Downstream voting is more important than ever before


Because John McCain says that they’re not going to allow Clinton to appoint a supreme court justice.  All that garbage about not appointing Merrick Garland so as to let the next president decide, they are now admitting, was garbage.

The Republicans are currently left being supported by a party that is 100% bigot and heavily uneducated.  Normal people have fled.  That means that politicians with an R next to their names have to decide whether to cater to the R base, to try to capture independents despite the presidential ticket, or, possibly, in the future to switch party affiliation.

It seems like they’re trying to cater to the R base.  In doing so, they are literally threatening our democracy.

The easiest solution to this problem is to VOTE THEM OUT.  Supreme court confirmations need 60 votes.  The more senators that are Democrats, the more likely we won’t have to explain to our children exactly why separation of powers isn’t currently working like it’s taught in school.

Here’s fivethirtyeight senate forecasts.  Do any of the swing states look worth sending money to or volunteering for?

Other state and local races are also important.  Every census, congressional districts are redrawn and there will be less Republican gerrymandering if there’s more Democrats (and other) in the offices that make these decisions.

What are you doing for the election?  Are you energized?  What are the best ways to volunteer?  Where are the best places to donate money?

15 Responses to “Downstream voting is more important than ever before”

  1. monsterzero Says:

    I sent money to Clinton and encouraged my millennial Bernie-fan co-worker to vote and get all of his friends to vote. Now I am tired and just wanting it to be over. I check 538 way too often and am nervous about the possibility that if too many people get the idea that Clinton is winning, they won’t actually bother to vote.

    I know this is just being super nitpicky but I wondered why you capitalized Republican and not democrat? Also the use of democrat as an adjective which as it turns out goes back way further than I had thought:

      • Shannon Says:

        I noticed that too because as a political scientist, that is my grammar pet peeve. Generally speaking, democrat refers to characteristic of democracy, while Democrat refers to an affiliate of a political party. Most Republicans are democrats (although as your post points out – not all of them are), even thought they aren’t Democrats.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        Ok, changed capitalization and added a few more words. I vaguely remember reading an article about democratic vs. democrat, but filing it away as insider baseball, so I can’t even say I’m trying to reclaim the term. Though that would be my first impulse. We’ve reclaimed Liberal, after all.

        Most likely my subconscious is doing some sort of German nouns thing where Republican is capitalized because of how bizarre they are.

        But now both are capitalized!

  2. Sally Says:

    THANK YOU FOR THIS POST! Please everyone vote, and downstream as well! And remind everyone sane you know to vote too!!! It needs a landslide to get the message across clearly. VOTE!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Cloud Says:

    My latest actions were to donate to get out the vote efforts in North Carolina. An important state in the Presidential election AND a tight senate race. Earlier, I did the same for Arizona, but that was for more personal reasons. I doubt McCain will lose his seat. (He’s also walked back his remarks on not approving judges.) By my criteria, Nevada or Pennsylvania would be the next state I’d sent GOTV money to.

    Closer to home, Darrell Issa is in a surprisingly tight race and man would I love to see him lose…. I’m contemplating what I could most usefully do there.

    • Sally Says:

      YES, PLEASE, undo Issa. Tiny fixed income here… but PLEASE YES!
      And, Thank you for N.Carolina and AZ. Too bad McCain is walking back because I am certain he actually told the truth about his intention.
      THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. chacha1 Says:

    What I am doing is sending in my vote-by-mail ballot and then sitting in a corner going LA-LA-LA-LA-LA until November 9. Not super helpful I know, but job is still up in the air so I don’t want to throw too much money around, and in my state not even the methamphetamine-soaked rednecks will stop Hillary.

  5. Lisa Says:

    I’m with chacha1 on the LA-LA-LA with ears covered now that I’ve sent in my ballot. I may actively avoid the debate tonight. I tried to vote downstream as well, but in my very red state the only person they could get to run against our incumbent tea party nut job R senator is a practically unemployed person with no political background who was inspired by Bernie Sanders and, from what I can tell, has no political ideas of their own. I voted for this person anyway, but there is no chance that the tea party nut job will be voted out this year. Ugh.

  6. canadian_sadie Says:

    I’m Canadian. It seems to me, and most of my liberal-ish peer group, that we’re in for a Frat House for a neighbour for the next 4 years. And we’re terrified at the prospect. I cannot see how any thinking human could possibly consider voting for such a boorish, racist, bigoted, misogynistic waste of skin. But they support him. With vigor. And vitriol. And, I’m afraid, more votes than the Democrats seem able to roust out of their comfy homes.

    PLEASE vote. PLEASE tell your friends to vote. PLEASE tell people you despise, but who appear to have a clue, to vote. I don’t want to live next to a frat house.

    You’re great neighbours. You’re a beacon of hope to marginalized people around the globe. You’re Good People. You’re already great. I really would like you to stay that way. We’re with you. And we’re with Her.

    Does anybody know if the candidates are allowed to accept donations from foreign contributors? I can’t help with phone calls or door-knocking, but I can send a few of my greatly de-valued dollars to a deserving Democratic candidate that has a fighting chance of winning their senate fight. I am very open to suggestions of deserving recipients, if they are allowed to accept donations. If they’re not, please feel free to send me the name of an undeserving Republican, and I’ll send them some money instead! >:D

  7. yuppiemillennial Says:

    Friend and I are working voter registration phone banking over the next two weeks targeting nearby swing state. I’d also be open to moving up my donation schedule if there are organizations that could effectively use capital for gotv (vs just labor).

  8. jlp Says:

    I get to vote next weekend. Can. Not. Wait. Not only do I get to vote for Her, but I get to vote for a senate seat that is likely to flip to the Dems. Plus, y’know, additional, local, down ticket items. So looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

