What did we read over Thanksgiving?

Earlier I read A Darker Shade of Magic by V. S. Schwab.  I enjoyed it: YA fantasy about multiple Londons existing simultaneously.

I also liked Orbital Resonance by John Barnes:  teen nerds in space.

I’m loving the Cormoran Strike novels by Robert Galbraith (J. K. Rowling).  I can’t put them down and have stayed up way too late reading, also sometimes reading before work and almost being late.  Number two is The Silkworm.

Then we had a long weekend and I read a lot.

Mira Grant’s series about bloggers vs. zombies (Feed, Deadline, Blackout) are each around 600 pages in paperback.  I read the first two over Thanksgiving, along with some graphic novels.  I loved them, but they’re too violent for #2.  I still haven’t gotten to the third book in the series.

Lady Killer, continuing my trend of reading comics featuring strong women.

Lumberjanes #2, in which the girls earn their “Friendship to the Max!” badge.  Also dinosaurs.  You don’t need to have read the first volume to enjoy this one.

I really just love reading books very, very much.

#2 reread Seducing an Angel, not realizing she’d already read it even though she read the others in the series and was sure she hadn’t read the brother’s story yet when she most recently read the cousin’s story (in fairness I read the paperback ages ago not realizing/not caring it was part of a series and it looks nothing like the hardback).  It is sometimes fun to read books out of order and then you get a completely different feeling for them reading again them in chronological order when you know all of the characters.

Also, if you want a free kindle book, #2 enjoyed Daisy’s Aunt.  Yes, the plot is ridiculous (“Victorian melodrama”-lite), and if you’re looking for Mapp and Lucia you’re not going to find those levels of mean-spiritedness (even the villain is treated benevolently by the author), but E.F. Benson’s biting sense of humor definitely shows itself here and there, particularly in descriptions of the country estate.  And some of the main character’s dialogue, and some of the ridiculous minor characters.  Light and fun with little bits of devilish writing that make you take a second look and highlight with a little smirk.

What do you love doing very, very much?  Alternately, how do you approach series?

13 Responses to “What did we read over Thanksgiving?”

  1. KeAnne Says:

    I recently stumbled onto the Cormoran Strike books too and binge-read both in a weekend. I’m impatiently waiting for access to the 3rd from the library!

    If it is a series I love, I read as many as I can at once. That works well until I exhaust what the library has available LOL

  2. Mel Says:

    I really liked a Darker Shade of Magic. And I have the first Cormoran Strike novel ready to go for winter break.

  3. omdg Says:

    SLEEPING!!!

    I re-picked up, “All the Light They Cannot See,” the other day. It’s good! Hopefully I will have time to read some more of it today. I have appallingly run of the mill tastes in books. Oh well.

  4. chacha1 Says:

    I also love reading books very, very much. :-) Because I am on a book budget atm, I don’t tend to buy a whole series once I discover it – I space them out to fit my budget. Between the books I already own and the ones in my TBR I do not run out of stuff to read.

    It is a lot of mystery and romance right now. But also I picked up the Newsweek special publication on Star Trek’s 50th anniversary so I am willing to bet I will be reading some new or old Trek stuff soon.

  5. nicoleandmaggie Says:

    Yeah, I (#1) should specify that a lot of mine were from the library, or were gifts. I <3 the library system in Paradise! Speaking of which, I have a hold that's ready to pick up today…

  6. Tree of Knowledge Says:

    I’ve been adding library books to my kindle in planning for my holiday trip, so thanks for more recommendations. By the way, Gail Carriger’s _Manners & Mutiny_ is out if you haven’t gotten to it yet. I’m 7 on the wait list. :) And there’s a third Cormoran Strike.

  7. Debbie M Says:

    What I love doing very, very much is singing and dancing along to songs I really like. Oh, and getting backrubs (that aren’t too hard). And eating delicious foods. And staying warm when it’s cold–well all those physical things like: eating when hungry, drinking when thirsty, peeing with a full bladder. And weird communication things–like translating between programmers and users or writing documentation that makes complex issues more clear or changing up the lyrics of “Secret Agent Man” to be about Spanish agent nouns. And teamwork–the kind where bouncing ideas off each other lets something happen that would not have happened without a team. Like the way you might have just helped Chacha1 to have fabulously improved her future reading experience in the comments above!

    Oh yeah, and of course reading! I prefer to read series books in order because the writer has crafted what ze reveals based on that order. And then maybe reading them all again in order. And then reading my favorite ones more often. However, if the library doesn’t have one, I’ll happily skip it to be able to get to another one. And if I check out a book that I later find out is part of a series but not the first book, I’ll read it anyway. And if my friends recommend only some of the books in a series, I’ll trust them on that. Sometimes I have preferred finding things out in the “wrong” order.

  8. nicoleandmaggie Says:

    Guys– hey guys! Did you know that they’ve re-released some of the Ruth Chew!!!! books? OMG, I wonder if I should get them even though DC2 isn’t old enough and DC1 is too old. I’m not 100% sure which ones we have at home (and some of them are in *really* bad condition since I got them used back in the early 80s).

    What the witch left was always my favorite. I still wish I had that magic box…


Leave a Reply

