Link love goes to 11

First, a brief illustration of what happens when your dog learns to text.

this is fascinating:

also this is amazing if I ever have REALLY long hair again (I would totally rock this):

Have you tried… excessive sleeping?  I did, and it changed my life!

I just read two light and imperfect but fun romances (that were cheap!)

Sometimes you just gotta enjoy your cold.
This is a jar full of major characters, not to be confused with binders full of women.

Even more about goddamned cakes (or no cakes, as the case may be).

I want to read this.
I don’t know dick about minecraft, but there’s a blog about it: http://minemum.com/minecraft-parent-problems

This is chilling (today’s f*ck the police)

And now, this:

8 Responses to “Link love goes to 11”

  1. Linda Says:

    I’ve seen those videos of ancient Roman hairdressing before and thought they were cool, too. I have long hair…but I lack a servant to do my daily hair-dressing. Damn.

  2. Miriam Says:

    I read the original Ronson article that kicked off this publicity cycle for his book and thought it was an interesting, compassionate look at shaming that completely dropped the ball on Adria Richards’ story. The more I read from him, the more he seems like someone both clueless and in the grips of unexamined racism and sexism. His unwillingness or inability to make a distinction between relatively powerless people like Sacco and Stone and people like Lehrer and Mosley with a lot of cultural power or riches makes him the wrong person to write about Internet shaming.

    But it makes me so mad every time I see an article with him in which he treats “Hank” as a legitimate victim of public shaming. “Hank” is a pseudonym because “Hank”–unlike Richards–can have a pseudonym. That’s because Hank was never publicly shamed! Neither Richards nor anyone else hounded his company for his firing or tweeting slurs or anything about him at Pycon. No one even knows that his firing has any direct connection to Richards’ tweet! IMHO, the carefully worded response from his company suggested strongly that the firing did not have a direct connection but rather was because of personal issues with him (and his friend was not fired).

  3. Comradde PhysioProffe Says:

    That minecraft shizz sounds like lunacy!

  4. J Liedl Says:

    I’m still working my way through one of the Cottman books (got some others from the library that have to go back first, dangit) but I’m glad you enjoyed them, too. I love historical romances that aren’t all angst-machines. (I spend enough time teaching and researching in the darker sides of history. I don’t need a big downer in my leisure reading!)

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      The big sex scene in the second book is truly giggle-worthy (no penis bobbing, but there were definitely male members or maybe manhood and other horribly silly cliches). And the first book gives mixed messages on womens’ bodies (specifically weight). But still light and enjoyable with mostly likable characters.

      (I just reread Venetia for the zillionth time… sometimes everything is so stressful that only Heyer will do.)


Leave a Reply

