How we cope: Donations

Some people be like “Come on, it’ll be fine” and the rest of us be like “Do you even history, brah?”

This is just a list of places we’ve donated to since November 9, 2016.  We don’t have energy for doing harder work right now.  We donated online.  It felt okay.  Please consider.

Going to protests is fine, and it is also important that people write letters.  But everyone copes in their own way, in their own time, with their own methods.

Blog posts may be spotty or missing while we figure out how to get our own oxygen masks on.  We have some stuff pre-scheduled.  I don’t have a question.

26 Responses to “How we cope: Donations”

  1. bogart Says:

    Thank you for this. I’ve scheduled regular donations to several of these but haven’t yet included the environment in my giving, appreciate the suggestions. I am also planning (per Cloud) to write to the pair (sigh) of Republican senators who represent me and ask them why they haven’t spoken out against the racist (etc.) rhetoric of our elected president on behalf of their shared party, if not all of us.

    • Cloud Says:

      Yes, thank you! FWIW, I’m working on letters to Republican leaders. I feel that once they accept leadership roles, they can expect to hear from all of us. I’m going to ask House Majority Paul Ryan how the racist speech and attacks squares with his Christian values that I’ve heard so much about.

      And my plan is to make my eventual donation to the ACLU in his name so he’ll get a letter notifying him of it.

  2. millionaireyet Says:

    To that list, I’m adding donating to college scholarships for minorities: Hispanic, Muslim-Amerian, African-American, etc.

  3. JM Says:

    You might add the Southern Poverty Law Center to the list.

  4. jjiraffe Says:

    This is really hard. Thanks, and wishing you both the best as you put on your oxygen masks.

  5. Contingent Cassandra Says:

    All excellent choices. The main category I’d add is organizations that support immigrants of all origins, especially with legal help. I don’t have specific ones to suggest, since I need to do some homework, but I’d suggest a mix of local and national organizations (and that probably goes for all donations; there’s a lot to be said for small, local organizations that offer effective, targeted aid that addresses local problems/conditions, as well as larger national ones that may focus on policy as well. At least in my metropolitan area, there’s an organization that specifically rates, and channels donations to, small local organizations. I see a similar organization with a similar name in at least one other metropolitan area, but I suspect names vary.)

  6. oldmdgirl Says:

    My condolences to you. It’s tough going here in blue territory. I can’t imagine how you must feel in Trump-land.

  7. crazy grad mama Says:

    I don’t have anything to add to the list, just commenting in solidarity. Sending you virtual hugs if you want them.

  8. J Liedl Says:

    I’m looking for Canadian outlets that support from across the border. I think that reproductive health is an area where American residents might end up needing Canadian helping hands in the near future so that’s where I’ve turned.

  9. First Gen American Says:

    I feel very strongly that education solves many of the world’s issues so my donations heavily fall into that category.

    I am hoping optimistically that once trump sees the whole picture around the issues he’ll move towards the center more. There are already positive signs about obamacare already. It’s much easier to be a critic on the outside looking in when you only have some of the facts. As we all know, facts weren’t really pertinent to him during election seasons do he really could care less about what was true as it didn’t seem to negatively affect his campaign, but I think he will be much better informed on policy pros and cons now that he has access to much more factual data.

    That is how I am coping. I am hoping he will move to the center once he is able to look under the kimono and see how complicated things really are.

    • First Gen American Says:

      There’s a bit of a buzz going around where people are donating to Planned Parenthood in honor of Mike Pence. He gets a Thank you letter from Planned parenthood for every donation made in his honor. I couldn’t resist.

      Here is his address in case anyone else wants to join in:

      Mike Pence
      Office of the Governor
      Statehouse
      Indianapolis, Indiana 46204-2797

      2 birds..one stone

  10. Debbie M Says:

    You’ve probably seen this already, but Last Week with John Oliver also recommends:
    * National Resources Defense Council (NRDC) (global warming)
    * The International Refugee Assistance Project (refugees)
    * NAACP Legal Defense Fund (blacks)
    * The Trevor Project (lgbtq youth)
    * Mexican American Legal Defense and Educational Fund
    * New York Times, Washington Post, Pro Publica (journalists)

  11. First Gen American Says:

    The NRDC dropped off my list after they immediately sold my info to every save the planet nonprofit around. They also immediately called me asking for more money (like days after my first donation). It was like the floodgates opened. They are on my never give to again list. They may represent good things but their fundraising practices are slimy. I only gave a small amount which may be why they were so cavalier about it (I hear this is less likely with large donors.). It took months to get off of all the mailing and call lists thanks to that one donation. It’s too bad because I am probably not the only one who thinks like this.

    • Debbie M Says:

      Good to know.

      I always give via JustGive.org. They have an option where you can give anonymously. They do take a percentage (plus ask you for more) to cover their costs. But the recipient organization doesn’t waste any of their resources on begging me for more. And JustGive doesn’t sell your info or do any begging besides while you’re on the site making your donation choices. They just send an e-mail after the end of the year summarizing all your donations for tax purposes.

  12. Out of the Rabbit Hole | xykademiqz Says:

    […] in Pence’s name — tee-hee), and if you are so inclined, the lists that John Oliver and nicoleandmaggie offer are certainly full of […]


Leave a Reply

