Link love

What a depressing week.  These past few years have done a lot to show white people what POC have known all along.  Explicit racism is alive and well.  White violence against POC is still happening.  Is still sanctioned.  I know racism exists and I want to end it.  But I don’t know how.  I know the best most up-to-date research on ending implicit bias, but I suspect that explicit bias requires government leadership.  Laws.  Prosecution.  Police oversight.  Changes in school curricula.

Good explanation of why passing as black is wrong.

White men are dangerous.

A little bit of sexism this week.  My comment in the comments about white men being dangerous was made prior to the shooting.  Oh, and some historical sexism involving tampons in space.

Someone should make this app.

JebBushForPresident.com

I don’t get this comic, but #2 forwarded it.

I love this comic a lot.

Multi-age daycare.  Stress of a child.

Why to get an economics phd. though his list of “phds that work” isn’t quite correct.  Also, Michigan isn’t a “middle-ranked school.”  *I* teach at a middle ranked school.

Almost makes me wish I could sew.

HIV tests invented by a 15 year old young woman.

this is cool

10 old English words you should be using.

ducklings

Amazing dino facts

The labels!

I would like this dream too!

engineeringis (click on pictures for explanations)

3 Responses to “Link love”

  1. Omdg Says:

    Epidemiology is a pretty decent phd too, in terms of job prospects. The only problem is that some people equate it with statistics, and then think you’re stupid if you disabuse them of that. Then you remember that you still know more stats than they do.

  2. Katherine Says:

    Thanks for the link!

    The Sally Ride tampon thing was pretty good. My husband remembers hearing about military people using tampons as a short-term DIY method to stop bleeding from minor bullet wounds in combat, and wondered if they had some other, alternate use for the tampons in space.


Leave a Reply

