Forgetting and a card trick

I have been having short-term and long-term memory problems lately.  I suspect this has something to do with peri-menopause, but it might be a B-12 deficiency or something else.  I mean to get my bloodwork done at my next doctors appointment.

DC1 is really into card tricks right now (after a week of “magician camp”), and all my life I’ve only known one card trick.

Or I used to know one card trick that I learned as a small child.  It suddenly occurred to me that I could not remember it for the life of me.  For a week I tried and tried to remember hopelessly shuffling DC1’s card deck.  I searched all over the internet looking up the term “cut the deck” and “card trick” and “bottom to top.”  Finally, after 2 days of B-12 supplements it came to me while I was trying to get to sleep.  I raided DC1’s room for hir deck and forced a sleepy-eyed DH to play the role of audience member.

Here it is in case I ever forget it again.

Optional:  Ask the person to cut the deck and restack.

Glance at the bottom card.  Do one of those fake shuffles that ends up with the bottom card as the top card.

Ask the person to cut the deck.

Pick up the one that wasn’t the top card without showing it to the person and say, “This is the [top card].”  Then glance at it and pick up the other card that was the top card and say, “This is the [other card].”  Then show both cards.

(And now I’m going back to sleep.)

3 Responses to “Forgetting and a card trick”

  1. CG Says:

    Have you been particularly under stress lately? Last summer we were redoing our kitchen in a minor way (still could cook and had running water but everything was dirty and the contents of the kitchen were strewn all over the house). I suddenly forgot how to calculate a tip, and forgot both a scheduled meeting and the time I needed to pick up my five year old from day camp until they called me to find out where I was. I was convinced I had early onset Alzheimer’s, which now seems absurd but at the time was terrifying. The kitchen returned to normal, and so did I. I didn’t think the kitchen project was stressing me out all that much, but it seems as though it was. Hope your memory returns to normal soon!

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Possibly, but I’ve been under more stress before without this as an outcome. Usually my first sign of too much stress is cold sores, and the second is uncontrollable eyelid twitching and I didn’t get either. I have, however had other symptoms of peri menopause, and even though it is early, my aunt went through POF age 36, so not outside the realms of possibility. It is also potentially a thyroid thing. My endocrine system is not the best functioning. Add to that DH snoring…

      Lots of possibilities.

      • bogart Says:

        Oof, hope you’re able find a solution or that your body will settle back into a better “normal” even if a new normal (menopause or whatever). I was joking with a friend today about how we’ve outsourced our memories (to google/our phones), but that only works so far, and that tickling feeling of almost remembering (or not remembering but remembering that there is something to remember) is REALLY aggravating!


Leave a Reply

