How we cope: An accurate picture of my to-read list

I’m bad at emotion regulation and the only way I’m coping is with books.

This blog has been (and is) a supporter of Hillary Clinton.  These books are on my to-be-read list, my amazon wishlist, or my library hold list RIGHT NOW:

Shrill: Notes from a Loud Woman, by Lindy West

The Diary of Alice James

Lab Girl by Hope Jahren

The Regional Office is Under Attack! by Manuel Gonzales

Bitch Planet Volume 2: President Bitch (preorder) (see what I did there)

Notorious RBG: The Life and Times of Ruth Bader Ginsburg

The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl by Issa Rae

How to Ruin Everything: Essays by Watsky

Hunger: A Memoir of (My) Body, by Roxane Gay (preorder)

Writings on the Wall: Searching for a New Equality Beyond Black and White, by Kareem Abdul-Jabbar

Notes from a Feminist Killjoy by Erin Wunker

The latest volume of Lazarus by Greg Rucka

The Dark Days Club by Alison Goodman (preorder)

***

Please donate to We Need Diverse Books .

What books help you cope?

20 Responses to “How we cope: An accurate picture of my to-read list”

  1. Revanche @ A Gai Shan Life Says:

    I don’t think they were coping books because they didn’t make me feel better about reality but I just read Kate Elliott’s Jaran and Selina Siak Chin Hoke’s The Woman Who Breathed Two World and they were wonderful in their own ways. Your reading list is great and I need to add a few of those to mine.

  2. Jenny F. Scientist Says:

    I’m about to go read “Ida B. Wells: A Sword Among Lions” – bio of her and an account of her campaign against lynching.

    • contingent cassandra Says:

      How did I not know that exists? I am sadly behind in reading in my own field. Thank you! And yes, an excellent choice. I really hope that Reconstruction/the nadir will not be too close a parallel (though there are some uncomfortably close parallels, especially in areas like the criminal justice system, mass incarceration, police/community relations, and voting rights), but they are certainly periods when people who worked for justice kept on keeping on, often without much visible success, and almost certainly laid the foundation for changes a decade or two later.

    • Rosa Says:

      It’s awesome. The thing that kept striking me as I read it was how modern it was – I don’t know if it’s the writing style or just the availability of letters and stuff, but the internal movement strife and balancing people’s personalities and trying to date and having financial problems due to buying cute clothes was so current sounding.

  3. contingent cassandra Says:

    I bought Lynn Povich’s The Good Girls Revolt as a Christmas present for my niece. I may read it myself first.

  4. sophylou Says:

    Patricia Hill Collins, Black Feminist Thought

      • sophylou Says:

        Research + timely. It is an interesting time to be thinking about a project on Audre Lorde and Eve Sedgwick as girl poets.

      • Contingent Cassandra Says:

        An interesting time, indeed, for such a project, and an opportune one, I think. I’ve been in several venues recently (both pre- and post-election) where there was discussion of the power of stories/qualitative data (sometimes in opposition to big data — which has probably taken a blow thanks to the inaccuracy of polling in this election and the Brexit vote — sometimes as a supplement to help us understand what the patterns we can discern in big data actually mean). There are, of course, dangers in relying on anecdotes, but there’s also real strength in looking at what closely-observed stories of individuals and smaller groups can tell us about how people survive (physically, psychologically, economically, politically) in difficult circumstances, how they make space for themselves, and how they eventually change things. Your project sounds like it can answer some of those questions, in a way that takes intersectionality into account (hmm. . .Firefox apparently doesn’t think intersectionality is a word. Catch up, Firefox!)

      • sophylou Says:

        Thank you! It is a huge struggle to find time/energy to work on it (I have a 9-5 job that I find draining). But it’s meaningful to me, and right now spending time with Lorde’s and Sedgwick’s writings feels strengthening. They are good companions for me right now– though I’m definitely having trouble concentrating, period.

  5. monsterzero Says:

    Just finished Eleanor & Park and it was SO good! In a both awesome and horrifying kind of way.

  6. Norwegian Forest Cat Says:

    So grateful for this list! :)

    I decided I may feel better if I unplug from the news for a bit, so I’m hoping to spend some more time reading. I’m partway through Lab Girl and really am enjoying it, especially since I grew up not too far from where she did – there are lots of parallels to that part of my life. I’ll definitely be browsing through these and will probably pick up a couple for my SIL (who is also having a hard time post-election).

    I have to say – I’m heartened (as much as I can be right now) by how many people are re-committing to doing more good in their world in response to the garbage that’s been happening after the election. I’m still fighting the urge to bury my head in the sand and not come out until the midterm elections, but I’m hoping that I’ll get there soon. Especially in my diverse, blue little corner of a red, red state – there are lots of people who could use my help.

    • Debbie M Says:

      I like “No Impact Man: The Adventures of a Guilty Liberal Who Attempts to Save the Planet and the Discoveries He Makes About Himself and Our Way of Life in the Process.” That’s the book. (I haven’t seen the movie and suspect I wouldn’t like it as much.) It’s not about fighting hatred, but it is about fighting global warming.

  7. chacha1 Says:

    “Notorious RBG” is great.

    I have been doing more comfort eating/drinking than comfort reading, but also we watched “Spectre” the other night because I thought watching a lot of shit blow up would be therapeutic (it was), and yet this is a Bond movie with a happy ending so it kind of mellowed me out in a “this too shall pass” kind of way.

    Am planning to binge-stream a lot of nature & arts stuff from PBS this weekend.

  8. J Liedl Says:

    Cope? I haven’t reached coping yet. But here are some on my to-read list – Hidden Figures: The American Dream and the Untold Story of the Black Women Mathematicians Who Helped Win the Space Race by Margot Shetterly, The Many Captivities of Esther Wainwright by Ann Little and The Secret History of Wonder Woman by Jill Lepore.

  9. sophylou Says:

    Just saw this great piece about three recent books about African-American girls’ history (a subject near to my researcher heart at the moment): http://bit.ly/2fTJy2k I’ve read the Chatelain and Simmons books and they’re both terrific; looking forward to reading the Cox book.


Leave a Reply

