RBOC

  • Did you know that some tape dispensers are filled with lots of really tiny grain sand?  (#2 has one like that.)  Guess who found out the hard way…
  • DC2 has started the dreaded “why” phase.
  • The true reason that people should not retire completely:  They start getting into stupid political debates on online forums and then they email their daughters demanding well-researched rebuttals that they can then use to make their points.  (This is also a good reason to refuse to take money from one’s parents after one has left the nest.)
  • The Prozac wore off.  :(  The kitten was fine and then one evening she spectacularly peed on most of the beds and (conveniently) the extra bedding for the bed she didn’t pee on.  It was great while it lasted.  We’re back to prozac… I hope it kicks in soon.  If not, she’s back to being locked up in the master bathroom.  Update:  The Prozac works.
  • I am always glad that I am not a minimalist when say, the cat pees on my winter coat and I still have my old winter coat to wear.  It may be shabby and have difficult t0 fix tears (because some of the fabric has shredded), but it is dry and doesn’t smell like cat pee.
  • The worst kind of service is the kind that you’re asked to do, then you do it and do it well and it takes time but you do a good and thorough job that you’re proud of and before the deadline, and then they completely ignore that you did any of it.  Or decide they didn’t actually want it.  Or they’ll just keep doing what they were always doing even though it’s bad and wrong and they asked you to figure out the right thing.
  • Note to self:  Stop bothering trying to comment on Modern Mrs. Darcy.  You are on her “bad” list and will always be in moderation for a full day no matter how innocuous your comment.  It isn’t worth it.
  • DC1 recently noted that the proportion of boys to girls on My Little Pony is about the same as the proportion of girls to boys in EVERYTHING ELSE (or specifically in The Lego Movie– I pointed out the everything else aspect).  But it took My Little Pony for hir to notice any gender disparity.  We’re just used to there only being one or two token girls in a world of boys.
  • I had forgotten that when we first met Vimes he was drunk.

19 Responses to “RBOC”

  1. Steph Says:

    Ugh that service thing. I put in probably two weeks of work for my dept last month, in a role just shy of being official enough that I can put it on my cv (but I thought it was important enough to do anyway), and then they totally ignored the result. It’s not a fun feeling – I’m sorry you had to deal with something similar too!

  2. Linda Says:

    Not being an academic, I have no context for what “service” is, but your experience with it sounds a lot like many of the projects I work on for my job. Having been here a long time, though, I now see that it’s due to the change thing taking a while for established organizations. Eventually, the work gets used and recognized. It just feels old being the one thinking (but rarely saying) “I told you so” years later.

    It takes a very special person to put up with a cat that pees on important stuff like coats and beds regularly. I’m not that person. Bless you.

  3. Debbie M Says:

    I assume the sand is to help keep the tape dispenser upright while you’re trying to use it with only one hand. I’m not sure how I knew about it–surely I’ve cleaned up that mess myself somewhere. I recall the grains being perfectly round, for easy rolling!

    My boyfriend had a whole job where most of what he did was ignored or changed back. It probably had something to do with working in a Japanese-owned company and not knowing how to help his bosses and colleagues save face while submitting SO MANY corrections. In tech writing, the following excuses are also too handy: we already sent it to the printer; we already sent it to the translators. Ugh! Do things in the right order!

    Since I don’t have any daughters, it might be okay that I’ve retired completely. Whew! I also rarely get into political debates. When a friend is being super biased (even toward my side), I try to point out how the other side might not be idiots. Once. (But then, I haven’t even been retired for two whole months yet, so that could change. Surely not, though; doesn’t sound fun.)

  4. Cloud Says:

    I keep starting and then erasing comments, so I think my brain is not up to saying anything even borderline profound tonight. So I’ll just say that I’m sorry about the cat. And the service. I learned about the tape dispensers in pretty much the same way as I suspect you just did.

  5. OMDG Says:

    Who is this Mrs Darcy person?

    While watching Winnie the Pooh the other day (which I find to be a really lovely movie), I noticed that the only female character in the entire thing is Kanga, Roo’s mommy. The fact that it took me over a year to notice I personally find very depressing. It makes me wonder how the creators of that book/movie viewed the world. Women must have been truly invisible back then (in the 70s!). Ugh.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      I think the only women in the lego ninjago series (other than the one ninja woman) are there for the sole purpose of being rescued with their children. There are no women unless they are endangered (and very few men are endangered innocent bystanders, even at say, an amusement park).

  6. Marcy Says:

    Oh, that makes me sad about Modern Mrs. Darcy. And… of all the things to comment on, I comment on that? I don’t know, I guess because I follow her too, and like her, somehow that one feels more personal? And unexpected, unlike things like gender disparity, right now. Mmm.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      It’s ok. She said her assistant did it initially, but I think really people are just happier if I don’t comment (which may be why I’m still on the “bad” list). Especially when I disagree about things like moms needing to feel guilty about working and stuff.

      Btw, the way moderation works here, people’s first comment automatically goes into moderation (we try to approve it quickly) in order to reduce spam, but after one comment has been approved you’re auto-approved (though occasionally wordpress forgets and thinks a regular is new, and for a while it was sending oilandgarlic [aka middleclass] into the spam filter and we couldn’t figure out how to stop it). Also if you have 3 or more links, that also goes directly to moderation (I think wordpress does that automatically).

      • Marcy Says:

        “Especially when I disagree about things like moms needing to feel guilty about working and stuff.” Bleh. Because clearly, what the world needs is more mom guilt. But I guess that fits with her reader demographics. Glad you’re okay with it (um, the commenting, not the mom guilt). And… I’m pregnant, and seem to be getting angry and/or sad about ALL THE THINGS today. Sigh. Letting this one go.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        Congratulations! I think it can help knowing the extremes are hormonal, so one can indulge or reinsert rationality as one sees fit.

      • Marcy Says:

        Thanks! Yes. There can be a lot of, “Why am I…? Oh yeah. Okay then.” Just trying to keep an eye on it, as I have a couple of the risk factors for antenatal depression.

      • Linda Says:

        I guess the same could be said about perimenopausal mood swings. :-/ Sometimes it’s just hard to not indulge. (Like when you’re also sleep deprived from being woken up every 2 hours with hot flashes. Ugh!)

      • Marcy Says:

        Perimenopausal mood swings can be very overwhelming. Or so I hear from a friend. Plus I had a time after miscarriage when my hormones mimicked some of the menopausal symptoms a bit, I think…

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        Miscarriages worse than suck. :(

        During weaning I’ve had some menopausal symptoms, so something to keep in mind for later.

      • Marcy Says:

        They do. (Hormones! Grief! Blood! Pain!) Thanks, I’ll keep that in mind. I was a little worried about it when I weaned my 2yo, but that ended up being only a good thing — I was still nursing her when I had the miscarriage, and the combination of miscarriage plus the nursing seemed to screw up my hormones royally. I was afraid weaning might make things worse initially, but that’s when I started back to normal. Of course, every situation is different, so that’s no guarantee for the future.

  7. middle_class Says:

    I was going to ask you about Modern Mrs. Darcy, too. I read her once in a while. I had no idea that she wrote about mom guilt!

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      It’s more the comments section, I think, and not her specifically, especially when the topic is say, housework. I don’t know what it is about the topic of housework that gets people so worked up.

  8. KeAnne Says:

    I checked out her blog after reading this post, and I’m just kind of “meh” about her. I dunno. What I am curious about if this item is connected to last week’s post about commenting ;-)


Leave a Reply

