Do you request passwords to pw protected blogs?

Over the years, a number of the blogs we used to enjoy have become password protected.  Usually because some horrible troll has threatened to “out” the woman who has been talking pseudonymously about her job, sometimes because there’s a vicious anonymous troll stalking or harassing the woman, and sometimes because the blogger (of either gender)’s children are growing up and password protecting allows for more privacy while journaling.

Often before going behind the veil, the blogger will invite the audience to email for a password to the blog.  Or sometimes there will be an email invitation when you get to the “This blog is password protected” stage.

And we have never asked for a password.  Even for blogs we really enjoyed, even for commenters who used to be regulars (who we miss and think of fondly when perusing the comments in our archives).

Why not?  A combination of laziness and feeling as if we’re not enough value added to be worthwhile to the blogger.  Sure, I want to know what happened and how their stories are going moving forward.  I’m interested in the professional situation or debt repayment or even just pretty crafts.  But there’s too many passwords to remember.  Too many blogs to read.  And a faint belief that our voice is either uninteresting (“Nice!”) or vaguely irritating to the blogger who is seeking the password protection.

Heck we never even asked Dr. Crazy for her new digs– we figure she’ll either start showing up on blogrolls or she won’t.  In the mean time, we’ll imagine she’s found Mr. Right and is having a great time as a tenured full professor, living life to the fullest outside of the virtual community.

What about you?  Do you read any password protected blogs?  What would it take for you to request a password?

35 Responses to “Do you request passwords to pw protected blogs?”

  1. gwinne Says:

    I haven’t actually found myself in this situation yet. One blogger I read regularly, who read me regularly, had password protected posts; yes, I requested password.

    I have known a few people who have moved spaces, and I’ve mostly followed.

    Was Dr. Crazy starting a new space? I haven’t seen her anywhere…and my real self follows her real self on twitter.

  2. Dame Eleanor Hull Says:

    I think Squadromagico was the only one for whom I ever requested a password. Reasons much like yours. But I felt enough part of the Squadro community to do it, that one time.

  3. Rented life Says:

    Never requested. One person password protected and then promptly deleted the whole blog. The other I had a password for but it was a pain to remember to login. I stopped reading. Most people I used to read barely post and that community is gone. Or everyone became Facebook friends but I feel like I know far less about them when we move to that instead of blogging.

    I almost password protected because I did have a psycho troll. When my family stared reading it became even harder because I’d get criticized for being myself (which is apparently a very whiny person like Elizabeth Gilbert according to my dad.) The more I felt like I had to “perform” on my own space, the more I hated being there. I knew I’d never be able to openly talk about what was happening here in my home with having a kid and the marriage issues.

    I started another that’s linked to my Twitter account but I’ve not been able to keep up on either since January because of family health problems.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Psycho trolls suck. :(

      You’re gonna write us a guest post though, right?

      • Rented life Says:

        I hope to. Hubby had a serious mental health issue come about so I’m trying to just hold the home together right now :( but I do have a topic that’s been bouncing around my brain about money and family pressure.

  4. middle_class Says:

    No, I never request the password. I know it’s just too much of a hassle to remember another password.

  5. chacha1 Says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever regularly visited a blog that subsequently instituted a password.

  6. Contingent Cassandra Says:

    I’ve never requested one, mostly for the reasons named above. Also, since I’m pseudonymous, and don’t know any of these people in real life, much as I enjoy following their thoughts and adventures when they make them public, it feels like putting them on the spot asking for access at a moment when (often) they’re feeling beleaguered. How do they know who I am, and that I’m a safe person in whom to confide, even to a degree?

    The time I’ve been most tempted is when Belle of Scattered and Random went offline, and then appeared to have started a new, protected, blog, since I really wanted to know how her story turned out, and that she was okay. But see all of the above. I’m glad to have seen her comment here and there in ways that suggest she’s finding a way to land on her feet.

  7. bethh Says:

    Ditto what everyone else said. I think once upon a time I had a password to a semi-friend’s blog but in the end I guess I didn’t care enough to be bothered to log in. Another real friend has a password-protected blog for kiddo stuff, and again.. if it’s not easy/going to show up in my feed, I’m not going to read, apparently.

  8. crazy grad mama Says:

    I’ve never been in this situation, but would probably do the same thing for much the same reasons. I totally get how you feel about thinking that you’re uninteresting / irritating / not valuable. For what it’s worth, as both a blogger and a reader of other blogs on which you comment, I think you are none of those things!

  9. Katherine Says:

    I have the password to exactly two blogs, and they are both people I am friends with in real life. I don’t think I would ever ask for the password from someone I don’t know well in real life. It would feel like I was intruding on something they decided to keep private.

    I don’t read the password-protected blogs as often as I read other blogs, because they don’t show up in my blog list so I forget about them.

  10. JaneB Says:

    I requested passwords a couple of times, when I’d come to think of the blogger as a friendly acquaintance, emailed with them/had comment discussions, where I really appreciated some of the content they posted. Both times I didn’t get any response, no email, no password. This was really upsetting (I’m easily upset) so I don’t want to put myself in that position any more.

  11. Veronica Says:

    I did, twice. Both times, I received a password, even though I seldom if ever had actually commented on the blogs. But both times, the blogger stopped blogging within a month or two. I don’t know why. Perhaps they felt burned by whatever troll or other problem made them go private? Or they felt less motivation to post knowing that fewer people would read them?

  12. Rosa Says:

    I never have, and at least in once instance I really wish I had, because I would really like to know how she’s doing.

    the other thing is that I used to post a lot on a couple blogs that had Disqus, about some contentious issues including abortion, and then a whole bunch of blogs became Disqus blogs (and one of the ones I’d used to comment on became REALLY BIG) so I just stopped commenting anywhere that required logging in. Because I’m that scared of a troll following me home after some scary anti-abortion people harassed me online, and on those small-audience blogs I’d shared enough that someone could probably find me if they really tried. I will not link my facebook or Disqus profiles to anything at all, and I’d completely nuke the Disqus one if I could figure out how.

  13. Sunflower Says:

    I would never ask for a password either – and am sad when blogs get shut off in that way.

    Also I have wondered about Dr Crazy too and share your hope that things are going wonderfully for her – personally and professionally. Maybe she will come back some day :)

  14. sophylou Says:

    This is interesting to read, because have had times where I have reeeeeeeeeeally wanted to write a blog post and protect the individual post to password-only, but I don’t really have a system in place for people to request/get the password (I don’t want to put my email on my blog). In my case, the desire to write a protected post is because I really want to say certain kinds of things and get a reality check or other feedback, but don’t want to do so in a more open way because a) I am only somewhat pseudonymous and b) I need to be on the job market, such as it is. Your post is also making me guess that no one would request the password or read the post anyway ;)

    • chacha1 Says:

      When I have had really sensitive or potentially controversial personal conundrums that I wanted to discuss with someone who is not physically at hand, for that reality check or for feedback, or even when I just wanted to SAY IT out loud as it were, I have done it on email. The really sensitive stuff never goes on my blog until after the fact (and even then, selectively). Whereas I have posted rants of various flavors just for the hell of it, with absolutely zero consequences thanks to my tiny readership. :-)

      • sophylou Says:

        Yeah, this isn’t so much personal stuff as it is wishing that I could communicate some of the more specific difficulties I’m facing re research/teaching because of my particular job functions. I encounter a lot of romanticization and mystification of what I do at my day job, and I wish I could provide a more realistic portrait of my own experience (especially since I’m in a field that people point to as a good option for PhDs, which, in reality, isn’t necessarily always the case). But it’s really not a good idea for me to do that.

      • chacha1 Says:

        It’s hard to address some issues without leaving a trail that could complicate your work life.

  15. MutantSupermodel Says:

    A long time ago when I was heavily blogging yes I did but I think most of them just gave up anyways. It almost seems like password protection was the first step to shutdown.


Leave a Reply

