A few election day links (also vote blue!)

Next Saturday is too late for these links.  If you haven’t voted yet and you’re eligible, go out and vote!  Vote blue upstream and down!

Even if the policy is about women and minorities, IT IS STILL POLICY

Fake News is a big problem.

A message from the free world.

I don’t think this is necessary, but if you haven’t been paying attention and don’t realize how vile Trump is, here’s 129 investigative Trump facts that Newsweek uncovered that haven’t been getting the coverage they deserved.  I think, though, at this point, that we can instead focus on how awesome HRC is, because history is going to be made tonight.

the power of pants

Some cute animal pics for election day

XKCD endorses Hillary Clinton

Talk to us– are you keeping your mind off things or are you digging in deep?  Are you excited or anxious or both?  Seen any good stories or videos lately?  Link them up!  (Also:  are you staying up tonight?  How about the kids if any?)

And don’t forget downstream:

42 Responses to “A few election day links (also vote blue!)”

  1. Leah Says:

    I spent a lot of time last night reading Pantsuit Nation on Facebook and feeling better about our country.

  2. nicoleandmaggie Says:


    Hillary Badass Queen Rodham

  3. Solitary Diner Says:

    I don’t even live in the States, and yet I’m holding my breath for today. As much as I love Alec Baldwin playing Trump on SNL, I hope to never have to see him do it again. Here’s hoping that the US does indeed make history tonight!

  4. Ana Says:

    I’m trying to distract but I can’t concentrate on grant writing today! I’m caught up in the drama. I wasn’t going to stay up but I may end up doing it anyways because who can sleep? the kids…they are still waking up on DST (i.e.6 am) so they are going to bed by 8.

  5. chacha1 Says:

    I am excited and a little nervous and it’s going to be more of an effort than I thought to keep my mind on business today and not be peeking at news.

    The Captivision in our office-building elevators flashed a factoid on my ascent to the effect that Clinton won Guam with over 71% of the vote. Unfortunately it doesn’t count because Guam is not represented in the Electoral College. Something to fix before the next time.

  6. Katherine Says:

    I voted on my way to work this morning! Also, my (female) chair brought corsages in the colors of the women’s suffrage movement for the female members of our department to wear today!

  7. Linda Says:

    I’m not that stressed because I think HRC will win. My biggest concern is that after today the extreme divisiveness will continue. I was living in the suburbs while Harold Washington was mayor of Chicago, but I recall how the city council put so many obstacles in his way that he had a tough time getting anything progressive done. I found it really sad that he died just as the “old white man’s coalition” in the city council was breaking down. I’d hate to see that history repeated at a national level, and I hope the Dems gain a lot of seats in the Senate and House. Also, I want them to respond to the issues surfaced by the other candidates and make some real changes that help people.

    Tonight is my weekly knitting night. Usually the group gathers at a public space, but it doesn’t have a TV, so we decided to gather at my house instead. All the knitting ladies are big time HRC supporters. (Well, there’s one young woman who I’m pretty sure was a big Bernie supporter, but I’m quite sure she won’t be voting for the orange guy.) CA is going blue, but we’ll be watching the results from the contentious states with a lot of interest. Being in in the Pacific Time Zone will be really helpful. :-)

  8. Cloud Says:

    I handed in my mail ballot last week, but I am wearing the closest thing I could to a pantsuit (a black blazer and grey pants… my real pantsuits were from my stint as a government contractor 13 years and 2 pregnancies ago, and the no longer fit) and my I Voted sticker. I’m trying to concentrate on work, but clearly failing.

    I’m planning to stay up tonight to watch the returns. I’m in CA, so if all goes well, the presidential result will be decided before my usual bedtime. But I want to see the Senate results, too.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Will you be keeping the kids up?

      • Cloud Says:

        I doubt they can stay awake, particularly with the time change. My 9 year old, who is the one most interested, fell asleep on the sofa last night before I noticed she was nodding…. But we’ll turn the TV on during dinner (rare for us to do), and watch the early returns. Our dinner is at 6, so East Coast results will be coming in. They’ll stay up until 8:30 at least, and maybe things will look pretty clear by then. We’ll see.

        Tomorrow is a work from home day for me, so if they’re interested and able, they can stay up a little late and I can take them directly to school instead of their usual before school child care.

  9. Leigh Says:

    I’m loving all the pant suits all over Facebook today! Somehow I only learned about #PantSuitNation this morning. It’s helping me to feel a bit less nervous, though we will see tonight how it all ends up!

  10. Insect Biologist Says:

    Thanks for providing a happy place for Clinton supporters! I’m surrounded by Bernie supporters at a Red State university, so my joy at being able to vote for Clinton this morning is not much appreciated. I’ve got on my Hillary blue shirt, and, like Cloud, I’m trying to focus on my work, but definitely failing. I can’t imagine falling asleep tonight before learning the outcome of the election.

  11. nicoleandmaggie Says:

    So many male students today wearing pants suits and H pins. I LOVE IT.

  12. Linda Says:

    And here’s another sweet message! https://youtu.be/Z8AE7CzqCFc

  13. nicoleandmaggie Says:

    Here’s something else to watch while you wait:

    Yesterday’s rally in Philadelphia. I’m at the Obama part and wanting to share his soaring message with everyone. I’m so proud of the Democratic party.

  14. Linda Says:

    I’m suffering for not paying enough attention to the news lately. I was so sick of it I just ignored it. I really believed HRC would win. I thought it would be close, but that she’d win. Knitting group stayed late (I think the last person left around 10:30), and I went to bed feeling sad. :(

  15. katherine Says:

    I cried. And now I’m pissed. I mean REALLY PISSED! I have all of this rage and need to funnel it into something productive. I’m not going to let this moment of disgust go by without trying to make this America my America. I’m going to support my causes with my time and my pocketbook. And I’m going to bring my kids into the fold. I feel like having twelve more kids just to drown out the hate to prepare them to take over the world with kindness and sensibility.

  16. First Gen American Says:

    As we tried to understand what happened, my 11 year old son who was absolutely despondent, summarized it in one sentence. “Trump took advantage of people who are desperate.”

    When I told my 8 year old who won, he said “for real?”

    It will be interesting what social studies class will be like today.

  17. nicoleandmaggie Says:

    I literally couldn’t sleep at all last night, kept getting panic attacks. I broke down crying at daycare listening to the little girls explaining to the teachers why their parents were sad. A lot of immigrant parents at daycare. My RA from Pakistan has changed his plans for graduation and will be job hunting in Japan instead of the US.

    My mom says this is a call to progressive action, but all I can think about is protecting my family from recession and potential war. Wish I hadn’t put that 30k in the stock market when we got back.


Leave a Reply

