Library Haul

After talking with #2, I decided to reread My Antonia.  I’d forgotten about the racism (#2 has been having this problem with books she read as a child as well– how did I forget?).  Also, having grown up somewhere with hot summers, I completely don’t believe that whole “it’s hot but we didn’t really notice it, and summer is totally beautiful” bunk.  Heat stroke is real, and not fun.

Anno Dracula.  It was ok.  A little bit too proud of itself.  I wanted to know more about the 400-year-old female vampire.

The Lyttelton Hart-Davis Letters (vol. 1).  Just two English guys being nice to each other, gossiping, talking about books, and how much they like each other.  Soothing and cheerful.  A good read before bed.

The Gates of Sleep, one of Mercedes Lackey’s Elemental Masters series.  Turns out I had already read it and I just kept forgetting.  It’s the sleeping beauty retelling.  The heroine triumphs through her own internal fortitude, aided by love of her family and friends.  A good popcorn read with a happy ending.  Get it from the library.

The Anchoress by Robyn Cadwallader.  Took a chance on this one because it looked interesting.  (Was it worth it?)  Yes.

Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson.  Not just a description, a philosophy!  The Blogess deals with her mental illnesses by writing funny things.

#2 read um… some more Loretta Chase, which continues to be mixed.  She does recommend Last Night’s Scandal and so far she’s enjoying the Dressmakers series.  She found Balogh’s Simply Unforgettable to be irritating with one of those a single serious conversation would have  ended the book a lot earlier tropes.  So much dragging.  Also, the heroes’ persistence would be scary if he were the villain.  The other books in that series are great though.

8 Responses to “Library Haul”

  1. Leah Says:

    Even with the racism and whatnot, I still love My Antonia. Such a beautiful book. I really like Willa Cather in general. If you enjoy her writing, I suggest checking out One of Ours.

    • Katherine Says:

      I agree about Willa Cather and My Antonia. I’m reading One of Ours now. I’m on the lookout for a cheap used copy of Death Comes for the Archbishop, because I read it in high school and loved it so much that I gave my copy away – I’d like to reread it and see if I still love it as much.

      Another of my favorite authors (maybe I have a midwest thing going here?) is Marilynne Robinson. I love Gilead, Home, and Lila. They’re beautifully written.

  2. independentclause Says:

    No time to read! I’m too busy watching Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries. Total popcorn.

  3. Catwoman73 Says:

    Saving this so I can find some new reading material once I finish watching Making a Murderer. I’m addicted.

  4. Cheyanne Says:

    My aunt just sent me a copy of Furiously Happy! I plan to start reading it this weekend when I go to the laundry mat :)

    OH, and I’ve heard THE BEST things about Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries! I haven’t started it yet though


Leave a Reply

