Guilty pleasures

Have we done a post on these yet?  If we did, it was before 2011, since that’s when this post was last modified…

Okok, I totally love high school girl Japanese anime.

And I know I’m not the only person who used to have a thing for farm-wife blogs.  Oddly I no longer find these interesting, possibly because I have my own two kids.

Also, cheetos.

Speaking of cheesy, #2 has a thing for bad erotica.  (I think she has a thing for good erotica too, but that wouldn’t be a guilty pleasure, right?  Just like there are no apologies for liking good romance novels.)

What are your guilty pleasures?

Posted in Uncategorized. Tags: . 44 Comments »

44 Responses to “Guilty pleasures”

  1. First Gen American Says:

    Donuts. (But never was a craving until I gave up coffee)

    Historical romance movies. Bollywood musicals.

    I also went though a mommy blog/farm wife phase but I find that it passed once i liked my job again and I have my own mini farm now. (Chickens, garden, maple syrup making, cider pressing good times). Much better to live the life you want than pine over someone else’s version of it.)

    My husband loves bad horror movies. Re: sharknado.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      I do not at all feel guilty about historical romances! Well, maybe Stephanie Laurens sometimes…

      But Georgette Heyer or Courtney Milan, they’re Quality. Like actual literature.

  2. Ana Says:

    cheese puffs. reading certain internet forums (fora?)
    I don’t otherwise feel “guilty” about my choice of food or entertainment—there is no “right” answer for a truly subjective experience, and I unapologetically like what I like.

  3. hollyatclubthrifty Says:

    My husband and I watch all of the Real World/Road Rules challenges on MTV. They are awful and I can’t believe we watch them, but we do and we enjoy it.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Back when the real world had only been around for a few seasons, I watched some all-day marathons on MTV. It was surprisingly good! I understand quality has dropped a lot since reality tv took off. But I get the hook.

  4. Linda Says:

    Sleeping past 7 AM a couple times a year. Taking a nap in the afternoon on weekdays. That’s about it.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      … past 7 am a couple of times a year?

      I *wish* I could nap in the afternoon. #2 can! But I don’t think she feels guilty about it.

      • Linda Says:

        Well, yeah. Since moving to the west coast my work hours start with a wake up alarm no later 6 AM. (Although this week has had too many 5 AM wake ups, and that makes me grumpy.) On the non-work days, the dog almost always wakes me up no later than 6 because she doesn’t understand the concept of “weekends.” Since I have no partner to get up and take care of her (thereby allowing me to sleep in) it’s up to me to do so. Every once in a while, the dog will sleep in, too, and then I usually can sleep until 7 or even 8 AM. Those days are incredibly rare (I’m estimating maybe once or twice a year.) The afternoon naps are mostly 10 to 20 minutes long and are necessary due to the early hours. Every once in a while, though, when I don’t have an alarm set to wake me up (and therefore no afternoon meetings) I will fall into a long, deep sleep and not wake up for a good hour. I need to avoid those naps. They make me long for more sleep, and I can’t afford to sleep more.

  5. Miser Mom Says:

    Q-tips. Individually wrapped chocolate (because I try to avoid trash, but *chocolate*!). My second hour of internet browsing. My third hour of internet browsing. (etc).

  6. chacha1 Says:

    I’m like Ana, I don’t really feel guilty about any of my pleasures, even if they are “lowbrow” or whatever. :-) Life is too short to feel guilty about things we enjoy, as long as we are not hurting anyone else.

    That said, there are certain unproductive things that I occasionally do, and while I don’t truly feel *guilty* about doing them, I do get that twinge of Upper Midwest Protestant Work Ethic that says “you should be doing something useful.” I then proceed to stomp that m*****f***** into submission.

    Case in point: last night. I had a little to-do list. Instead of addressing that, I finished the book I had going on Kindle 2, read a book on Kindle 1 until the battery died, and then went to bed and read a little bit of “A Pattern Language.” Dinner was cheese and crackers and wine. The important stuff got done. :-)

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Protestant Work Ethic has control of me too.

      Though today I have been so over the moon about HRC that I’ve gotten nothing productive done. (#2 is pleased, but voted for Sanders and she refuses to listen to HRC’s speech because she doesn’t like political speeches, so she’s not feeling as buzzed. The speech was SO AWESOME.)

      • Kay Says:

        Hey there I voted for sanders but was pretty jazzed by Clinton’s speech too! 😄 I’m hoping this is the trend!

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        I know, I kind of feel like if #2 would listen to the speech she’d feel more optimistic and hopeful, you know? It was just LOVELY.

        I felt hopelets and rightness that I hadn’t felt since 2008. (Yes we can!)

    • Anu Says:

      Isn’t A Pattern Language so interesting? I’d never thought to think about my surroundings in that way. I’m hoping it will be useful when we make renovations to our new condo or for decorating.

      • chacha1 Says:

        It is, very interesting, and not at all what I was somehow expecting. The communalist utopianism of it all is pretty astounding.

  7. Debbie M Says:

    Early retirement. I feel guilty because other people have to work. On the other hand, two people have jobs because I left.

    Mediocre action movies.

    All kinds of junk food.

    Wearing sneakers every day, even when I worked.

  8. Omdg Says:

    Watching inside Amy schemer. I am almost out of episodes!

  9. jjiraffe Says:

    Fun one! Let’s see:

    I keep up with pop culture blogs, but only if they have a feminist take (LaineyGossip is my fave).

    I love the movie The English Patient and could watch it a million times. Most people I know have the Elaine Benes/Larry David/Seinfeld opinion ;) https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_English_Patient_(Seinfeld)

  10. Revanche @ A Gai Shan Life Says:

    I don’t feel guilty but I feel like a doofus when I go into my fourth hour of reading before bed and I’m shorter on sleep than ever before. I’m an adult, I shouldn’t still be so enthralled by a book that I can’t put it down and get some sleep!

    I’d eat enough brownies to knock out ten people if I could. Does it count if the scenario I know WOULD happen can’t only because I don’t have time to bake anymore? For sure I’d do it.

  11. Leah Says:

    My netflix list and my music choices — my brothers remind me regularly that I like “crappy” popular stuff. Oh, well. Mayor Cupcake was actually a really good movie!

  12. undine Says:

    Advice columns and, yes, the comments sometimes, including the Chronicle forums. Complete waste of time, as in TOTAL waste of time. Sometimes I break the addiction for a while.

  13. Leigh Says:

    I feel guilty for supporting Hillary. I read a great post about the fact that Hillary supporters are much quieter than Sanders supporters and often don’t want to be identified, which is so true. Why do I feel guilty for this? Anytime I’ve expressed that I support her, I’ve seen pretty terrible responses,e.g. talking about why she should go to prison. (Yes really.) So I’ve stopped telling anyone.

    I don’t think I have too many guilty pleasures. I mostly own the things I care about.


Leave a Reply

