December Mortgage Update: Kitten-destroyed bathroom, during and after

Last month (November):
Balance:$17,936.85
Years left: 1.333333333
P =$1,138.89, I =$75.51, Escrow =$809.48

This month (December):
Balance:$16,793.45
Years left: 1.25
P =$1,143.40, I =$71.00, Escrow =$809.48

One month’s prepayment savings: $0

I realized I haven’t posted about this yet even though it happened ages ago.  I thought I’d taken pictures specifically for this post, but I’m having trouble finding them.  Here’s some kitteny pictures.

098

Here you can see the start of damage on the bottom of the cabinet door behind Boy Kitty (who now lives with my sister).

Damage on the top. It's equally bad on the facing, but I can't find any facing pictures.

Damage on the top. It gets worse later.

008

There used to be stuff under the wallpaper that used to be here…

010

Here’s some pictures of facing on those drawers.

011

What was that about wallpaper?

One more.

One more.

And after:

032

No more wallpaper! Paint! Cabinet doors replaced (with custom-made identical doors) and repainted!

034

I’d tell you how much it cost, but I don’t remember(!)

6 Responses to “December Mortgage Update: Kitten-destroyed bathroom, during and after”

  1. Leigh Says:

    Yay! Silly kitties. And your mortgage is getting so tiny!

  2. nicoleandmaggie Says:

    Guys, we didn’t pick out the wallpaper, so it’s ok to say it was ugly paper anyway and wallpaper doesn’t really belong in bathrooms. (We just left things as the previous owners had them.)

  3. Mrs PoP Says:

    awww, kitties helping with demo work on ugly wallpaper were just being helpful! =)

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Who puts wallpaper in a bathroom anyway? Probably the same people who put carpet in bathrooms!

      • Leah Says:

        Carpet in bathrooms is the dumbest idea ever. We had that when I was a teen with brothers who didn’t dry off well enough. So disgusting until my parents could afford to switch it out a few years later. They actually ripped out the carpet, tub, etc and redid everything but the vanity in that bathroom.

        I actually think most wallpaper use is stupid. Maybe, if one applied the wallpaper correctly so it was easy to remove, it might be okay. And even more infuriating is when people paint over wallpaper. I can always see the seams, and it drives me crazy. And you are not easily removing painted-over wallpaper.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        The painters would have preferred to paint over the wallpaper (something they did do in the kitchen), but in this case, the kittens made that impossible. They even had to patch in small holes in the plaster before painting.


Leave a Reply

»
