RBOC

  • DH says:  Detroit has a place called plum market that sells some zingermans products, like coffee cake and candy bars. Detroit may be my new favorite airport.
  • Money back from taxes (yay) goes straight back to the government to pay next year’s estimated taxes (booo).  At least we can send direct…  I think maybe next year when our situation has evened out again I’ll start getting more withheld from my paycheck because it’s less painful than writing big estimated taxes checks and takes less memory.  (Why do we pay estimated taxes?  Mainly because we’re earning money in taxable accounts from dividends that get dripped back into their respective indexes.  So, can’t complain about making money for having money.)
  • Apparently you don’t get a 7 day grace period when you’ve gotten a kindle book as a gift rather than purchasing it yourself (if you, for example, accept and then realize the book is not worth reading or you’ve already read it or whatever).
  • related:  if you’re thinking that a Balogh reissue looks like it might be worth putting on your amazon list because it has a small number of 5 star ratings and no bad ratings, just don’t.
  • I think you also can’t loan kindle books you got as a present rather than purchasing yourself.
  • I woke up with the theme song to the tv show Benson stuck in my head.  And I thought to myself, that was a show about a black man as lieutenant governor.  I wonder why they don’t make more tv shows like that these days and I wonder why so few people talk about that show.  So I looked it up on Google and realized that I had come to the show rather late and that Benson actually started out as the Magic Negro Trope butler and was apparently canceled by the network just before getting a chance to become governor.  So kind of a bittersweet thing.  I just happened to come in at the right age to miss the more racist stuff.  Also, with the google I was able to put Robert Guillaume the musical theater actor together in my mind with the guy who played  Benson.
  • omg.  DH came home with a Kringle from TJ’s imported from Wisconsin and it tasted just like I remembered.  I hadn’t thought about kringles for years.   Sooooo good.  Pecan too, which is my favorite (or maybe cheese or cherry, but pecan seems more standard).  Oh man.
  • DC2 has learned knock-knock jokes.  Hilarity ensues.
Posted in Uncategorized. Tags: . 28 Comments »

28 Responses to “RBOC”

  1. Leah Says:

    Plum Market is so awesome! It’s a grocery store chain in that area. I used to shop at one in A2. It’s like Whole Foods . . . but better! I still have some Plum Market bags.

  2. CG Says:

    Yay for Plum Market and Zingerman’s! I am biased, but I really think the Detroit airport is one of the nicest ones in the country. Tell DH next time he’s in the airport he should try Bigalora for pizza–another excellent A2 outpost in the airport.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      He made a note of it!

      I’ve been to the Detroit airport twice, but both times were for conferences, so I never spent much time actually *in* the airport.

    • Linda Says:

      It’s been a long time since I’ve been in the Detroit Airport. It sounds like it has improved drastically since then. Of course, it could only go up from how bad it was 15 years ago. I recall broken monitors that made it impossible to keep up with your flight status if you strayed from the gate area (usually, it was delayed), and a cafeteria-style restaurant with very unhealthy food choices that closed around 7 PM. Or maybe that was only in the United terminal.

  3. Cloud Says:

    I don’t think lending depends on whether the Kindle book was a gift or a direct purchase, but the publisher gets to decide whether or not you can lend the book.

    We owed a decent amount in taxes, which sucked. But apparently the penalty for not doing estimated taxes is just the interest the government would have earned on the money if we’d paid the estimated taxes… and that was like $10. So at least we didn’t get a huge penalty for not paying estimated taxes last year. We’ll pay them this year, now that our income situation has stabilized a bit, because even though it was tiny, it is called a “penalty” and that makes my husband antsy.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      I had originally thought that about lending, except that I don’t think it is just that. There may be a way to lend from within the kindle itself, but the links just aren’t there from the amazon book page. There’s no “you purchased this book” or “you own this book” indicator of any kind for things that were given as gifts rather than purchased, which is where the “loan this book” usually is. In addition, from the main manage your content and devices page, it seems odd that I can loan many of the books I purchased (including one that I accidentally refused the gift for and then rebought my self with that credit) but none of the ones that were gifted to me. Even with the same publisher and author (see: courtney milan) that aren’t brand new.

      • Cloud Says:

        That is the first I’ve heard of that. I’ll have to check my agreement with Amazon!

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        I can’t find anything, but I also can’t find anything about not being able to return kindle book gifts within the grace period.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        I am curious though to see if the person who bought the book for me can loan it to other people. Or maybe it’s just a random coincidence. I don’t feel like I’ve gotten to the bottom of this, but I am very tempted to not accept gifts and then to use the credit for purchasing the book from my account.

      • Cloud Says:

        I’ll check the publishers agreement. That still won’t completely answer it, because big publishers get different agreements than little people like me do, but maybe it will say something.

        One thing I can think might make a difference: is the email address to which the gift was sent the same as the email address you have tied to your account? If not, maybe that causes some weirdness.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        I have no idea. I mean, I can’t find anything on the website or in the email they sent saying that books given as gifts get a different grace period than do books purchased directly. And yet, they do and you have to contact customer service to get a refund (and they can’t actually delete the book from their end like they can returns).

        My guess is that the way they treat gifts is not fully integrated. That’s why I can get mp3s of cds that I bought for other people from them. But that’s just speculation.

  4. Ana Says:

    I didn’t know there was a grace period! oh well, sunk costs and all. the rest is a bunch of gobbledy-gook (Zimmerman’s? Kringles? sure I googled, but I’d never heard of before)

  5. gwinne Says:

    I haven’t thought about Benson in years–thanks for the reminder!!

    I will be in the Detroit airport tomorrow, hopefully :) Zingerman’s is awesome.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      It really is! Sadly they didn’t have any chocolate cherry bread at the airport, but DH doesn’t know if they just never carry it or if they sell out early. The coffeecake he brought home was good!

  6. First Gen American Says:

    How timely. I am in Detroit metro airport right now….and when I came here all the time back in the day, it was a much dumpier airport. It’s very nice now.

  7. Revanche Says:

    Zingerman’s!!! We love their bacon.

    Kindle buying and lending and weirdness is why I always hesitant to buy books from Kindle. I dislike being told what I can and cannot do with the things I’ve bought.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      If I didn’t travel so much, I think I would want everything in paperback. But the kindle is awfully convenient for trips.

      • Rented Life Says:

        That’s what got me using the kindle more–a couple random work trips. It was nice to have something so easy to pack in my purse and have more than one thing to read.

  8. Leigh Says:

    My boyfriend grumbles about it, but I’ve instructed him to claim 0 allowances on his W-4 and have $X extra per paycheck come off for taxes to handle the taxes on his taxable investments and his bonuses that aren’t taxed enough. He’d rather do it this way though than owe at tax time or pay estimated taxes. I don’t have to have extra withheld from my paychecks anymore because my bonus money is a small portion of my overall pay now and I have very little in taxable dividends/interest and tons of deductions such that I was able to just claim 2 allowances on my W-4 this year! The allowances are confusing to sort out though when your income isn’t stable.

    There are so many more complications with gifting/loaning books on Kindle that I’d rather just send the person a gift card for that much money and let them buy the book themselves. If it’s your husband (but I assume it’s more likely #2), at least you can do household sharing and read each other’s books for free with no complications.

    Do you know the trick about keeping Kindle library books past the N days your library lets you? I keep WiFi turned off and sideload them via USB and they never go away :D

    • chacha1 Says:

      I also claim 0 allowances on my W-4, and it helps a lot at tax time when the Mr. is facing up to his self-employment tax bill. Of course, this means that functionally, I have never gotten “my” refund – till this year – because we’ve always elected to roll over any overpayment to reduce the next whack of estimated taxes. This year we are getting fat refunds because his income was down, his estimated tax payments weren’t, and I got an education tax credit … so we can roll over the usual amount and STILL get money back.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        nice! (I’m sure you would have preferred income not being down, but still!)

      • Rented Life Says:

        We owe this year–a lot actually and it was a huge shock. The money I was going to use to pay off my student loan balance is going to taxes instead. (I’m not happy about this but at least we had the money to pay instead of not.0 If I change the allowances to 0 will that change anything?

  9. Jenny F. Scientist Says:

    Re: taxes, I once tried to explain the American tax system to a bunch of French people and they looked at me with mounting incredulity and then showed me the two page (one front, one back) form they filled out. Higher tax rate, socialized everything, very high percentage of population is govt. employees, etc. etc., but also our tax code is RIDICULOUS.


Leave a Reply

