Shocking victory of recipe over perceived science

So I tried the one-pot pasta dish and it worked!  Although both I and CPP had our doubts, the pasta turned out al dente and not broken (I used the small penne from Trader Joe’s).  I had to resist (heroically) the urge to throw in more liquid while it was cooking, but to my surprise, it all came out tasty.  I was fairly precise about the amount of pasta I used (weighed out 12 oz with a scale) and that may have helped — as compared to my usual eyeballing everything.  The amount of liquid was exactly right; nothing was burnt nor was anything soggy.

I didn’t take pictures.  Next time I make it I’ll make a few different flavoring choices than the ones I used, but that’s a feature, not a bug.  All the liquid absorbed and made a light sauce that was neither runny nor heavy, and not too much of it, either.  I used chicken stock in place of plain water.  The fresh basil is om nom nom.  I think next time I’ll put in some wodges of fresh mozzarella.  The sun-dried tomatoes in olive oil were just right.

Saving water and still eating pasta == WINNING.

(I’m still surprised, but I also just polished off the leftovers, and there’s no arguing with that!)

 

Posted in Uncategorized. Tags: . 16 Comments »

16 Responses to “Shocking victory of recipe over perceived science”

  1. Holly@ClubThrifty Says:

    You didn’t take pictures? How did you pin it on Pinterest? You did it wrong. =)

  2. ana Says:

    Intriguing. If this gluten=free thing doesn’t work out for me I will definitely be trying that!

  3. MutantSupermodel Says:

    Always remember: Pics or gtfo :P

  4. Comradde PhysioProffe Says:

    You must have been drunke when you ate that swill, because there’s no way it was edible.


Leave a Reply

