link love

When #1 last heard from #2 she was being worked hard at her new job.  It sounds like they really need her and they really do need someone at her exact level of expertise, even though that’s not what they advertised for.  Hopefully she’ll emerge from work exhaustion to say more than “BCN fuzzfeed” :).  It sounds like she has a lot of stuff to figure out and a lot of processes to sort out and make consistent (as part of her job) and then her job will get less crazy.   She sounded really happy but pretty tired last I heard from her (other than “oh man the Buzzfeed BCN”).  So we may be a bit light on links this week.  Also I am not sure why she learned the word skeuomorph, but she did.

Apparently Ana wants everybody to subscribe to her website because she keeps writing amazing posts.  Here’s one weekend two ways.

Wanted: One Op-Ed Writer, “The University”

So not worth it.

Beware the narrative. Also Cloud’s publishing company has a new book out.

Target removes gender-based toy signs.

awww

I know this is from last month but the interview with Eminem is so funny it put tears in my eyes.

Fox News picked Trump over Kelly.  Check out the hilarious conversation on this twitter thread.

Cool

Here are three links that I think were supposed to go up last week, but I’m not sure if they did and I’m too lazy to check:  Women and police violence , numbers 3 and 4 especially on point (though, #1 notes that there is some luck involved in other people changing culture too– there’s only so much one woman can do.. #1 thinks 5 is on point), this is awesome

7 Responses to “link love”

  1. Cloud Says:

    Thanks for the link to my new book release! If anyone is interested in reviewing it, I have a few review copies left that I can give out. Email me at wandsci at gmail dot com if you’re interested.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      … we still owe you a review for Petunia… (It’ll get out for Christmas shopping, I promise!)

      • Cloud Says:

        No worries! I’ll take it whenever you get to it. My publisher told me it is doing well on the Epic subscription service, which prompted me to try that out for my 8 year old voracious reader… I’ll probably post a review of that soon. Early indication is that it works well for her, but since she has a Kindle Fire, it won’t work on her tablet so she’s reading on my iPod. So this may not be the right subscription service for her, but I like the idea of a subscription service for her (our library just does not have many kids ebooks, and the ones it has are always waitlisted).

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        We’ve been having fun with wait-listing. It’s like getting an unexpected present when something comes off the list. :)

      • Cloud Says:

        For some reason, she won’t wait. She’ll just say “nevermind” if she can’t have it right away, unless it is a known series. We’re trying to find ways to get her to branch out a bit. She is strangely reticent to try new series, even when checking out physical books from the library. This is very frustrating! It looks like the subscription app might get her to try new things, but it is too early in the experiment to say for sure.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        DC1 was reticent to try new series too, but zie grew out of it (somewhat recently). I think it must be one of those developmental things. (Currently we are in full-pedant mode. Ah, 8 year olds.)

        I bet DC1 would love a subscription, but for now we’re enjoying living in walking distance to the library! And the library has so many more books than the one back home!

  2. crazy grad mama Says:

    Re: not worth it—It’s only a subset of jobs (not academia, hahahaha) where more hours = more money, too. When more hours = same money, it’s really not worth it.


Leave a Reply

