Current book podcasts

There are podcasts about books?  Why yes, there are!  Here’s what I usually listen to these days, all through iTunes:

Book Fight – two white male friends in Philly who are writers, editors, and teachers of writing and literature discuss one book or short story per week, sometimes with a theme, and sometimes wandering off into fascinating, funny digressions.

Oh, Comics! – just starting, you can get in on the ground floor!  The podcast for the new site about comic books, Panels.  One host is a man heavily into comic books, and the other is woman just recently getting into them.

Book Riot – like the site, and the podcast!  Everything books- and reading-related.  Hosts work well together.

also just picked up Reading Lives, a new podcast in the Book Riot Empire (Book Riot, Oh, Comics!, Dear Book Nerd, etc.).

Bookrageous – a roundtable discussion about what everyone’s reading and why books are great, featuring a rotating cast of fun regulars.

Sword & Laser – The sword and the laser stand for fantasy and science fiction: books, TV, movies, pop culture, and more books.  They even have a cute mascot, Lem, a cyborg dragon (Lord Bookwyrm Lem of Swaser).

Books on the Nightstand (sometimes).  One of the co-hosts, Ann Kingman, reminds me a lot of my stepmother in both her voice and her vocal tone/inflection/mannerisms, so that makes the podcast a bit weird for me to really enjoy.  (N.B.: My stepmother is great tho.)

I tried a few episodes of Dear Book Nerd, but I quit listening because I felt like I always had the ONE RIGHT ANSWER to the question, and the host didn’t.  That’s a weird personal preference, though!  You might like it.

That’s all the book podcasts I even pretend to keep up with.  I have other ones that are about geekdom in general, writing, spec-fic writing, video games, etc.

Grumpeteers, anything I should add?

5 Responses to “Current book podcasts”

  1. MutantSupermodel Says:

    YES! I am so glad you wrote this! I am downloading iTunes because I have managed to live my whole life without it but I am finding it hard to keep up with my Podcasts. I mostly listen to Podcasts on my desktop so it’s a pain to go and check who’s up and whatnot.

    Totally unrelated to books but completely related to podcasts– have you heard Serial? OH MY GODDESS.

  2. MutantSupermodel Says:

    P.S. Which is your favorite?

  3. What’s on your iPod? | Grumpy Rumblings (of the formerly untenured) Says:

    […] about books and video games and other nerdy stuff and general stuff (some from maximumfun.org).  A photo of my […]

  4. Recent (YA-heavy) library picks | Grumpy Rumblings (of the formerly untenured) Says:

    […] How Our Daily Habit Helps, Hurts, and Hooks Us By Murray Carpenter (nonfiction):  the book podcasters loved this one.  It will definitely fill you up with “did you know?” facts that you […]


Leave a Reply

