Link love

Theology and Geometry had her baby!

how many of these have happened to you?  Definitely more than one here!  Insecure men outraged that smarter man recognizes sexism and apologizes to women.  Someone was stupid on the internet.

My mom says this article makes more sense than any other ACA article to date

Fascinating article on Whole Foods in Detroit.

What do you do if your grandma is a murderer?

Cultural appropriatation in the birthing community.  (Though I will maintain that the zipper pocket makes my super-expensive ring sling worth the extra money!)  Our Babies, Ourselves has a section on baby-wearing around the world and throughout time, and is a great read.

On having said racist things.

Only after a man called Bill Cosby a rapist did anybody listen.

Oh Slate, why ya gotta be so addicting sometimes?  Honest trailer for The Little Mermaid.  It’s not your kids holding you back, it’s your husband.

So the huffington post directed me (via a clickbait headline) to a mommy-blog and I was all, I wonder what the GOMI people have to say about this blog given that huffpo linked me to it, it must say something.  And my first hit was this forum page that has some really good points on it that make me feel less crazy, you know?

The seriously troubling racial history of that Kim Kardashian Champagne Shot.  And that photographer is a serious racist.  Disgusting.

This pretty much sums it up.

Not surprising, but still.

baby groot!

Live kitten cam!

Apparently Barbie can’t do it.

Cool alternative to advent chocolate.

How to explain papers in a non-academic interview.

How could anybody say no to this?

Why stock picking is a losing game.

 

 

22 Responses to “Link love”

  1. Awfully Chipper Says:

    Hi, and thanks for the link!

  2. Comradde PhysioProffe Says:

    The article about Whole Foods in Detroit was very interesting, and saddening. As long as high-caloric density poison food–fast food, processed snack food, etc–is much cheaper than healthy food, poor people will have no realistic choice but to buy the former. And one of the major reasons that prices are structured that way is massive agricultural subsidies that totally distort the market for food.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Yeah it’s a fascinating (and somewhat discouraging) read. The problem is poverty, not food….

    • mareserinitatis Says:

      Is it really all subsidies? I think some of it is that it’s just easier to mass produce grain (which is the major component of most junk foods) and therefore they are inherently cheaper.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        A lot of it is subsidies, yes.

        In the general equilibrium too, subsidies (partly) determine where technological development will flow.

      • mareserinitatis Says:

        I’d be curious if you have any references to grain subsidies. Most of the subsidies I’m aware of tend to go to milk and meat (which I personally don’t consider junk food). The only grain subsidies I’m aware of are for corn production of ethanol and have had the effect of driving up the prices on corn-based food products. Anyway, I’m curious because I’ve been dabbling a bit in ag-related areas.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        There is an enormous literature. I’m sure you can find it easily. It is covered in many textbooks. Try Wikipedia for references.

  3. Comradde PhysioProffe Says:

    The grandma poisoner piece freaked me the f*cke out!!

  4. Comradde PhysioProffe Says:

    What’s the little kid in the brown costume inside the white donut supposed to be???? I guess the kid’s costume looks like a tree or something?? But what’s the white donut??

  5. Comradde PhysioProffe Says:

    Speaking of the abject futility of stock picking, can we agree that Jim Kramer is among the most grotesquely horrible people in the world????

  6. The frugal ecologist Says:

    That grandma article was fascinating/horrifying!!!

  7. Sausage Links Sans Sausage | xykademiqz Says:

    […] it would boost my h-index or something. But I know who doesn’t suck at providing cool links: Nicoleandmaggie and Cloud of Wandering […]

  8. Rented life Says:

    I really wish huff po would stop linking to that blog. I feel like it’s always the miserable posts too. (I don’t know if there are non-miserable ones as I don’t look.) It’s not funny and I’m so tired of hearing how I should lighten up when people writing “funny” posts bitching about life with kids.

    I read the baby wearing article somewhere else. It was fascinating to read comments on mine from white women who were furious about being told that they were participating in cultural appropriation. Lots of “I’m so tired of being told that everything I do is wrong. She needs to stop complaining.”

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Its not like anyone is saying to stop babywearing, just to stop pretending upper middle class 21st century white women invented it.

      re misery: I don’t like it when those kinds of bloggers claim that everybody who isn’t miserable is being dishonest and unreal. I don’t know if I should just feel sorry for them because they don’t know better or if I should be angry for them having negative spillovers on other people.. especially when that is how they make money.

      • Rented life Says:

        Oh I totally get that that’s what is being said which was why it was killing me that all these white women on FB were getting upset with the author. They didn’t see the problem and didn’t think it was necessary. Sigh.

        I lean more toward angry with the bloggers. Sure there are moments where I feel like I am burnt out but not everything little thing is that bad or that hard and I’m pretty sure they had their kids by choice.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        We try to make conscious choices on this blog about how and why (and WHETHER) we complain. Our “About us” link in the header represents some of these ideas.

  9. TheologyAndGeometry Says:

    Thanks for the link. The poisoning grandma article was pretty crazy!

  10. becca Says:

    I really liked the Whole Foods article… I don’t think it’s very discouraging, but I threw out the food desert idea when the data said that was called for. If the Whole Foods makes hungry hospital workers happy with prepared meals, brings better paying jobs to the area, and gives surburbanites an excuse to visit the neighborhood once in a while, those are all real benefits, irrespective of who eats what.

    I also found the numbers on SNAP sales very interesting, but particularly hard to interpret. Presumably, non-SNAP households in Detroit that shop at whole foods spend more than SNAP households in Detroit that shop at whole foods in terms of total grocery budgets- so you wouldn’t expect “38% of potential customers use SNAP” to translate to “38% of sales are SNAP purchases” in any event. Plus, let’s be honest, if you can get to multiple stores and you use SNAP, you probably only get the genuine specialty items at WF. If the customers value those particular items, there’s a real impact in reaching the SNAP using community there, even if it’s not going to be a huge % of the store’s sales.
    The story-behind-the-story about how much of the groundwork for this was being done in the black churches is neat.

    Re: cultural appropriation- obviously the fact that your sling has a zipper pocket and is super expensive makes it *authentically of your own modern white-woman consumerist culture*. Just be sure you charge $35/hour for advising other relatively affluent white women which type of sling to get, and tell people who are not relatively affluent white women to learn their own culture’s type of babywearing, so as you do not appropriate something inappropriately.
    Sorry. I am probably a racist somehow on this one. Something about that article just rubbed me the wrong way… though I did learn about how very many different cultures babywear, which is kind of awesome.


Leave a Reply

