If a link love meets a link love

The other one of us is traveling this week.  Can you tell the difference?

I feel like we should say, “This week in misogyny” or “This week in racism” but it gets so depressing.  Anyway:

Gamergate harasses and doxxes Felicia Day.

Fox news hosts tell young women not to vote, go back to tinder and match.com

Ferguson October goes all month long.

grah:  Even NPR fell prey to these false narratives.

How much does a professional cheerleader make?

Career advice from actors to academics.

Work vs. school:  what is the difference?

Advice to study from Ian McKellen

401K contribution limits are going up in 2015.

Bad advice for rich people tired of giving candy to the moocher class.

Awesome people reading is awesome.  Also:  Lena Dunham has the only tattoo I have ever thought cool enough to be permanent.  How awesome is that?

6 Responses to “If a link love meets a link love”

  1. Rented life Says:

    In our old neighborhood–working poor/lower middle class, there was beggars night. They’d trick or treat the night before and then many went to a nicer area or another Halloween activity on actual Halloween.

  2. Liz Says:

    My parents live on the middle/lower-middle class end of a street that gets wealthier as you walk down to the river (in four blocks total, house prices rise from their puny $150-200K home to multi-million mansions). They have also had trick-or-treaters come from different neighborhoods. My mom hates it. But I think she hates it mostly because the kids aren’t dressed up, and the parents *expect* to get candy too – again without even a costume or any sort of holiday cheer. I don’t know what to think about this. I don’t get any trick-or-treaters to my house (in a safe, well-lit neighborhood). Which is sadder?

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      I also hate those parents. Don’t mind the kids, but the parents do bug the crap out of me.

    • Rented life Says:

      Parents expect candy? What? That is sad. (Though I’d totally dress up!) then again, I hated parents who brought their babies–so small they can even sit up–and expected candy. Nope. Too young to be trick or treating. We all know the candy is for you.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        And such parents would get upset when I’d get special baby-safe non-candy.

        Actually, last year what would happen would be the adults would come to the door without any kids and claim they were trick or treating for the baby who was back in the car/truck. Then I’d be, oh, this is for a baby? And get out the special bucket of organic fruit leather-like stuff. I’m surprised nobody told me off, but people were upset.

  3. becca Says:

    I’d totally start trick or treating- with a costume and a kid in tow, and very politely, but expecting treats for my quite grown-up self- if everyone gave out organic fruit leather stuff. It’s delicious.

    Also, I fully intend to buy most of my kid’s candy this year. He still has left over stuff from last year, because he gets so much more than we’ll let him eat.


Leave a Reply

