Updates of the life variety

We’re still not ready to get back to regular posting– ask the grumpies will have to wait at least another week to get back on the schedule.  Here’s a few life updates while you wait for our wisdom to return.

  • My friend with secondary infertility who has been trying to get and stay pregnant for more than 2 years and many many IVF cycles has a pregnancy that has been sticking so far.
  • DH’s relative got a new job pretty much right away (via networking!).  It has better benefits and pays $1K more than his old job.  There’s also a little less hard labor work and a little more desk work which is good given his arthritis.  He’s disappointed because they decided the salary by asking him what he got paid and then adding 1K to it, and he is pretty sure he’s underpaid.  BUT it’s a better job and he won’t have an employment gap.  He did negotiate for another week of vacation and they didn’t blink.
  • #2’s father-in-law died recently of a stroke.  Really really sad.  :(  I remember seeing him at #2’s wedding and he was so very proud of his son.  Such a great family.
  • Went to the doctor and got lots of blood tests.  I have high cholesterol.  Doctor said to eat less fat and less dairy and to exercise more.  I already don’t eat much fat other than dairy (and use things like olive oil when cooking).  Last time I had my cholesterol tested my overall level was high but my good cholesterol was making up most of that– the bad cholesterol was normal.  I didn’t ask about that this time.  It is always true that I need to exercise more.  :/ .  Also my Vit D levels were low despite my daily supplement, so now I’m on 2000 instead of 1000.  That seems to have gone a long way to reduce the almost constant fatigue I was feeling.
  • action item for today: https://twitter.com/gaileyfrey/status/799380085610450944
18 Responses to “Updates of the life variety”

  1. Leah Says:

    Vit D is pretty magical. I take a supplement when not preggers (and will see what my doc says at my next blood test, tho I’m already on iron and prenatals so not keen on adding more pills), and I also use a light box if I start feeling really draggy and tired and depressed. Which, hmm, I sort of am. Reminder to pull out the light box. Thanks!

    Yay for DH’s relative! Paid and underpaid is better than not paid, but I feel his pain. That’s frustrating. I wonder if we’ll see an upswing in the strength of unions in this century. I’m starting to feel like we’re repeating 100 years ago. I hope not too much. But awesome that he got a job, and hopefully the extra $1k helps a little bit in holding things together.

    • contingent cassandra Says:

      I’ve heard of movements in several jurisdictions to ban the present-salary question (for government hiring or in some cases altogether), mostly because there’s evidence that it contributes to male/female salary disparities, but it sounds like such an approach would have helped a man in this case (and perhaps that’s not surprising at a time when many people’s salaries have been stagnant for a long time?).

  2. Cardinal Says:

    Pretty sure hypertriglyceridemia is one of those lovely bonuses of PCOS, FWIW.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      The internet agrees with you. Wonder why my doctor didn’t mention better managing the PCOS, which is definitely something I’ve let slide since my children were born.

      She had obviously completely forgotten who I was, despite delivering both my children, but surely it noted the PCOS in my medical records.

      I wonder if I should try to go back on metformin, even though I hate it. What do you think?

  3. bogart Says:

    Could not contact the House Oversight Committee or its Chair, Jason Chaffetz’, office — no human response, both voicemails are full. But I did connect immediately with a person by calling his Utah office, 801-851-2500. And yes, it was quick and simple (once I found the number).

    • Leah Says:

      I read that it’s best to try to contact the state offices of representatives and not their Washington offices. I need to write down the numbers for all my reps, tho all of mine have come out against Bannon and for the Paris accords already.

      • nicoleandmaggie Says:

        If they have numbers for the people who call them expressing an opinion, I think that helps somewhat. I don’t know though really.

        In terms of what office to call, I’ve given up on strategizing because so many of the voicemails are just full, so I have to keep trying offices. I’ve only been able to talk to living people at my congressman’s office (both the DC and the local office).

  4. chacha1 Says:

    Yay for the re-employed relative! And I sincerely hope “better benefits” means continued health care for his wife. What good news for the holiday. :-)

    Hey you know there is something I discovered recently, which might be of interest to this relative. He works in construction, you said? http://buildingcodecollege.com/

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      Yes, better health insurance is one of the better benefits, thank goodness.

      He does work in construction– he’s got an interesting history there. He’s extremely intelligent, but got a girl pregnant at 16 and again at 18. He has an associates degree in drafting. He’s been working at small companies and is basically a construction jack-of-all-trades, doing some IT, has lots of certifications (for example, he’s certified to test concrete), some drafting, etc. Basically anytime they needed someone to do something, they trained him. Probably because he learns quickly.

  5. Anu Says:

    High cholesterol in total is pretty meaningless anyway. You’d be much better off looking at your ratio of HDL to triglycerides. And there’s also plenty of evidence lately that the advice to minimize dietary fat and cholesterol in order to reduce total cholesterol was misguided and likely to lead to worse problems due to increases in dietary carbohydrates to make up the difference.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      That was what I had thought too, so I’m confused at the doctor’s recommendation. :/ I should probably do more research and also figure out if I can login to an account to see the actual numbers.

      • Debbie M Says:

        Yes, do find out your numbers! I also occasionally have high total cholesterol, like when my HDL is over 90. Or 100. But sometimes my LDL is over 100, so I never know.

        And if your doctor has an online system, yes! Do learn how to access it. They are awesome. Otherwise, you can ask to have your results sent to you but you might have to go in and sign a release form first. (I know! Crazy!)

        Recommending a reduced cheese intake is definitely a serious matter! Your insurance company may also have a nurse line you can call for additional advice.

    • Leah Says:

      Yes, research is looking at the fact that our body makes its own cholesterol. Some even think that depriving our body of healthy fats causes our bodies to overcompensate and make more fat. Pretty sure this is still an area of active research. The early consensus seems to be that low fat diets don’t work.

  6. Linda Says:

    Yes, do check the actual cholesterol numbers for all the reasons already mentioned. I thought the most up to date research is showing that eating high cholesterol and high fat foods doesn’t necessarily translate into higher blood serum cholesterol levels.

    Vitamin D is amazing. My old doc in Chicago had me take 5,000 units of D-3 a day and I’ve continued to do so. When I had my blood work done a few months ago the doc here said I had the best Vitamin D levels she’d ever seen and she gave me the OK to continue taking such high doses. :-)

    If you’ve been having a lot of fatigue you may want to get your B12 levels tested, too. Sometimes your ability to digest it orally (from food or tablets) just gets messed with and you may need some injections for a bit.

    Very sorry to hear about #2’s FIL. :-( My condolences.

    • nicoleandmaggie Says:

      I also have B12– I feel like it’s really helpful during specific points of my cycle, but when I’ve had my B12 tested it’s always come out normal. So I take it when I’m craving meat and chocolate and it gives me energy.

  7. Debbie M Says:

    When I read the intro, I thought this would be all bad news. Thrilled to see good news, too!

  8. bogart Says:

    Also, coming back to say Yea! for the good news, and I’m so sorry to hear about #2’s FIL. How sad — thinking of you and your family.


Leave a Reply

