link love

This week in misogyny.  And related.

This week in racism.  Some black humor.  And more f- the police.

Guess who the only person being punished for the CIA torture report is.

Twitter’s new troll stick.  How Enron Gjoni started Gamergate.

If men were asked the questions women are asked.

Cause of sleepless nights.

I was trying to figure out if we needed shelf liners in the master bathroom (because some came with the house and then the kittens destroyed them).  I found a world out there that I did not know people had time for.  Because I guess it matters to some folks which roll goes in which room?  (closeup)

Congratulations Dr. Nessie Monster!

It was never a dress.

Is this really satire?  Asks the one fostering kittens…

Important longitudinal study.

elephants

History of hairstyles!

New tiny kittens!

6 Responses to “link love”

  1. SP Says:

    I actually kind of love organizing closets & cupboards, but the labels on the toilet paper (by room!) is just too much for me! really?

  2. Thisbe Says:

    Jobs caring for baby animals: ickier and more demoralizing than your average sad 38-year-old probably realizes.

  3. Cloud Says:

    I can only assume that they save the good stuff for the master bath and let their guests use the sandpaper stuff?

    I’m (usually) completely comfortable with the level of mess in our house and the fact that our linen closet doesn’t have pretty labels. It does have labels, but that was my husband’s doing because he couldn’t remember what went where, so when he did the latest round of cleaning up, he labeled the drawers we use to store things. But not the toilet paper. That’s fairly self-evident….

    Anyway, since I don’t have anxiety on this issue, I read these sorts of posts as a chance to pick up some useful ideas and the implied judgement of my way of living rolls off me. I really like the idea of putting the spare sheets inside one of the pillow cases! That will make it easier to find them. I don’t care AT ALL if my linen closet is pretty- it has a door, and I close it if I don’t want to see the mess! But true organizational tips, I’ll take!

    I wish I had this level of zen about all things, but there are certain types of parenting posts I can’t read because they make me feel angsty.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Huh, I hadn’t thought of it as an implied judgment of my way of living. I mean, I wouldn’t want people to think that my alphabetized spice rack or bookcases were an implied judgment on their spices or bookcases. However, the thought of rolling up washclothes so they look pretty when they’re just going to have to be rolled up again the next week is a bit overwhelming.

      BTW, the answer (according to an apartment therapy FAQ) is, in case you were wondering, shelf protectors are necessary in the kitchen but not in the linen closet, which makes sense once one thinks about it.

  4. MutantSupermodel Says:

    Wow that closet is another level.

    I LOVED that video! So cute!


Leave a Reply

