What should we do for #1’s two-week Honeymoon Hiatus?

#1:  I think we should put the blog on hiatus during my honeymoon.  (Because our backlog runs out and we’re both crazy busy right now and it won’t get any better for either of us until after I get back.)

#2:  It’s kind of a bad time for hiatus though because people are usually around and checking their computers and not on vacation.  I was thinking maybe we could solicit guest posts for your honeymoon duration instead of going on hiatus.  Or we could post pictures of what you’re eating, as an art experiment.

#1:  You won’t get those [pictures] very often, is my guess.

#2:  You probably shouldn’t be thinking about the blog while on vacation anyway.  Even if doing so means you get to tell the world, “Haha, look what I’m getting to eat and you’re not.”  I mean, sharing the joys of the Italian culinary experience.

#1:  Heh, we have to figure out how to send you photos from the phone.

#2:  Or ipad?

#1:  We’re not bringing the ipad to dinner, just leaving it in the room

#2:  Ah, pretending you’re not obnoxious American tourists, good call.

#1:  No, it’s just annoying is all.  The phone goes in the pocket.

#2:  Obviously you need bigger pockets!

#1:  Nah.

So, what do you think we should do, blogosphere?  Hiatus?  Food photos?  Guest posts?  Something else? This will happen sometime around the first couple weeks of October, give or take.

48 Responses to “What should we do for #1’s two-week Honeymoon Hiatus?”

  1. Engineer Cents (@engineercents) Says:

    Obviously the food pics. Second to that though I’d say hiatus over guest posts.

  2. Solitary Diner Says:

    Sign me up for food pics from Italy. I’d also be willing to read guest posts.

  3. Leigh Says:

    How about a cat picture a day?

  4. SP Says:

    Food pics? Cat pics? Maybe pics of cats spotted on vacation? Cats eating food? Drunk cats https://instagram.com/drunk_cats/

    Really though, do what you want. This isn’t monetized, you do this for fun! I love the daily updates, but would also be happy to know that you guys were having a stress free break!

    Guest posts only if they are really really good. :)

  5. Katherine Says:

    I would definitely read guest posts. You guys have some really interesting commenters! I’m less interested in food pics, but more interested in cats.

  6. xykademiqz Says:

    Guest posts and/or reposts of old audience favorites.
    I like pics, but pics take only a second to view, whereas posts take time to read (which to me is preferable).

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      I dunno, we have some posts coming up that only take a second to view. (Which, you might argue, signals we need to take a break. However, an astute observer may also note that sometimes a point made or a fruitful question only takes a line or two to say. Anything else is just clutter prior to the real conversation about to ensue in the comments. You’ll have to decide for yourself when we get to them…)

      • Revanche Says:

        I have noticed that NZMuse is awesome at short posts that elicit much commentary. I’m crap at those but I bet y’all would be good at them too.

  7. Rented life Says:

    Do one nice post when you get back with food photos, etc. don’t worry about the blog while actually on vacation. (I’d love to see photos though it’ll just make me jealous!)

    Guest posts could be really fun!

  8. Sandyl FirstgenAmerican Says:

    When I went on haitus, my blog died. I still have my account, but haven’t been able to get back into it. Guest posts sound like a good idea.

  9. chacha1 Says:

    I would read guest posts, I would also read re-posts. I’ve been hanging around for a long time but haven’t really dug into the archives.

    Cats & food I’ve got covered. :-)

  10. anandar Says:

    Guest posts!

  11. Ana Says:

    I vote for taking a real break. So run “best of” posts, or guest posts, but don’t worry about trying to get pictures.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Best of sounds like a lot of work, which is something I’m trying to avoid. I mean, I can just post the same stuff that’s always posted in our link of links posts, but most people have probably been through those highlights. Finding other stuff takes effort. (Whiiiiiine.) Though our archives are awesome and totally worth poking around!

  12. nicoleandmaggie Says:

    If anyone is interested in doing a guest post, email us at grumpyrumblings@gmail.com . We’re not picky about topic, but will not post anything racist, misogynist, anti-vaccine, etc. Your post will be edited for grammar and spelling. If you have your own blog, it is ok to do a repost so long as it’s a really good post. :) We’re also fine with you posting about your favorite charity or your own small business (so long as your small business isn’t an MLM scheme and your favorite charity isn’t racist, misogynist, anti-vaccine, etc.).

    We’re a small-time operation– we get 500-1000 views per day. But, as you know if you’ve gotten this far, we’ve got a really great discussion section. We’re especially interested in giving our non-blogging commenters a forum for a day, but understand that there’s a lot more upside for people who have their own blogs that can be linked to, especially if you want to attract some of our great audience members to your site.

    #1 says her fiance has figured out how to send pictures to me, so hopefully there will be some pretty food pics! I may push her some more for kitten pics as well.

  13. Revanche Says:

    Late vote for food and cat pictures, and I think your commenters would have great posts if they were inclined to share. I’d like to share a post but I’m not entirely sure I’ve got anything worth the time, except for maybe some of my older ruminations on poverty and charity and such. Those were pretty solid. Maybe wave at me if you would like it?

  14. middle_class Says:

    I vote for guest posts but that does sound like extra work for you!

  15. Steph Says:

    I’m fine with a hiatus, and I definitely vote that you shouldn’t think about the blog while on your honeymoon.

    Scheduled food or kitten pics would be cool, or guest posts, or a less frequent posting schedule, but only if it won’t stress you both out.

  16. Comradde PhysioProffe Says:

    You two should turn your blogge over to me during the honeymoon hiatus! I’ll run it awesome! It’ll be terrific! MAKING NICOLEANDMAGGIE GREAT AGAIN!

  17. Linda Says:

    I’m the outlier in that I don’t need to see photos of cats or kittens, but I would love to see posts because I look forward to reading your blog and the great comments. I like the idea of some commenters writing guest posts.

  18. MutantSupermodel Says:

    I like the photos but I don’t want pressure on #1. She should just disconnect for her honeymoon! Although Grumpy Pictures of the Formerly Untenured has a nice ring to it

  19. ralucacoldea Says:

    cat pictures?


Leave a Reply

