Mornings at Casa Grumpy with #1

6-something:  DH gets up and takes a shower along with other morning ablutions

6-something a little later:  DC1’s alarm goes off and ze gets up, does zir morning teeth brushing, potty, etc. and gets dressed

somewhere between 6:45 and 7am: DH returns from his shower which wakes me up

7:  I hop out of bed, do my morning ablutions, grab cereal and milk and check my email and my online comics and the blog while eating.  DC1 is generally dressed at this point but if ze has been distracted, I go, “hey!” on my way to morning ablutions and ze finishes getting dressed.

7:08:  I put my used mug back at the sink and while in the kitchen check that DC1 has gotten breakfast, usually a cereal bar, and has put hir lunch (that ze made the night before) in hir lunch bag (sometimes ze leaves it in front of the microwave, so it’s a spot check).  Take my lunch and DC2’s lunch out of the fridge (both made the night before) and put it on the island.

7:10:  If DC2 hasn’t gotten up, DH puts hir clothes on.  (If DC2 has gotten up, ze goes potty, eats breakfast, usually a banana but sometimes cereal (which either DH or I get for hir by request), and gets dressed).  I get dressed.

7:15: DH or I make sure DC2’s lunch has been taken out of the fridge and put next to the door.  I make sure I have my lunch and it’s in a bag in my bag.  I double check that I didn’t need to get my external harddrive.

7:18:  Everybody gets rounded up to go to the car.  Last minute checks that we have everything.  DH puts a sleepy DC2 in the carseat while I grab a banana or cereal bar and give it to hir (unless ze woke up on hir own, in which case we have a spirited discussion about shoes or jacket and are just a little bit silly before being strapped into the carseat and we end up leaving a little late).

7:20:  DH goes back in and locks the door to the house, we exit the garage.  I turn on NPR.

Somewhere between 7:30 and 7:40 depending on traffic:  Drop off DC1 at dropoff.

2 min later:  Take DC2 in to daycare.  Check in.  Put bag and lunchbag and water bottle away (if DC2 is not groggy, ze does half of this).  Take DC2’s coat off.  Take DC2 to the potty if that didn’t happen at home.  Throw away the banana peel and part of the banana if DC2 ate what ze wanted in the car, help DC2 to the table to finish if that’s what ze wants.  Give DC2 a big hug, tell hir that I’m going to work and daddy is going to work too and at the end of the day daddy will pick up DC1 and then DC2 and then we’ll all go home.  Kiss and bye!  (At this point ze is generally, “yeah mom, whatever, cya.”)

8:00:  Roll into work.

And a bonus:  Mornings at Casa Grumpy with #2:

Morning:  zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

17 Responses to “Mornings at Casa Grumpy with #1”

  1. First Gen American Says:

    “Spirited discussion” ha. I can relate. I don’t actually remember if #1 son was as stubborn or if I just don’t remember those days as well.

    When we are both home, I do upstairs stuff while husband does downstairs stuff. I make sure the kids are dressed, etc while he packs the snacks and school bags. We have about 1/2 hour lag between when they are ready and the bus gets them so they watch a little TV before school. It’s easier to have help before husband leaves for work at 730 vs letting them sleep in an extra half hour and then rushing. Plus during the summer camp starts at 7:30 so there isn’t a time adjustment to get used to.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Right now the discussions are extra spirited because DC2 has one shirt that ze wants to wear every day, but it isn’t clean every day.

      • Leah Says:

        Any way to buy a second (or more) of the shirt?

        I had a friend in junior high who wore the same thing every day. He owned at least 5 of the same shirt and sports shorts. Every once in awhile, he’d switch up the color of one of them, but it was usually a black shirt with navy blue (or green) shorts. All same style. This continued for most of high school until he got a girlfriend who started dressing him.

        speaking of dressing: do you lay out clothes ahead of time, or how do you get dressed so fast?

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        believe us, we’ve tried to find another, but they’re out of print and ze won’t accept similar versions

        Yes, lay out clothes for the next day while I wait for my shower water to warm up at night

      • Comradde PhysioProffe Says:

        If you were a good parent, you’d sew the little f*cker another shirt. You are obviously a terrible parent.

  2. bogart Says:

    My DC sleeps with (some or all) of his next-day clothes on, as he refuses to wear pajamas. So that streamlines our mornings a bit. They look like this –>

    6:55 our alarm goes off. Hit snooze. 7:02 alarm again. DH or I rolls out of bed and goes to wake up DC, then prepares toast or pours cereal for DC and then goes to remind DC that no, really, it’s time to get up. DC wanders into kitchen, eats; parent gets dressed. DC goes and brushes teeth and adds any missing clothing items that weren’t slept in but are needed for the day. Parent + DC make sure relevant backpack contents (folder, books as needed, lunchbox) are assembled (and add cold/wet weather outer clothes as required), 7:30 +/- 5 min., parent + DC walk to school.

    If parent is me, then I either walk to catch the bus straight from dropping DC off, or come back home and assemble my stuff and drive to work (while DH usually zzzzs, unless he has plans for the morning that preclude that). If parent is DH then I often stay in bed until he gets back and brings me coffee in bed, and then I get up and assemble my stuff and drive to work. Or sometimes I get up early and leave before DH/DC are up and take the dogs for a walk. Otherwise dog care (= feed + throw out in fenced yard) takes place while I am getting myself ready for work and/or getting DC ready for school).

  3. Ana Says:

    whoa. I’m super impressed at the minimal length of time between wake up and leave house. my kids are WAKING UP at 7:00-7:15 and then it takes an hour for them to get fully ready. Today I was up at 5:30 and left at 8:30 for work (I went to the gym, walked the dog—with 5 year old, showered and got ready, made & ate eggs, played with kids for a few minutes; my husband actually made the kids’ breakfast and got them dressed/brushed while I was showering). I love seeing how other people organize their days. Gives me hope that we, too, could one day leave the house within an hour of waking up…

  4. Linda Says:

    I can’t get over the fact that you an get out of bed, do morning ablutions, and eat breakfast in 8 minutes. Wow.

    Also, I’m super envious of you and the other readers who are getting up around 7 AM. Is this the typical academic’s life? Even before I moved to the west coast my alarm was set for 6 AM on weekdays. On the days I went to the office I left at 7:10 AM to catch the train, and I needed that hour to do my prep for work and take care of the dog(s)/animals. Showering the night before could help shorten that time, but not by more than 10-15 minutes. I think the fastest I could be ready to walk out the door in the morning was 30 minutes, not 18. You need to teach an efficiency class or something!

    Now that I have to be available for so many meetings that are scheduled for east coast/central time zone people, the alarm is usually set for 5 AM. And I telecommute most days, so “getting ready for work” usually means splashing cool water on my face to wake up, and making coffee. I can feed the dog and let her out in the fenced yard while the meetings are in progress.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      No, not the typical academic’s life. The typical life of an academic who has to get kids to school before 8am. The typical academic without kids sleeps in later and stays at work later(!)

      Back when I was a kid and lived a few houses away from school, I used to be able to get to school between the ringing of the first bell (if still in bed) and the second one with clothing and brushed teeth, though not necessarily breakfast.

      Most of the prep work is done the night before.

    • Leah Says:

      When do you get home from work? Do you do much work in the evenings or on weekends? I suspect your work clock is just shifted some.

      I thought I got out the door early, but #1 has me beat! I can get ready and out the door in under 20 minutes, but that’s not a pleasant morning for me.

      • Thisbe Says:

        At the job I just left, I could go from from “asleep in bed” to “at work seeing an emergency” in fifteen minutes (includes 4 to 6 minutes of commute). If circumstances allowed, I would take an extra 5 to 10 to do pet care.

        I wonder, is this #1 the same who is a super light sleeper? I think that is what makes that kind of thing possible for me. Mixed blessing.

        Related, as soon as I finish moving in I am planning to start using the Sleep As Android app.

      • Linda Says:

        Leah, considering that I telecommute most days now I get home from work…never! ;-) I try to finish up everything by 4:30. Since I’m often starting at 5 or 5:30 AM, that makes for very long days. I do take breaks, though, including taking the dog out for a walk mid-morning that usually lasts a good 30 to 40 minutes. It’s not unusual for me to be checking email and doing a few small tasks as late as 8 PM, though. Ideally, I’m in bed sleeping by 9.

  5. nicoleandmaggie Says:

    Yeah, #1 is a light sleeper. #2 is really impressed at her being able to get up and be at work in 1 hour. I have a really really hard time getting up, even when I had to be at work at 8:30am or whatever. Mornings and I just do not get along. I usually wake up groggy, gradually, and confused!

  6. Virginia Says:

    You should do a part 2 with the rest of your day.

    It takes me about 1.5 hours to get everything done in the mornings. I probably spend too much time cooking breakfast (I love eggs) and fixing my hair.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      the rest of the day is a lot more varied (unless you want to say, “work, 8am-4:40 pm”) and the evening is spread out and who does what varies a lot based on who is more tired and who needs to get more work done etc.


Leave a Reply

