ask the grumpies: Favorite sing-a-long?

Leah:

What is the best sing-along song ever?

I can tell you my current least favorite is this one song on Starfall about the days of the week.  Today is Friiiday.

Let’s go with the Wheels on the Bus.  They go round and round.

14 Responses to “ask the grumpies: Favorite sing-a-long?”

  1. Miser Mom Says:

    When my kids were a certain age, I used to put them in stitches by conflating “Wheels on the Bus” with “Old MacDonald”: “The cow on the bus say moo, moo, moo!”.

    • Leah Says:

      Tee hee :-) I will try this in the future! We haven’t quite busted into Old McDonald yet, and I’m not sure why. My little one loves animals and animal noises.

  2. Leah Says:

    Doesn’t have to be a kid song — what songs do you love to sing in the car? Don’t Stop Believin’, for example. Or Bohemian Rhapsody.

    Personally, if I’m driving alone for any distance, I love to put on musical CDs and belt out the lyrics. Phantom, Les Mis, Miss Saigon, Into the Woods, Camelot, Assassins — all good.

    My little loves to sing Itsy Bitsy Spider and Twinkle Twinkle Little Star. Slippery Fish is another favorite — worth looking up if you don’t know it. It’s a pretty silly song.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      It may not have to be a kid song for you, but for us, that’s kind of crowded out everything else.

      Since this post was written, the kids have discovered bubble guppies.

  3. crazy grad mama Says:

    I just spent the last ten minutes singing “C is for Cookie” (or as my toddler calls it, “She-ee Oh Shee”) over and over and over. Does that count?

  4. nicoleandmaggie Says:

    #2 here. When I was a kid I had this totally awesome cassette tape called Sesame Street Sing-Along. The plot (yes!) was that Bert was taking a bath and he sang a little song. Ernie came and noticed the awesome acoustics of the bathroom and he started singing too. Then other people come and sing. The whole time, Bert is trying to get out of the bath and begging someone to just hand him a towel already, while more and more of Sesame Street crams into their bathroom and he is stuck in the tub. At the very end the University of Michigan marching band appears.

  5. Rosa Says:

    I was always a fan of YMCA and The Hobo’s Lullabye for singalongs. I have bittersweet memories of singing YMCA in the back seat with the rear-facing infant until I was hoarse – he liked having his arms and legs moved – during horrible long night drives to visit family. So many terrible infancy things turn into sweet memories if you get through them in the first place.

    Also for some reason whenever I picked him up from daycare “I’m Going to Pick My Baby Up From Jail” would go through my head. This is hideously inappropriate for a million reasons, starting with using a Civil Rights protest song as baby entertainment and including that his daycare was awesome and not at all jail-like. So instead we would sing Dump the Bosses Off Your Back.

    And for a while the Springsteen version of Pay Me My Money Down was big around here, too.

    Now it’s all Minecraft filk. I miss the kid music and the time when I had control of what we listened to.

  6. lessisenough Says:

    There’s a version of Today Is Monday recorded in Mississippi by Alan Lomax in the 1930s (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4apglbkUcYI) that I included as the first song on a playlist of middle-aged angst songs — it started as a joke, but then I left it on for various reasons, and then I burned a cd of the playlist and sent to a couple of friends. One of my friends said she now uses it as punishment when her kids are bad in the car, she threatens to play Today is Monday. And they’re like no no we’ll be good!

    One of the reasons I ended up leaving the song on is because it reminded me of the Most Unwanted Song that I heard about This American Life, with a children’s choir singing about holidays. So I feel like I got to a point with that song that it’s so bad that I love it.

  7. R. Says:

    Classic songs can be educational as well as entertaining. They are easier on everyone’s ears and yet can provide a shared reference for parents and offspring. So, for example, when our kids would occasionally whine and beg for something we didn’t want or need to give them, we’d ask:

    “What does Mick Jagger say?” And they’d answer (in that “we’ve lost this battle,” dejected little-kid tone): “You can’t always get what you want…” And we’d prompt: “But?” To which the correct (but more-dejected) reply was: “Yeah, we know… you get what you need.”

    Your mileage may vary.

  8. Revanche @ A Gai Shan Life Says:

    The 5 little (puppies, monkeys, kittens, monsters) jumping on the bed song is a current constant, as is the 3 Little Kittens. And the entire Hamilton soundtrack except for the Stay Alive (reprise) and It’s Quiet Uptown because I can’t deal with those right now.


Leave a Reply

