Two funny quotations from a book about books

These are from One for the Books by Joe Queenan.

page 3:

A friend once told me that the real message Bram Stoker sought to convey in Dracula is that a human being needs to live hundreds and hundreds of years to get all his reading done; that Count Dracula, misunderstood bookworm, was draining blood from the porcelain-like necks of ten thousand hapless virgins not because he was the apotheosis of evil but because it was the only way he could live long enough to polish off his reading list.  But I have no way of knowing if this is true, as I have not yet found time in my life to read Dracula.

And page 212, something the author’s daughter said: “If you don’t want to own books, it means you are an asshole.”

The book is pretty funny, although the author’s taste in books leans heavily towards male writers.  I will probably re-read this book.

Stay tuned tomorrow for even more about books!

 

in the meantime, do you have any quotes about books or reading?  Have you read anything funny lately?  Share in the comments!

Posted in Uncategorized. Tags: . 9 Comments »

9 Responses to “Two funny quotations from a book about books”

  1. Liz Says:

    For bookish dreaming I highly recommend “The City of Dreaming Books,” by Walter Moers. One of the quotes from that book: “Stealing from one author is plagiarism; from many authors, research.”

  2. Miser Mom Says:

    I got to see Joe Queenan live about two years ago. He’s a very funny guy, but occasionally in a sort of confrontational way. (“When an interviewer asks me ‘what’s your greatest weakness?’, I smack him and say ‘responding to people who ask questions like that.'”)

  3. GEW Says:

    That bit about Dracula reminds me of Elizabeth Kostova’s “The Historian.”

  4. Liz Says:

    Here’s another: “A loopy line of ink, stretching on and on, referencing the past and demanding a future. Memory and hope spinning out in an endless trail of paper.” From Thirteen Moons, by Charles Frazier.

  5. Liz Says:

    I tried reading One For The Books, but I found the author’s negativity a real turn-off. However, it reminded me of a book in translation that I did quite enjoy: The Rights of the Reader, by Daniel Pennac.


Leave a Reply

