Link love

In this week’s f- the police. More.  And also.

ugh

This week in frats.  not a frat, but another huge stupid mess

Stop stereotyping my children.

Ted Cruz and the quest for GOP Obama

No argument

Teaparty math.

Women at Work 100 years ago.

Newborns as the 4th trimester (may be review to those with children or knowledge of infancy)

crazy stuff about social security

The article isn’t great, but the comments section is hilarious.

free heyer stories

one tired gerbil

#1 prefers dancing kittens.

Ready for adoption

So true

Also true  (maybe)

so lazy

Congratulations to undine.

Congratulations to jliedl.

This just in:  Reader Sarah updates us on her ask the grumpies question

12 Responses to “Link love”

  1. crazygradmama Says:

    The 4th trimester is REAL. I think mothers have always known about it in a way, even if there wasn’t a name for it. My mother and both grandmothers all independently told me that babies “wake up” and “become more human” at three months.

    It’s interesting that so many parents need to defend picking up their newborn / feeding on demand / etc. I had the opposite experience: all the books and online resources were telling me how important that was, and it took a while of interacting with other mothers in real life to realize that sometimes babies just cry even when you’ve done everything you can, and that crying neither seriously hurts them nor makes you a bad parent.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      A lot depends on the culture of where you live. Feeding on demand and picking up crying babies are considered parental weakness around here. I’ve often wondered if that’s causal of adult politics in the state and the way our multimillionaires lack empathy. Also I wonder if it could be related to the amount of obesity around here by encouraging over-eating. But possibly it’s just correlation.

      (And yes, all babies cry and sometimes no amount of comforting stops it… at the same time, there’s a difference between willfully shutting a crying infant in a room because you’re told to do so even though it hurts and trying to sooth one whose tummy just won’t settle.)

      • crazygradmama Says:

        … or setting your fussy baby in a safe place for a few minutes because you need to use the bathroom. I don’t have a lot of local friends with children (because, grad school), and I think I absorbed too many hardcore AP messages from online mommy forums, which led to a lot of guilt.

        Interesting theory on politics. I suspect politicians will always be dysfunctional regardless of upbringing; it’s the nature of the job.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        Yeah, in many ways MDC is a perversion of the essence of AP. Of course, with Bob Sears endangering babies for his own reward, it’s hard to think quite as fondly of Papa Sears.

  2. J Liedl Says:

    Thanks for the congratulations and the link love. You know, I adore these posts and need to share my gratitude more often. Your links lead me to some fascinating reads, not always fun, mind you (like today’s ugh) but stuff that I appreciate getting a chance to read nonetheless.

  3. Contingent Cassandra Says:

    I’m pretty sure that’s a tired hamster, but the point is still well taken.

  4. undinenotofgeneralinterest Says:

    Echoing JLiedl–thanks very much for the congratulations! I love reading your posts and links, though sometimes I’m afraid to click.

  5. femmefrugality Says:

    I wish someone had told me about the fourth trimester before my first. By the time the second came around I was so much more ready…and less uptight and stressed. That article’s awesome.

  6. Comradde PhysioProffe Says:

    I don’t know shitte for dicke about babies, and it shocked even me that anyone could think it would ever make sense to wake up a newborn. Of course you let the little f*cker sleep!


Leave a Reply

