Link love

This is cool.  We have a surgeon friend who often complains that surgery tools are all built for men’s hands.  There’s definitely an incentive for more women-sized medical stuff!

this is a great post on energy and academic work-life balance

Many thanks to the reader who sent us this verra speshul link

In which we violate the Geneva conventions

What are your thoughts on this cover letter?  Down with terrible cover letters!

A macabre twist

US Capitol staffers

Diane Feinstein on the CIA director’s defense of torture

An insurance dance.

The annual Hater’s Guide to the Williams Sonoma Catalog!  You won’t want to miss this!

beautiful!

Miser Mom takes down a chair.

Teaching Laura Ingalls Wilder

How not to shoot civilians

Soooo glad I quit teaching

Why women leave tech?  The answer may not surprise you.  Microsoft CEO tells women not to ask for raises.  Male tech leaders vs. feminism.

The entire novel

Best new show 2014

I think I’m going to try this out sometime.  Maybe February.  And maybe only one circuit worth.

Right wing lessons learned

This week in mansplaining:

10690081_690732061042202_1780612777619272160_n

ugh

 

18 Responses to “Link love”

  1. xykademiqz Says:

    Thanks for the shout-out! I almost took that post down as it was too… revealing, I suppose.

    The econlolcats are phenomenal!

    Btw, DH and I saw John Oliver live recently. He was awesome! Highly recommended.

  2. SP Says:

    I think the AMA example cover letter is great, but I could personally never strike that tone. I hate cover letters.

    All the articles about women in tech are so depressing. And that guys tweet – seriously?! Also this (which maybe you linked t? Someone did.) https://hbr.org/2014/12/rethink-what-you-know-about-high-achieving-women I just don’t know what to do with all of this information, other than want to cry. The tech article you linked rang very true: “They’re aware the industry’s mostly male, but that’s true of technical majors at universities, too, so most enter the workplace confident they know what they’re facing and can push through any sexism they encounter.”

  3. omdg Says:

    Yeah the HBS article depresses me, and rings true with my experience. The worst part is that I think that if you try to correct the assumption that you’re not going to opt out, people a) don’t believe you, b) think you’re a bad mom, and c) still distribute meaningful work in your direction infrequently. Oh and d) tell you, “Ok, but I don’t want you to regret this decision.”

    W. T. F.

    As I said, I need to stay off the internet. Except for your blog, of course. :-)

  4. Comradde PhysioProffe Says:

    I guess if you’re applying for some kind of rahrah marketing businessdouche people-person jobbe, then your ability to spin upbeat positive bullshittio in a cover letter could be relevant. When I review jobbe applications, I only scan the cover letter for spelling and grammar, and rely solely on the CV/resume for assessing substantive experience and accomplishments.

    • Revanche Says:

      Are cover letters required to complete your job applications?

      There are plenty of reasons I require them and I absolutely use them but I don’t get why companies require them in roles or fields where they don’t serve a purpose. If it was not a very useful tool, I’d certainly discard it from my application requirements! (Also candidates spinning bullshit is one of my major pet peeves. It’s a tool that communicates relevant stuff that your resume can’t and when used properly can be any length and be effective.)

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        In my field of academia they serve exactly two purposes: to indicate which job the candidate is applying to, and to signal that there might be a reason a candidate wants to live or work someplace that isn’t NYC or Palo Alto. But cvs are more complete than resumes and job duties are more standardized for faculty. It isn’t a reasonable comparison at all.

  5. Comradde PhysioProffe Says:

    7 Minute Workout

    You will sweat like a motherf*cker!

  6. delagar Says:

    Thanks for the link!

    I agree with Comradde on the cover letter, btw. When I’m on a search committee, I barely look at cover letters. It’s the CV and then, if I’m impressed, I google them to see how well their actual life matches the CV.

    Then — sometimes — I’ll look at the CV to determine if they’re literate and if what they say shows they’ve paid attention to what we’re looking for.

  7. delagar Says:

    Did you see this one, BTW? http://femsplain.com/they-call-me-boobs/

    (Warning: depressing as Shitte.)

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      UGH.

      But there are so many places an intelligent skilled woman can take her abilities without having to put up with that excrement.

      High powered law apparently not being one of those places. This is probably a big part of the reason that we knew so many SAHM former corporate lawyers the year we lived in a city.

  8. becca Says:

    I’m a fan of the 7 minute workout, but needed more commitment devices than I had to keep it up… maybe find a buddy to keep track of it with?

    I generally use cover letters to try to signal why I actually want the job in terms of location, so I’m glad that’s not a totally off base use for them.

  9. Revanche Says:

    Thanks for the link :)

    If cover letters in academia are just meant to address location desires, then it totally makes sense to me that you’d just address that straightforwardly and leave it be. There’s no need for creativity there. Being grumpy, I don’t think there’s a need for creativity in mine either, honestly, I just want the facts!


Leave a Reply

