Things that negatively affect my mood

Lack of sleep

Lack of a feeling of control/feeling overwhelmed/being told I have to do stuff or that I’m not doing enough stuff

Having future deadlines but not being able to work on them even though I planned to work on them because other people have dropped the ball and there’s nothing I can work on in the meantime while I wait because I already did it all or I would have to get into the mindset for a completely different project and I just don’t have that mental load and I know everybody is going to get back to me at the same time too close to multiple deadlines and I’m going to be stressed out.

Eating sugar or refined carbohydrates and sugar-crashing

Low blood sugar more generally

Mild tummy aches/headaches

impatient drivers behind me who want me to risk my life making a left turn across traffic

Sometimes hormonal imbalances

Whining (other people’s not my own, and literal whining)

Mansplaining

Did I mention people flaking out on me?

Grumpy nation, what harshes your buzz?

28 Responses to “Things that negatively affect my mood”

  1. ralucacoldea Says:

    Not enough sun. My energy comes from sunshine and reading so if those things don’t happen, I’m grumpy.

  2. Revanche @ A Gai Shan Life Says:

    People telling me to do things that I was always intending to do. If it’s off my timeline, I’ve noticed that it’s been putting my hackles up lately, even if they totally don’t mean a thing by it and it was only brought up because it was on their minds.

    It’s possible I’m going feral.

    • Norwegian Forest Cat Says:

      This is my big one right now, too! It’s especially irritating when the amount of time spent re-re-hashing the thing that is already on my to-do list would have been enough time to do the thing.

      I’ve realized that these reminders make me feel like the person doesn’t believe I manage my time effectively, keep track of my obligations appropriately, and/or know how to do the thing the right way, and that’s what makes me cranky – not the actual reminder itself. One more thing to add to the self-improvement to-do list, I guess!

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        In academia many people are flakes, so admin tend to broadcast email reminders pretty constantly. I’ve decided to go with the flow and have been known to miss meetings if I don’t get the last reminder about them. It’s just easier to become a flake.

      • Norwegian Forest Cat Says:

        Oh, I actually love admin reminders! I’m still at a stage that the only reminders I get are for essential things (i.e. I don’t get paid if I don’t go to the thing), so those are very appreciated. The reminders about my everyday tasks at work are the things that are not so much fun to get. I only have 2 hands and have thus far been unsuccessful at my attempts to make time pass more quickly (or slowly, depending on the purpose), so reminders do not help.

      • Revanche @ A Gai Shan Life Says:

        Yes! I get the “we should work on…” message and my eyes just narrow to slits because I WILL WHEN I HAVE THE TIME. It’s on the dang list, so shush up about it already.

  3. nicoleandmaggie Says:

    As an update, that third point actually did happen to me in the end. Oddly I am not as grumpy about having all the work (and deadlines) in front of me as I am when I could avoid the deadline if people weren’t flaking. Not blissfully happy either, but the anticipation is always more irritating for me.

  4. hollyatclubthrifty Says:

    Right now, putting my kids to bed is a nightmare and they are ruining my life. School just went back in session and I’m paying for the fact I was awful about bedtimes all summer.
    Dealing with people on the phone.
    Getting invited to MLM parties weekly.
    Tried to lose 3 or 4 pounds, gained 2 instead.

  5. Nanani Says:

    Having to wait around because of vague plans and/or people being flaky.
    Encountering assholes in something I do for relaxation – like trolls in online games.
    Phone calls.

  6. Ana Says:

    Ugh, yes, all of that. especially the sleep thing right now. my kingdom for 7 uninterrupted hours of sleep.

  7. Susan Says:

    Colleague poaching my lab tech.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      I am STILL mad at him. I thought that the year would soften my anger, but no. (And the RA had put me first for hir preferences and he was going to get his second choice RA. I didn’t get any of my 3 choices and ended up with someone who left halfway through the year. And the replacement person was terrible. Ugh.) This was the second time he poached someone from me after the official decision had been made.

      Very grumpy.

  8. jjiraffe Says:

    My biggest pain point is feeling used. Nothing worse for me than putting tons of time and energy into something (as my time is extremely limited) and then someone taking it all for granted. Or worse, crapping on me for it not being enough!! Ain’t no one got time for that.

  9. Practical Parsimony Says:

    I hate waiting for people who never show up or are so late that my plans are thrown off for the day. This is especially true if it is the same person repeatedly displaying the same offense. I actually lose sleep if I am supposed to meet someone at my home, even if the person has never been a no-show or tardy.

    One woman said she would be here as soon as she dropped her children off for school at 8 am. I got up 30 minutes earlier, got dressed, gulped down breakfast, and sat until 10:30 when she called and said she would be here in a few minutes. When I complained to her that I lost needed sleep because I got up early, she said that was why she did not come early. She wanted to give me a chance to get my sleep. Once, she pointed out I did not work, had no children, and that she thought I should be able to be flexible.

    The main things that negatively affect my mood: hunger, cloudy days, losing sleep, waiting for people.

  10. Becca Says:

    Traffic.
    Rigidity of Roo’s new school (supply scavenger hunt, nut free snack list, uniforms, not opening the door because we are 4 minutes early, asking hir to raise hir hand when you’ve set up worksheets but not distributed pencils and ze asked what to complete it with). Seriously, I got so freaked out dropping hir off today. I’m still trying to figure out how much is my own unresolved issues (I had an atrocious 2nd grade year) vs. how much is them being unreasonable (it’s a charter, so I get the feeling they’ve got all the worst of the “you don’t pay us so we don’t have to keep you happy” vibe of some publics with the worst “we are not accountable to the public and the more difficult we make it for families the more we will select for those with large amounts of discretionary time and money, boosting test scores” vibe of some privates. Very unwelcoming, whatever it is).

  11. chacha1 Says:

    hmm, things that negatively affect my mood … the list is so long!
    For starters:
    lack of sleep, weather too hot, doing a good job and knowing it will count for nothing if they decide to lay one of us off, getting poor or nonexistent instructions for some new task, feeling like 9/10 major points in my life have been compromised in someone else’s favor, providing complete parameters for an event six months in advance and having the other people on the team dither around like panicky nitwits two weeks in advance because they never studied the parameters.

  12. nicoleandmaggie Says:

    #2 says, slow drivers make me irritable and lack of carbohydrates makes me hangry. Patriarchy is just rage-inducing, too. Oh, and when it gets dark super-early. That makes me hella sleepy.

    Being too hot.
    Meetings that could have been an email.

  13. CG Says:

    “I would have to get into the mindset for a completely different project and I just don’t have that mental load”
    Thanks for putting this into words for me. I spent a bunch of time this summer feeling guilty about not cramming in new projects while waiting for other people to get back to me about ongoing projects, but I just could not do it. I’m letting go of the guilt. I only have so much capacity, and really it’s enough and stuff will get done at some point without my making myself crazy.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Waiting for people to get things done is one of the main reasons I’m so good about getting referee reports in on time or early…

      • CG Says:

        I didn’t even have any of those in my queue this summer! Of course I just got two yesterday now that I have other stuff going on.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        Isn’t that how it always happens? SRSLY.

        I’m in a patch of that right now. *sigh* Though I did just knock the first major deadline out this past weekend (due tomorrow! … but if I waited until then, I would not have a chance of meeting the next deadline).


Leave a Reply

