OMG I wish I were in Italy too

Florence

IMG_0065

Spinach gnudi with Parmesan in sage butter sauce

 

IMG_0068

Ravioli with ricotta, nettle, and aromatic herbs

Not sure where these are from

IMG_0075

Panini with salami and cheese

 

IMG_0098

Insalata Fra Angelico- burrata, zucchini, avocado

 

IMG_0100

Insalata Caprese

 

IMG_0102

Gnocchi with pesto and green beans

 

IMG_0103

Tagliolini with black truffle

 

IMG_0104

Tartuffo affogato caffé

 

IMG_0105

Apple strudel

Not really a money post… but man, how much would you pay to spend two weeks in Italy eating stuff like this?  Have you spent money on an amazing vacation before?

18 Responses to “OMG I wish I were in Italy too”

  1. Leigh Says:

    This is one of our ideas for next year’s vacation! Mmmmmmm. We spent about $7k each wandering around New Zealand for a month at the beginning of this year and that was amazing!

  2. Linda Says:

    It’s awesome that #2 is having such a great time in Italy!

    It may make me seem odd, but I’ve never had a burning desire to go to Italy. I loved my trip to Spain four years ago. I managed to spend only about $2,000 for my 10-day trip there, including airfare. My big splurge vacation was Scotland in October 2013. I’m not sure when I’m going to have a splurge vacation like that again. Maybe in another two or three years.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      We remember that Scotland trip!

      I’ve been to Spain 3 times, once for study abroad and the other two times it was paid for because of conferences. I like it quite a bit (especially the food!) but I was always glad to get back home to the US.

  3. fizzchick Says:

    Yum! For a moment I thought I was over at Comrade PP’s place. Last big splurge was Australia 4 years ago. Time for another one, I think…

  4. chacha1 Says:

    We ate very well on our honeymoon to the Big Island, Hawaii. :-) If we ever get to Europe we are going to have to bike/walk everywhere because otherwise you will have to roll us home.

  5. nicoleandmaggie Says:

    Today’s cryptic food email says, “We ate all the cheese in Rome.” It looks like they did, too.

  6. omdg Says:

    Best trip ever was to Hawaii where my husband was flown out for an interview, and we were put up (for free!) in a swanky hotel waaaay at the end of Waikiki away from all the other hotels, and somehow got upgraded to the penthouse suite with the wrap around lanai??? The food was also amazing.

  7. bogart Says:

    Mmmm. Most of my travel has been focused on fun other than foodie fun, but those sure do look tasty.

  8. nicoleandmaggie Says:

    #2 laments that all the travel she can remember as a grown up has been for work, weddings, or visiting family. One day…

    Though work trips have been pretty fun.

    • Debbie M Says:

      Most of my trips abroad have been tagging along with friends who move abroad briefly. The best! Most trips have been tagging along with others one way or another. Some were for conferences.

      I’ve never really spent a lot, relatively speaking. I prefer to eat out at lunch than at dinner, and try to stay away from the touristy restaurants (mostly). And try to find a compromise between price and location on accommodations, but I don’t care about luxury because I’m not in the hotel (or hostel) very much.

      I’ve gotten to have many very nice trips. Favorites include:
      * visiting sister in Belgium (good food!)
      * visiting friend who got a postdoc in Switzerland (good views! lots of walking!)
      * driving around Colorado before meeting friends to ski (so pretty!)
      * driving around New Mexico and Colorado before a conference in Albuquerque (so pretty!)
      * going to London with boyfriend (yum! and everyone’s so polite!)
      * going to Amsterdam with boyfriend (what good national policies! and a great library! and biking!)
      * backpacking the Grand Canyon with a group of eight (pretty! fun!)
      * music cruise (great musicians! and great background music in the restaurants and cafeteria!)

      And next we’re trying to take a study-abroad Spanish IV course in Spain (Barcelona and Granada with a train ride in between)–this will be by far the most expensive trip ever.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        DH has done the visiting a friend who moved abroad thing. I haven’t! All my abroad traveling is work/school related, though sometimes the family tags along with.

        I <3 Spain!

  9. bethh Says:

    Hmmm. I went to Italy in 2001 before food photography was a thing. Clearly I need to go back!!! I want to Paris earlier this year and ate so much good food – I did crack and photograph some of it, but I tried to be discreet.

    I haven’t had a huge splurge trip but I’ve certainly spent money on travel. I recently changed jobs and have had a DRASTIC reduction in vacation time. It hurts my very soul (but the last gig was killing said soul, so on balance, it was a good move).

  10. Rented life Says:

    A week in Istanbul. We only had to pay for hubby because I was covered through work expenses but I only worked 3/7 days we were gone. Totally worth it and if I could spend the money, Italy is on the “list.”

  11. Solitary Diner Says:

    I’ve been to Italy twice, and the second time I dropped about $6,000 for three weeks. It pains me to have to pay that money back now (it went on my student line of credit), but I have wonderful memories from the trip. I will hopefully be back someday once the debt is repayed!

  12. Revanche Says:

    We spent quite a lot for our trip to Italy ($4000? I’m hazy now, I probably blogged about it though) but it wasn’t entirely vacation so I’m not sure it counts. We had some wonderful meals and delicious breakfast pastries but I think I’d build our next trip entirely around something else, not an event-thing.

  13. Mutant Supermodel Says:

    OMG I thought I was hungry before…


Leave a Reply

