link love

Another great post about the poor vocal majority being afraid of getting their feefees hurt (thus silencing the already persecuted minority).  And another one.

Also, in today’s edition of eff the police.  WTH is wrong with police systems that police are allowed to torture?  The police system in this country needs some serious leadership.  We can support the police AND support systems that keep police officers from torturing civilians at the same time.  With great power should come great responsibility.  Also, earlier this week’s F the police.  I thought police officers had to fill out paperwork and go through training and crap every time they pulled out a gun, but apparently I believe what I see on detective shows too much.

What Silicon Valley thinks of women.

This article seriously upset my DH and we’re never ever giving money to them again.  Here‘s some more articles.  Then he read about Gamergate and feels terrible and helpless.  :/

Amoral football hypocrites.

online wedding dress shopping risks

Unvaccinated kids are a serious threat to kids with weakened immune systems.  Why not to vaccinate.  Updated Jenny McCarthy body count.

For want of a nail.

“Sometimes I think I should have been a Ravenclaw, you know? I think I’d look pretty f*cking darling in blue.””

An excellent example of the journal Science not understanding reverse causation (or, more likely, OVB with the OV being $$$$$$$$$$)

if you like mary balogh

Clergy mugshots for target practice

How to fall asleep

The SF bay area is so inventive!

19 Responses to “link love”

  1. independentclause Says:

    I completely fell down the well of Jonathan Chait and Ta-Nehisi Coates. I’ve been talking elsewhere with people I know about PCness and free speech.

    What struck me the most was this quote from Chait: “Under p.c. culture, the same idea can be expressed identically by two people but received differently depending on the race and sex of the individuals doing the expressing,” which seems to me so very obvious. He writes that as if it is an injustice, but he completely disregards the fact that two people can wield very different amounts of social and political power, which entirely changes what the ideas mean. It’s like white people whining that they can’t use the N word. (As a white woman raised in the south, I do not whine that I can’t use the N word. And I use stupid abbreviations to talk about it. But I can’t think of a better way.)

    Anyway, thanks for letting me rant here, I think I feel a blog post coming on.

  2. Leah Says:

    Do you have any friends that don’t vaccinate? I struggle with a good friend who does not vaccinate. She lives across the country from us, so we usually just agree to not talk about it. But, this summer, we’ll be close. I’m pretty sure we won’t be seeing her, as it will be too soon for our little to get the MMR.

    The worst is that she horribly feels like I’m judging her, and I suppose I am. Perhaps she has a medical reason, but she hasn’t shared that with me. I’d like to keep her friendship, but I also think vaccination is a far different matter than say, her choice not to belt in her kids (yes . . . ). At least with the latter, I just know I will never allow my kids to ride in a car with her.

    Bummed about wikipedia. I always donate there as a present for my brother (at his request). Suppose I need to favor his other charities more. Here’s to hoping Operation Smile or the red panda rescue don’t have some sort of skeletons in their closets.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Not anymore! (With the possible exception of people whose children are allergic to egg-whites, and obviously we’d still be friends with people whose children are immunocompromized if we knew any.)

      And to be honest, the people who didn’t vaccinate for “personal” reasons were also either stupid or crazy (or both). So they were unlikable even without the not vaccinating.

      Given the current state of diseases coming back, anybody who is not vaccinating because they believe in the thoroughly discredited autism link, or believe there’s still thermisol in MMR, or they just don’t trust doctors… I’m far less generous about that because CHILDREN ARE DYING. Children are dying from completely preventable diseases because some parents are stupid and selfish. If not murderers, they are certainly accessories. I didn’t used to care so much, but once herd immunity is gone, they are putting their children in danger and *everyone else’s children* too.

      So unless your friend has a good reason, then you should not feel the least bit guilty about taking her off your friends list. If she has a good reason, then you should not feel the least bit guilty about staying away from her until your little one is protected.

      And I’ll note that people who we have known who can’t get their children vaccinated because of previous reactions really want everybody else to get their own kids vaccinated so their kids benefit from herd immunity. Not so with the crazy anti-vaccine cult. They try to keep anybody from getting their own kids vaccinated.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        Wait… she doesn’t buckle in her kids? That puts her in full crazy territory. Perhaps subconsciously she wants them to die? That’s getting into calling child protective services territory.

      • Leah Says:

        She cares very much for her kids, and I actually find her kids delightful. We see her every other year or so. But she’s also very much a “don’t tell me how to raise my kids” type of libertarian. I think the car seat thing is because she’s a “free-range kid” type of person. She says she uses carseats, but I’ve also seen her just pile all the kids straight into the back of the suburban.

        She has had CPS called on her before. They moved states (just across the border) — not entirely because of CPS, but that was listed as a benefit.

        She’s got many wonderful qualities. We’ve been friends for ages. I really value her thoughtfulness, generosity, and spirit. I try to live and let live — so many things are personal decisions we can all make for ourselves. I don’t want everyone to be homogeneous. But, as you said, the fact that *my* kid (or other kids) can die due to someone else’s decision is so hard to swallow. What I struggle with is her indignation at other people wanting her to vaccinate her kids.

        I’ll say this much — we changed our spring break plans (LA, AL, and MO instead of CA) partially because of measles. Our 7 month old can’t yet be vaccinated. We do all her vaccines on schedule, but there’s only so much we can do. We may change summer plans depending on how outbreaks go. And if an outbreak comes to the Twin Cities, we’ll definitely not be going up there. Not worth the risk of complication.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        Someone who was really thoughtful would not fail to vaccinate her children.

        When someone’s personal choices negatively affect other people, they are no longer personal decisions that can just be let go. She may be nice to her friends, but she is not being nice to everybody else, including her kids. (And it’s not just her– if married, her husband also shares joint responsibility.)

        I used to be more live and let live, but there are 100+ measles cases in the latest outbreak. Her kids could die. She needs to get over herself– the indignation she’s feeling is nothing compared to even one death or disability that could have been easily prevented.

        Not buckling up her kids on a regular basis indicates to me that she has, at the very least, a subconscious desire to see them die. People can show one face in public while still taking unnecessary risks so they can have plausible deniability. Or maybe she’s just a risk taker who doesn’t believe that car crashes actually kill people, despite massive evidence to the contrary. (Note that this is different than letting kids play at a public park without supervision– the chances of something bad happening are much lower than the chances of getting into a car wreck. And it is not difficult to get everyone to buckle up.) Similarly, I would have one more uncle if bike helmets had existed back in the 1960s. Most of these safety interventions that save lives are so ridiculously easy these days that there’s no reason not to do them. Unless you’re crazy. (Disclaimer for people who are too poor to afford carseats or bike helmets– libertarians would deny them government provided safety interventions.)

      • Debbie M Says:

        Devil’s advocate here: We all do dangerous and rude things, even when we are doing the best we can. This lady could perhaps argue that repressing her kids could make them more likely to do society harm later. Or it could make them less likely to make their own decisions and stick by them even when they go against the crowd, which is something we admire in people like Martin Luther King.

        Raising kids is so hard or at least super complicated–you can never tell what the best way would have been for your given kids in your given part of the country and place in history until it’s too late (if then).

        So I’m a big fan of explaining your opinions. Once. Then taking the actions you need to take to protect your kids. But also staying friends (at least long-distance friends), because she sounds like a good friend.

        Disclosure: I got a bunch of the diseases right before the vaccines came out. Now I love vaccines and think they are the best thing ever. Prevention instead of cure! So cheap! Very minimal side effects for almost everyone! The one possible exception is flu vaccines because the flu viruses evolve so fast. Even so, every year I try to find out if they have enough flu vaccine for everyone who wants one; if so, I get one (I’m strong enough to handle flu, probably, but I’d like to not spread it). If not, I save them for those who need them more.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        There’s a lot of things that people do that won’t actually harm their children and may have benefits. Not putting them in seat-belts is not one of them. There is ZERO benefit in kids not buckling up. There are no arguments that make not buckling up the good choice. Adults need to buckle up too, not just kids. There is no cost-benefit analysis that makes not buckling your kids in make sense on a regular basis.

        Re: vaccines: not only is your choice hurting your kids for no benefit, but you are also potentially hurting other kids.

        This isn’t a bf vs. formula kind of argument or a free-range vs. helicopter kind of argument. Not everything parents do is ok, even if there’s a very wide range of perfectly fine parenting. (ex. Abusing one’s children.)

        Right now I would never have a friend who chose not to vaccinate their kids unless there was a genuinely good reason (such as allergic reaction or compromised immune system). People who do that and proselytize to others are really horrible people because they’re either crazy (which is what Leah’s friend sounds like) or stupid. And it is a good thing for them to be shunned. She may be a good friend to her friends, but she is a bad person to her kids and to society.

        I used to have crazy friends, but I don’t anymore. Leah can have whatever friends she wants (it’s not like Leah is endangering children), but I wouldn’t want to keep that person as a friend. And I haven’t. That’s what she was asking. We no longer have anti-vaxxers even as acquaintances. But no, Leah is a grown person and can make her own decisions about who she wants to spend time with. (Unlike children…)

      • Debbie M Says:

        Points taken. Thanks.

        I haven’t had to think about these issues in my personal life because I have very few friends with kids. I know my sister is pro-immunization and proselytizing, too.

  3. delagar Says:

    Here’s a different take on the Wikipedia arbitration — I really think it’s been misrepresented. https://eudaimonaiaclaughter.wordpress.com/2015/01/25/247/

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      I dunno, the bottom line seems like a false equivalence sort of thing. “We got rid of some feminists, but we got rid of some gamer-gaters too, so really it’s all even.” Well, no… the feminists aren’t the ones making death threats.

      And the whole, “this isn’t a problem because the Israel/Palestine fights are so much worse”… that’s another one of those logical flaws.

      The original blogpost did say that the decision had not yet been finalized when we read it. And yes, we eagerly await to hear the true bottom-line. However, “we compromised by getting rid of both feminists and misogynists”… isn’t really a good compromise.


Leave a Reply

