link love

This week in steps. Turns out 3500 is harder to come by than 3000. So much with the pacing.
Sat:  9334
Sun: 3536
Mon:3812
Tue:4529
Wed:3610
Thurs:3520
Fri:  (will update after I’ve paced at least another 1K…) : 3581

DH should be enjoying my stepping because I’ve been volunteering to do a lot of errands that I’m usually quite happy to let him do, usually involving picking up or dropping off the kids by foot (I even walked them to get haircuts last Sunday!).

Intersectionality exists!

I don’t think we skipped that sentence, but boy howdy did we have long conversations about inappropriate ethnic stereotypes with A Secret Garden.  You’ve got to be taught, before it’s too late, before you are 6 or 7 or 8…

DNLee discusses Formation as a black academic.

History behind Formation.

birth control alcohol pairings

Note in that last tweet, the woman has to be *better* qualified, not equally.

The only thing that surprised me in this article is that women don’t say closer to the same thing as the men.

Bernie, we love ya, but MATH.

It is not a coincidence.

Sometimes when a bigot who has harmed millions of people dies and you can’t help but giggle.

Accusations! Context! Math!

Do you LOVE tea?  How about being more like Gwyneth Paltrow?

I endorse this (warning: language describing an abomination)

somewhat similar to our upcoming Monday post

whoops!

there are no stupid college majors

The article on college savings is pretty bad (as are MOST of the articles on college savings written by personal finance bloggers– they repeat the same misguided stuff– I suppose I could Monday money post a rant on the topic one of these days given how tired I am of leaving the same, “Well, actually…” comments everywhere), but this comment by a college registrar is SPOT ON.

burnout, creativity, and the tyranny of production schedules

I’d always assumed top people changed careers because they got bored, not because they wanted to prove or disprove their impostor syndrome.  Really interesting idea.

How did I not notice this bonus BCN?

Did you know this about Hugh Laurie?

Really interesting twitter thread by Courtney Milan.

Books that feel like home and the false neutral.

I don’t know why this person says sorcerer to the crown takes after Jonathan Strange instead of say, anything by Mary Robinette Kowal or Caroline Stervermer or Patricia Wrede or any of the other modern “Jane Austen/Georgette Heyer with magic books” (a genre that we have loved since ForEver).  It didn’t seem much like JS & MN at all, especially in the way that unlike EVERY OTHER modern “JA/GH with magic book,” JS&MN had pretty much no women (which, I assume, is why it given more credit than its superior literary sisters).  Other than that, a great analysis of the book, especially in terms of the racial themes.

When chickens go wild.

 

10 Responses to “link love”

  1. Catwoman73 Says:

    Thank you for the link, N&M! And for obvious reasons, I’m looking forward to your upcoming Monday post!

  2. Jenny F Scientist Says:

    I can’t remember if I even finished JS/MN. I remember thinking it would have been better at half the length. I’ve also lately gone on a boycott of Dudely Books where the women are only props. For whatever reason, my tolerance has run right out.

  3. Sarah @ littlebusontheprairie.com Says:

    Hey, the secret garden link isn’t working. I just listened to it on audio with my 5 &7 yos and I’m curious to read the article.

  4. Kellen Says:

    I liked the article on no college majors are bad–although I do feel like having the degree I have compensated for me being a shy/bad interviewee as a new grad, and lacking a good network. I know that some universities are better at doing internship/co-op programs than other universities, which seems like a *really* valuable thing for a university to have for any field of study, but not something that college counselors / parents / college review sites ever seem to talk about when students are trying to choose a school.

    • gasstationwithoutpumps Says:

      The hs2coll mailing list on yahoo (homeschool to college) discusses internship programs quite often—maybe it matters more to homeschoolers? It mainly comes up in discussing engineering programs, though, which may not be what you had in mind.

      • AccountantByDay Says:

        Actually, my boyfriend is an engineer, and he has lamented that his university did not have a co-op program, and his friend’s did, because he felt like it would make him a much more competitive job seeking candidate (he went on directly to grad school so no actual experience with trying to get a private-sector job yet). I did accounting, where internships are common, and I think really helpful. I work at a company now that has engineering co-ops who have worked part time for us all 4 years of college, and I am really envious that they are getting so much time to experience and get comfortable in a work environment similar to what they might encounter later.

        I think it should matter to non-home-schoolers and home-schoolers alike–I wonder if home schooling parents are more proactive about knowing this stuff than my parents and friends parents were because they figured the school counselor would handle it?

      • AccountantByDay Says:

        My point with all the rambling about engineering vs. accounting is just to say: those are the only fields I know anything about.


Leave a Reply

