RBOC. Ra-bock-a-bok.

  • Economists sit around and complain that they’re not getting paid 160K/year.  Except, of course, the ones who are getting paid far more than that.  *sigh*  On the one hand, I am well aware that my salary is pretty darn high for a college professor… on the other hand, it is nowhere near the 160K that my newly hired tenured colleagues are making.  Going on the market could be worth quite a bit of money.  I really should have done that instead of having a baby.  Except I really like the baby!
    • #2 is unimpressed by economists and says phooey on them.  People in my field might top out at $160k per year by the time they retire after 30 years.  MIGHT.
    • But, #1 notes, should we let the men economists make way more than the women?  Just because other social scientists are paid less…
    • No, men and women should obviously make the same amount.  Except me, I should make more.  :)
  • Dear lifestyle blogger, why would I take advice on how to be happy from someone who is so obviously miserable?  Also:  I’m not sure you’re qualified to be a personal finance blogger if you’re terrible with your finances.  Spending lots of money on things that you hope will make you happy but that never actually do is not really a lifestyle I want to emulate.
  • I wish it were legal for me to viciously harass (and also call the cops on) people whose cigarette smoke enters my apartment windows when I have them open at night.  Go kill yourself [slowly via cigarette smoke] somewhere where I don’t have to share it!  Effing jerks, if you can afford to live in these particular buildings then you can afford the help to quit; you just don’t want to.  Asshats.
  • At least we don’t have loud dogs, though.
  • Every time someone types :), an open parenthesis finally finds a mate.
  • Dear listserv members, having a moderated list means that your ideas are going to get moderated, too.  If you send me more email asking why your shit is moderated it just annoys me.  I’m not on a personal crusade against you when you get an auto-reply that says “your listserv message has been sent to moderation”.  Go away.  Love and lack of awareness, Me.

19 Responses to “RBOC. Ra-bock-a-bok.”

  1. Leigh Says:

    On the smoke thing, is your apartment building smoke free? My condo building, the units aren’t done free, but you can’t smoke on the balconies and it’s against the rules for your smoke to get into anyone else’s unit.

  2. Foscavista Says:

    :)

    I am doing my civic duty to make sure all open parentheses find a mate.

    Yet, should we also be doing more :( for the other open parentheses?

  3. becca Says:

    Love this line “men and women should obviously make the same amount. Except me, I should make more. :)”

    You may not viciously harass the neighbors, as it won’t work anyway. But you have my permission to lie about having A) a new baby B) asthma or C) parents who died of lung cancer too young and died in massive pain on morphine while unable to wipe their own bottoms, and thus find the smoke concerning. Go guilt the heck out of their stinky pants. Also, suggest vaping or nicotine replacement.

  4. CG Says:

    We have the smoke problem in our single family detached house (in a dense neighborhood). I can smell it in the summer in my oldest son’s bedroom. I need to say something to the woman but have been too chicken so far.

  5. chacha1 Says:

    We have an asshole neighbor in our smoke-free building; he lights up as he’s leaving the elevator to go outside, furnishing a residue of carcinogenic crap in our shared hallway air. I get that it’s hard to stop and I get that people might resent management telling them they can’t smoke inside. But don’t be a jerk about it, jerk. Go outside, THEN light up.

  6. crazygradmama Says:

    Ugh, we had a porch-smoker next to our former apartment. Besides coming in the windows, the smoke seemed to collect in our front entryway even after the neighbor had gone back inside. But that whole complex seemed to be filled with inconsiderate jerks, which is why we got out of there.

  7. First Gen American Says:

    When I was still apartment living a Chainsmoking guy moved in under me. In my poorly built apartment house the smoke found its way up my bedroom closet wall. My friends were convinced that I started smoking and denying it because my clothes smelled so bad. I ended up moving out as I couldn’t stand it more than a few months.

    It’s nice that hardly anyone smokes anymore.

  8. Holly@ClubThrifty Says:

    I’m not sure you’re qualified to be a personal finance blogger if you’re terrible with your finances.

    YES!

  9. Well Heeled Blog Says:

    One thing I love about where I live is that so few people smoke in public – it’s quite a dramatic difference when compared with the East Coast and Europe.

  10. waterpistols... Says:

    I ended up with the room above the porch in my student accommodation block. I found a small water pistol encouraged the smokers to step away to a reasonable distance….. just sayin’.


Leave a Reply

