link love

Despite what the news wants you to believe, there are actually more important things going on right now than Donald Trump’s twitter “strategy” or his change in campaign managers.  Unfortunately, most of that news is depressing too.  Riots in Milwaukee, flooding in Louisiana, Zika spreading in Florida, wildfires burning homes in Southern California.  #2 wants to hear about these things just as little as she wants to hear about Trump.  However, these things are important.  I don’t know what to do about police violence in Milwaukee.  You can write your congressperson about Zika.  Wildfires in CA… write your congressperson about climate change?  But the flooding in Louisiana, that’s something we can actually do something about, and when I switched radio-stations so as to avoid the NPR in depth Trump twitter piece, our non-NPR station was doing an in-depth story on that and lamenting the fact that they’re not getting as many donations as previous major floods because the major news networks were too busy covering Trump.  That’s like the opposite of ironic.  So anyway, there are ways that you can help.  And, of course, since NPR isn’t all bad, the next morning they did a story about flooded schools that were already strapped for cash, which, of course, led me to one of my favorite charities, Donors Choose– they’re letting you pre-donate specifically to Louisiana teachers affected by flooding.  (Problem with donors choose– once I’m on the site, I end up spending more than I had intended!) Man, and August is supposed to be a slow news month.  Interesting times suck.

Texas wants women to die.

More F the police.  Also this one.

A woman escaping from messed up religious messages about sex

Why saying that Hillary Clinton has epilepsy is harmful

Ok, one little trump link.  This just in, WATER IS WET.

Meanwhile, across from Sarah Palin’s house

More cheerful stuff:  Death rates by state.

Not of General Interest discusses class and education and canning.  Looks like we tagged her previous post as well.

Family recurrence map

How Jessica Williams transformed The Daily Show

Why is Sara Benincasa so fat?

These pencils are awesome.  If only #2 used pencils or they made them in pens!

A rare example of a non-sexist article about Clinton.  Read it!  Because CNN needs to be encouraged to write more nonsexist stuff about HRC the candidate.

Everything is f*’d:  The Syllabus

Send gifts pls

Why we say eleven, twelve

Mental floss is a rabbit hole

Escapist fiction recommendations that aren’t primarily romances.

We need fluffy diverse books!

Books about books

This made me smile

 

5 Responses to “link love”

  1. gasstationwithoutpumps Says:

    Those fertility and death rates are not very useful for comparison, as they have no correction for the distribution of population by age. States with very high fertility rates are likely to be dominated by young people, who have a much lower death rate than old people. There are much better mortality and fertility tables available if you really want to compare health conditions in different states.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      That info is on a different page if you poke around on the same website. I was not actually looking for age adjusted, but they have that as well. But yes, thank you for explaining age adjustment to a couple of social scientists. We never would have thought of that without a man explaining it to us.

      • gasstationwithoutpumps Says:

        Sorry, I was not intending mansplaining.

        I wasn’t sure why you were pointing us to the statistics that you did—what is the point of the non-age-adjusted rates? One of the problem with link lists is that I often miss the point of providing the links—perhaps I need things explained to me more. I’m not a social scientist, so if there is a good use for this data, I would appreciate an explanation.

        I have looked up the age-adjusted rates and the population and death rates by age on the CDC site before, which is part of the reason I was confused the pointer to what I think of as one of CDC’s least useful pages on mortality statistics.

  2. Steph Says:

    My friend lives in a rural area now, and when I visited last week, she wanted to can pickle relish. I got excited, because my grandma always has jars of spicy pickle relish around, so I emailed her for the recipe. She responded, puzzled, that she just bought relish and chili sauce at the store, and mixed them and kept the jars in the fridge. But that if I really wanted, here was my great-aunt’s recipe, which she had made once with my great-aunt, and it was a hot awful slog. My friend and I ended up making a simpler recipe, and it was fun, but it fits with that post on canning and class – we weren’t trying to support our families on it, and if it failed (as my friend’s previous two canning attempts failed), there were no lasting consequences. We were just having fun and making something.

    Quilting and other fiber arts are this way too – it’s become a hobby, because it’s no longer cheaper to make clothes and blankets yourself. We no longer have to recycle old clothes into new clothes and blankets to save money. The same grandma as above is a quilter, and she can also point to old family clothes in many of her quilts, especially the older ones, but she also buys new material and does it more for fun these days.

    It also reminds me of a post I read years ago about eco-friendly/low-waste/DIY house-cleaning items. It talked about how it’s all the rage to go back to how our grandmothers cleaned, but that ignored how revolutionary those convenient, disposable products were for those women. Women in past generations were responsible for keeping an impeccable house, even if they had a job outside the home, and those products made their lives so much easier. They would be confused (even appalled) about why we would want to go back to them. And it’s predominantly middle class women who are going back to them.

  3. undine Says:

    Thanks for the links, nicoleandmaggie! I’m fascinated by the class-in-academe divide right now, and since my blog is the rare place where I say what I really think, I appreciate all the comments and exchanges about it.


Leave a Reply

