What are we reading?

Fortune Hunter by Diane Farr– no sex scenes (not quite clean either) but still quite charming.  Not a perfect book, but I had given up hope of finding any more regencies worth reading, and this one has restored my faith a bit.

Three Men on a Bummel by Jerome K. Jerome (free from Gutenberg).  This is an example of the “potentially great work forgotten because of casual racism” problem.  This book would be perfectly lovely were it not for some pointless anecdote early on that uses the n-word and is probably even more racist than the n-word itself, but because it’s written in “dialect” it’s unreadable.  That entire bit could be cut out without any negative effect on the book and the rest of the book is clean.  Oh 19/20th century authors, why you gotta be so racist?  You will probably find some of the scenes familiar because they’ve been repurposed for comedy without attribution in later media.  (Similar to how you’ve probably seen the pineapple tin bit from Three men in a boat in cartoons.)  The first couple of chapters (before the n-word anecdote) were literally laugh out loud funny.

Falling for Chloe by Diane Farr isn’t as good as Fortune Hunter (main characters are silly and don’t talk to each other, though that may be part of the joke), but omg, it is such a love letter to Georgette Heyer.  Keep an eye out for your favorite Heyer characters from her Regency novels being mentioned throughout.  One of the scenes, for example, is set in the come-out ball for Frederica’s sister.

Duel of Hearts by Diane Farr was an interesting one.  Neither the hero nor the heroine is particularly likable.  They are self-centered, obnoxious, and ridiculous.  And yet, the story is very readable and pretty funny.  The book would have been better if the likable secondary characters had been more well-developed.  A quick library check-out read.

None of the rest of Diane Farr’s books have really been worth it.  Not bad, but more skimming than actual reading.  Reasonable library material if you’ve got extra time.

Tried Diary of an Accidental Wallflower by Jennifer McQuiston.  It started out promising but then lost believably and added an ick factor when the son-of-a-gypsy-horse-trader doctor forced an unexpected and unwanted kiss on the society miss who was unable to move because of the twisted ankle her family was employing him to treat… that would be their fourth short meeting, btw.  Huge Squick.  The rest of the book just kind of goes downhill from there.

Loved the second in Leonora Bell’s Disgraceful Dukes series, If Only I Had a Duke, even more than the first.  Again, she’s in the style of Sarah MacLean, not 100% historically accurate, but a lot of fun.  This one has more likable characters, a better plot, and is a bit more believable than the first.

At the library I found a fun little novella by a woman named Marguerite Butler.  It’s called Compromising Prudence.  I liked it enough to want to buy a copy but they cannot be had for love or money.  Nor do the remaining books in the “Mad Hatterly” series appear to be available anywhere.  The publishing company has disappeared and neither used nor electronic copies seem to exist in exchange for money.  If your library has a copy, it’s a fun (albeit too short) read.

What are you reading?

16 Responses to “What are we reading?”

  1. Kay Says:

    I can’t even…
    I am just so sick.

  2. Leah Says:

    I read The Phantom Tollboth the other week; it was an impulse check out from the library. Fairly good but also felt a little low level for me, like reading a kid’s book. Not all YA books are like that for me. I think I would have enjoyed it more when I was younger.

  3. independentclause Says:

    Emily of New Moon. It was all I could take day before yesterday. Yesterday I read nothing. Today I might switch to a POC-only reading list.

  4. monsterzero Says:

    “Prepping for Dummies”

  5. chacha1 Says:

    I just finished “Floodpath” by Jon Wilkman. It’s about a catastrophic dam failure north of Los Angeles in 1928. Fascinating, really, but maybe symbolically a little too apt at the moment. :/

  6. Rosa Says:

    I’m reading these Cass Neary crime books that are fucking bleak. I like them but can’t recommend them.

    Stayed up til 4am one day last week reading Courtney Milan’s “Hold Me” which was excellent. Among other things, she gets the use of text and blogging in building relationships in a way I’ve never seen a romance writer do.

  7. Linda Says:

    It’s hard to read through tears.

  8. Debbie M Says:

    I was surprised this was your topic for the day, but then I remembered y’all write your blog posts in advance. And you’re probably working a long day on very little sleep. I apologize again for the behavior of my state.

    Hmm, I may have to check out some of those Dianne Far books.

    I’ve been reading books on Haiti and one on Finland. I can recommend Pasi Salberg’s _Finnish Lessons_ if you might like a nonfiction book on a really good public school system (though it’s annoyingly repetitive, as if the author thinks you might just choose a chapter at random and read only that one). Of course, like many things, it’s even more depressing after this election because you know we will never use any of these ideas ourselves.

    I also read three children’s books recommended by a friend who just left for college in Argentina and did not have room for all her books. I can’t say I loved any of them but I found out that the movie “Hugo” was based on a book, Brian Selznick’s _The Invention of Hugo Cabret_, which I can recommend. “Hugo” was an interesting movie with amazing and gorgeous 3D (and I say this as someone who rarely appreciates 3D). The book is also gorgeous and is extremely thick because it’s full of pencil drawings with some writing. If I hadn’t already seen the movie, I would have assumed that a movie based on the book would be doomed to disappoint, but they did a great job. The movie had really great actors. But in the book, you didn’t have to actually see any of the movies that one of the book’s characters loves (but that I don’t), so there’s that. At least look for it in the library and flip some pages.

  9. Tree of Knowledge Says:

    I’ve been reading a lot of Tessa Dare’s books. The Vaginal Fantasy Book Club read one, and it was was funny and sexy, so I’ve been making my way through the rest of them. And I read along with the VF book club when my library has the book.

  10. Jenny F. Scientist Says:

    Have been rereading all of Heyer for the last month or so. About to read Grand Sophy for the tenth time (it’s my favorite).


Leave a Reply

