Angry Robot Army?

I dunno, man, it sounds kinda militaristic.  But yet!  AR Books!  So on-point!

Angry Robot Books publishes an extremely good-ass library of books. They have one of the highest hit-rates for me of books they publish that I read and own.  (#2 not so much.  #2 craves light and fluffy.  #2 does like Matthew Hughes though.  But he’s the only author on their list she is both familiar with and enjoys reading.  There’s no denying that, for example, Lauren Beukes is quality, but bad things happen to people in her books.)

They also publicize in areas that I see, and that helps.  Their ebooks are DRM-free.

The unusual thing for me is that I very rarely pay attention to which publishers are putting out which books.  Authors, yes; publishers, almost never (sometimes if it’s Subterranean Press).

I seem to be squarely in Angry Robot’s target audience, and they seem to be reaching me pretty well.

I like their books but I wish there weren’t an “army”.

Books of theirs that we have liked and/or found interesting and/or have read and/or own:

And more are on my wish-list, too!

There was a brief panic that a 2 of their imprints (which I’ve never heard of) are closing, but not the whole press.  Honestly I didn’t know they HAD imprints until I saw that post.  Their press release said, “The core Angry Robot imprint is robust, however, and we plan to increase our output from 2 books a month, to 3.”

So… yeah?  Keep rockin!

 

Grumpeteers, have you read any Angry Robot books?

Posted in Uncategorized. Tags: , . 4 Comments »

4 Responses to “Angry Robot Army?”

  1. Cloud Says:

    I have the same problem as #2 with Lauren Beukes. I’ve been meaning to try some Kameron Hurley, though.

    But I know about Angry Robot books! My publisher (Xist) picked up their Strange Chemistry YA imprint when they closed it.

  2. MutantSupermodel Says:

    The other day, Goodreads had a poll asking about whether or not you had preferences as far as publishers was concerned. I honestly don’t track them at all. This is a great name though. Going to possibly look into some of these.

  3. First Gen American Says:

    I guess that makes sense. We have a local publisher here storey publishing, that just publishes books on country living…so if you want to learn all about manure or cookie decorating or backyard chickens, I am sure they have a book for you. Not surprisingly many of the authors are also local as this is the culture around here…to be one with the earth and do it yourself.

    So if we use my analogy, does that mean lots of your like minded peers live in England? BTW…I did live there and love their culture.


Leave a Reply

