link love

Brilliant

This week in police brutality

Turns out that pretending to harass someone is strangely identical to actually harassing someone.

Reading non-white authors for 12 months.

Another really interesting article about measles

Find out how much your medical bills should be

Science finally answers whether or not you should avoid peanut products with infants and toddlers (answer: NO).

Sick leave and being a liberal

A fantastic article well worth reading by a student at Michigan.  (And remember this the week after next when we post our own article that sounds like the article she’s commenting on.)

Are corporations really putting feathers in your food?  (The answer may not surprise you)

combating perfectionism in kids

The downside to long term travel

Happy public sleeping day!

Fecal wizard.

this appeals to me, probably because that’s what golden ratios are supposed to do

adorbs, if you like crows (or maybe if you don’t)

cats n cats

Have you ever wondered why butter sticks are differently shaped in the West?

to fall out of love

a guy complained no one wished him happy birthday on twitter

More one pot pasta recipes.

Leonard Nemoy writes to a biracial kid.

14 Responses to “link love”

  1. independentclause Says:

    Reading nonwhite authors for a year was a really interesting article, thanks! But I think I consume more than 25 books a year.

    My schlock book habit would survive the experiment (and probably thrive), but it makes me realize how very white my memoir and science book habit is.

  2. Comradde PhysioProffe Says:

    “some lady on the Internet” sure PWND that idiot’s asse!

  3. Comradde PhysioProffe Says:

    I have to admit, I kind of feel bad for the “middle class” 1%er from Palo Alto. Maybe she’ll learn something from her blunder? But don’t they have editors at the Michigan Daily (is that a college paper, or a regular newspaper?) to look at shitte like that before they publish it and be all like, “Nononononononono! NOPE!”?

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      I don’t feel bad for her– it’s a learning experience and a good one. I’m sure she’s grown quite a bit! Learning uncomfortable truths is far less unpleasant than living them.

      And, ironically, we have a very similar post (to the bad one) coming up in a couple of weeks, though at least we had the decency to end saying that we’re sure there’s some other way we compete but it doesn’t involve buying stuff (also we don’t talk about how we’re not *really* wealthy, quite the opposite).

      p.s. She’s not a 1%er, her family is somewhere between 5 and 10% [7% to be exact], which, as the article we link to points out, means you can have any opportunity but not every opportunity.

      p.p.s. It’s pretty obviously why people in the SF Bay area don’t accumulate stuff. There’s no place to put it. Travel also makes sense because their relatively high incomes and high local prices compared to the rest of people makes travel relatively less inexpensive. Not a big cultural mystery at all.

    • Miriam Says:

      I didn’t think her article was that bad. It felt more like a neutral “these are things I’m noticing” than anything else. Maybe it’s because I live in her area, so I’m not thrown by the numbers.Given her family’s income and the price tag of their house, most of her family’s disposable income is probably going into their mortgage. I think she’s right to say that she is upper middle class rather than wealthy. In Palo Alto, her family’s choice was likely between sucking up a Palo Alto mortgage and dealing with a commute. My family made the opposite choice (which I mostly think was correct because our mortgage still makes me cry when I think about what we get for it) but the commute sucks and constrains us in other ways.

  4. Comradde PhysioProffe Says:

    Barker’s Birthday Wishes is the greatest thing ever!!!!!!! His friend is super talented!!!!

  5. Comradde PhysioProffe Says:

    OK, I was gonna take a look at the new one-pot pasta abomination recipe, but you found a page with FIFTEEN OF TEH F*CKEN THINGS!!!?!?!?!?!? lololololololol

  6. crazygradmama Says:

    I was curious about the medical bill calculator, so I looked up the estimated cost of childbirth in my area. It was a little higher than my experience, but not by much. I would’ve really appreciated a tool or database like that when trying to save for birth-related hospital bills; I knew I had a coinsurance of 20% but 20% of what?

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      The high rate of uninsurance in my state means it’s actually pretty easy to find out expected medical costs by asking the hospital (and for giving birth, they provide packages!). Though the doctor costs are something separate… so it’s still pretty confusing.


Leave a Reply

