine when that got twisted. He’s doing well, but he’s doing well because he went to the doctor. Just saying.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      I was ok after 3 days though… And I was ok if I laid down or drank mint tea.

      Also DH got similar symptoms a few days later (and #2 across the country was complaining of heart-burn yesterday), so I’m suspecting it really was some kind of a bug.

      • Debbie M Says:

        This is the sort of thing for which I love calling the nurseline. (Every sort of thing where I wonder if I should see a doctor.) If your insurance company has one of these, I highly recommend it.

      • Leigh Says:

        Yes I am with Debbie! I love my insurance’s nurse line and it’s 24 hours, which removes the business hours only inconvenience of normal doctors/nurses. I even used the nurse line while I was traveling, from a laptop using Google Voice. So helpful! I don’t like the convenient walk-in clinic and getting an appointment with my regular doctor isn’t always convenient, so this is super helpful at diagnosing symptoms and less judgmental than my mother!

      • Tragic Sandwich Says:

        That does sound more like a bug, which is icky, but vastly preferable.

      • Thisbe Says:

        My house -sitter just told me that she called in sick to work two days this week and “feels like she has parvo” (which is a nasty gastroenteritis that puppies get). I think that probably means norovirus so I am planning on bleaching strategic areas in my house as soon as I get home.

        I don’t know if we are geographically near, but I have noticed that there seem to be nationwide upticks in GI symptoms likely attributable to norovirus at social mixing times like “back to school ” or “holiday travel “. Makes sense because the infectious dose is something like three particles and affected people shed something like a billion every time they… um… output.

        Anyways I am not a doctor… maybe someday I will be an epidemiologist though.

  6. Leah Says:

    What does RBOC stand for?

  7. TheologyAndGeometry Says:

    Hope your GI stuff either gets figured out or resolves itself soon. Reflux has been my one and only complaint during both of my pregnancies, but man, it’s brutal. Nothing like waking up in the middle of the night choking on a mouthful of stomach acid. Sometimes I wish I could trade a week of reflux for a week of swollen feet or carpal tunnel just for a change of pace.

  8. Ana Says:

    I’ve had that same GI thing in the past, and it goes away, and then in retrospective I realize one or the other of the kids also wasn’t eating as much the week prior (i.e., likely a virus). The fact that mint tea helped makes it seem NOT like GERD, because mint is one of the things (like caffeine and EtOH) that relaxes the lower esophageal sphincter and typically worsens reflux.
    I’d say night weaning. Weaning did weird things to my periods.

  9. J Liedl Says:

    This cold has me flat, at least it would if that didn’t make it difficult to breathe so I’m mostly propped up in a corner going “Augh. Auuu. Gahh.” That is when I’m not lecturing or walking the dogs or driving back and forth between home and work to achieve all of those various and sundry ends.

    Augh. Auuu. Gahh!

  10. jlp Says:

    Hee, bed-wetting sheets. That seems like the sort of thing one ought to avoid altogether – it’s bad enough that the kids occasionally don’t make it through the night dry, but to have to deal with sheets that wet seems like altogether too much.

    (Sorry you haven’t been feeling well; hope it is just a transient bug.)

  11. Cloud Says:

    Because I use my blog earnings to buy diapers periodically for local charity, Amazon is convinced I still need baby stuff. Sometimes, the data do lie.

    I am glad you are feeling better. In college, I was once nauseated for something like 3 months straight. I went to the doctor and a friendly young trainee doctor told me that this happened after getting a cold sometimes. I didn’t really believe him at the time, but as I had no other explanation… I just waited and eventually, I got better. I lost 5 pounds, though.

  12. MutantSupermodel Says:

    Mysterious body issues are the worst. I have had a burst appendix thing. It SUCKED. I don’t recommend that.


Leave a Reply

